We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sauble Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeview Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I would recommend anyone staying at the Lakeview Motel & Cottages. It is within a 5 min walking distance to the beach- straight down the road! The owners Randy & Gail are absolutely awesome and go beyond the call of duty to ensure your stay is fantastic.
The rooms may be a little older in style but they are well kept and the environment is so friendly and down to earth. Go Lakeview Go!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hello Cora & family, Thank you for taking the time to write your review & thoughts of your stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you both, as well as your son. We enjoy doing our best to ensure your stay is a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again on a future visit!
Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    16
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
53
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed in a motel room (not one of the cottages) for two nights during the week (not weekend). Overall the stay was great.

During our stay on two different occasions we saw two cockroach like brown crawly bugs in the bathroom. As soon as we turned on the light they ran away into a crack. A cricket also tried to jump its way into our room. The room, entrance, parking lot, facilities and bathroom appeared very clean. We figure some bugs in a ground floor motel near nature is what can be expected at times.

The two double beds were fine. The rules of the place were clearly noted everywhere. They do have a nice fire in the evenings. The pool is nice (no toys allowed in the pool though). There are reclining chairs in the pool area. Would be nice to have reclining chairs near the fire as well but the benches were nice. t I

It was nice to have cable TV (flat screen and modern), air conditioning, wi-fi. The air conditioner is loud but I find they are always loud when you stay in these types of places. The staff were very nice.

It's right across the street from a grocery store. Up one block is a nice restaurant with non greasy food. Down a couple of blocks are the surf shop type stores and the main part of the beach. If you're not carrying a ton of crap or dragging 4 little kids along then it's walking distance to the beach.

It's a 5 minute drive to the Sauble Falls which was also really fun (jumping in). Overall we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinhead499286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hello folks! We thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review and share your experience with us at Lakeview. You are right about the insects in an area such as ours, they can be a little difficult to completely control, however we are diligent in spraying, cleaning and doing our best to keep them out of the buildings. The 'cockroach type brown crawly bugs' you found were in all likelihood 'earwigs'. They have reportedly been quite a problem in many areas this year. Every year it's a different bug in large numbers, some year it's ants, some year it's caterpillars. We personally have never seen a cockroach in this area.
Sounds like you utilized most of the amenities here, as well as enjoyed the beach & Sauble Falls. Thanks again for your review and we do hope to see you again for a future stay! best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our family stayed here for 2 nights and were very treated extremely well by Gail and Randy. The room was clean and spacious. Randy got the bonfire going every night for the kids (and adults) to roast marshmallows. Our kids loved the pool and had it not been for the fact that the beach is a 2 min drive or 15 min walk, they would have stayed there all day! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanTraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hi Al, Many thanks to you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our facility & ourselves. The bonfire always seems to be a hit with everyone & a really nice way to end a busy beach or touring day. Lots of stories are shared between guests and new friends made around the fire! Happy to hear how much everyone enjoyed the pool as well. All the best to you, & thanks again! Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrie
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Gail and Randy are wonderful hosts! Our reservations were made with ease and we received such a warm welcome upon our arrival. Our room was spacious and very clean, the pool was fantastic and the location was perfect! Close to amenities and the beach! We'll be back!

Room Tip: full size refrigerator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44monique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hello Monique & family, Our thanks to you for sharing your experience through such a nice review. We also enjoyed meeting you & your family as well has having the opportunity to talk and be a small part of your vacation at Sauble Beach. Lots of good memories & some great photos too! All the best & until next year, regards......Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The rooms are clean. It's a 5 minute walk to the beach. There are fires every night. The owners supplied sparklers for the kids. There are swings and a small play area for kids which my 2 enjoyed. The property is large and clean and includes a heated pool which we all enjoyed. Stay here with confidence and enjoy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gasman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Hello gasman & family! We thank you for your review of our facility and as always are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Lakeview. Sparklers & kids, what can we say! No bonfire is complete without s'mores & sparklers......what a way to end a great beach day. Thanks again & we hope to see you next year! Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

It is hard to believe that summer is coming to an end for another season and with that a wonderful time was spent at Lakeview Motel and Cottages. It is hard to believe that Gail and Randy Porter have owned the business for 10 years now. The improvements that they have made over the last 10 years are a wonderful improvements, what with the new deck/patio areas on the front of rooms 11 and 12, the new blacktop that was put in this season, along with the improvements that have been made since they obtained the business, you can see that they take pride in ownership and keep the business up to date. When you arrive you are always greeted with a friendly welcome, like you were old friends and when you leave they are always there to wish you a safe journey on your return to your home location. In fact I have referred several people to Lakeview Motel & Cottages and they have actually taken my advise on the reputation of Gail and Randy Porter and have stayed at Lakeview Motel & Cottages this year as part of their vacation.

Room Tip: For a single person or couple, I would recommend that you book room 11 or 12, as they are on the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hello Karen G, How right you are about another summer coming to an end, we also can't believe how quickly they pass by. This has been a great summer for us and we are indeed enjoying our 10th anniversary with our guests this year. Thank you for recognising and appreciating the hard work we put into our facility and in turn sharing it with others. We also thank you for your referrals! Enjoy the rest of the summer and see you on your next visit. Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Hi
July 25-27, 2013
We stayed at this motel & cottage establishment which provided a very small town freindly atmosphere. The owners were very kind and helpful.
This place also provides access to BBQ and heated pool as well. There is a grocery store across from the Motel and just a few minutes walk to Sauble Beach. It was great.

We'll go back next year.

Room Tip: request room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hi Howard,
Thanks from both of us for taking the time to write your review. Always happy to hear when our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay. We also enjoyed meeting you both and helping to make your trip to our area more enjoyable. Enjoy the rest of the summer and hope to see you again! Best regards, Randy & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauble Beach
0.6 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
133 reviews
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
136 reviews
11.0 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
496 reviews
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bel-Air Motel & Cottages Sauble Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel & Cottages

Property: Lakeview Motel & Cottages
Address: 625 Main St, Sauble Beach, Ontario N0H 2G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Sauble Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Main Street with the beach, restaurants & shopping all at your fingertips! Clean, spacious, and modern motel & cottage units. Rates include: inground heated pool, barbeques & picnic tables, play area, bon fire pit, badminton, parking...located in our beautiful, private setting. All units feature a/c, full size fridges, cable TV, WIFI, 4 pc bath, double,queen or king bed units. All units are smoke & pet free. We strive to provide a "vacation experience", not just a place to stay! Your hosts: Randy & Gail Porter ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing