We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time at Lakeview!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeview Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed at Lakeview with my three kids, my sister and her husband and son, and my parents over an extended long weekend in summer 2014. Randy and Gail made our stay unforgettable, from the easy walk to the beach to marshmallow roasting at their nightly bonfire to giving us great advice about excursions to take to Tobermory, Flowerpot Island and elsewhere in the vicinity. My kids had a total blast and loved every minute of it, as I did. Randy and Gail have strict policies about the kinds of guests they host, which contributes to the atmosphere of community and kindness at Lakeview. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IJStoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hello IJ,
Thank you for the very kind review, we really appreciate it and were also happy to meet your entire family. Everyone we send on excursions comes back with some great stories which we also like to hear about! See you again next time and have yourselves a great year. Best regards, Randy & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Nice place to have a relax vacation. We enjoy the pool 2 times because the weather was bad.
Wi-Fi was bad the connection was coming and going, I spoke to another families and had the same issue I couldn't used at all. Overall is nice, clean and we would like to give another try to Sable Beach.
Some feed back it would be great if it was a light in the back were the BBQ's are, we start cooking late and end up eating in the dark ... it was fun anyways, but it would be great specially for kids to play they wanted to continue playing but it was too dark.
Gail and Randy were great and we love it that was quiet, safe for my daughter to be around without us worrying about it. We recommend the Motel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Silvana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi Silvana! Nice to hear back from you, thank you for your input. We're very happy to announce that our wifi situation has finally been resolved! On Thursday August 14, the new equipment was installed and the signal is strong and clear in all units, the back yard......all four corners of the property and then some. It's been a long wait (since my first contact with installers on July 9!). There's one big yard light which illuminates a large part of the yard, but not the entire area. Some guests like it 'not too bright', but we could install one in another area to help brighten things up. Glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves here in spite of the weather. The heated pool is a good back up for inclement days. Enjoy the rest of your summer and thanks again for your review. Best regards, Randy & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

They don;t even deserve a ONE Star.
We booked a Month in advance for a extremely important and special event and 48 hours before our arrival they call to tell us they gave our room away.
It was the only king size private with internet they have, I spent a entire morning researching to find this room.
Any he hung up on my husband when questioned.

Worse than bad, HORRID

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank SimonkaDollMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We realize that this booking & room choice was very important to you, however please don’t make it sound like you no longer had a room with us. Due a series of issues, we did have to make a decision to put another guest who is here for 4 nights from out of the country in the king unit which overlapped into the Friday night of your stay. We offered you some options…..a queen unit for both nights, the queen unit Friday night and the king on Saturday night, or the king unit we found for you at another motel. Room changes happen frequently in all motels/hotels & we only have 12 units to work with. At no time would we have left you with no accommodations. This decision was made at 6:45 am on Wednesday & then later in the day, the phone was disconnected only after your husband was insistent that we move the guest out of your unit and would not accept this decision. The second time was when he called back cursing & swearing. When we do have to make a room change, usually it is for the better and we receive a thank you for it, unfortunately this time it was not the case. This forum is not the place to discuss personal issues, however I did explain to you that I have been away on several occasions over the summer visiting & making arrangements for an immediate family member who is in palliative care since June and I am not able to be with her at a very difficult time. If we’re not at the top of our game regarding bookings and our usual high standards of customer service, for that I apologize. In our opinion, we did what we thought was our best to remedy a problem, but not to everyones satisfaction. Thank you for your understanding. Randy & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My family and I just returned from another great stay at Lakeview Motel & Cottages. Always a pleasure, an annual family tradition. Thankyou Gail & Randy for another awesome stay at your facility, you always make us feel welcome!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Hi Anne! Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Lakeview! As always, we especially enjoy the time spent during your visit & love to see the children each year. Enjoy the rest of your summer and see you next year!! Best regards, Randy & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The pictures don't do the experience justice. Sauble Beach can be densely populated, noisy and crowded, this is a space, within walking distance of the action, that is QUIET, SAFE, PRIVATE and VERY CLEAN. Three families stayed together at the Lakeview, in three different rooms, we were all very pleased with the accommodations. The picnic tables and barbecues at the back of the property around the pool made it easy to financially and nutritionally control food intake during our vacation. We particularly liked the firepit for roasting marshmallows. I was thrilled that Gail and Randy police and protect their clients diligently.

Room Tip: Explain to Gail and Randy any special needs your loved ones may have and they would surely accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Marni & family, We also enjoyed meeting you & your entire family and being a part of your experience in our area. Always happy to hear how much you appreciated what we have to offer at our facility. So many guests mention the bonfire and marshmallows, what a tradition it's become. For those that don't want to eat out, the barbeques are such a good alternative. Your visit was on a very busy Civic Long Weekend, so we are diligent in keeping this space quiet and secure for our registered guests. Lots of regulars here that weekend with friendships re-visited and new ones made. Hope to see you all again! Enjoy the rest of your summer. Best regards, Randy & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at this motel and were there with our three kids for a three night stay. We were very disappointed with our choice of motel. Although Gail and Randy were very nice… the motel is old and run down. Our room was small and smelly and the toilet did not flush properly. We found earwigs in our room and one had even gone into the kids' suitcase on the floor. Will not be returning and would definitely not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Figaro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Figaro family,
We are disappointed to hear that you were this dissatisfied with your stay at Lakeview. All the accommodator buildings in Sauble Beach are older, however many of our units are not original & the unit you occupied was completely renovated & newly decorated, right from the stud walls, in 2010. The washroom may be smaller than what one would like, but is all ceramic and very nice, while the unit itself is a corner unit and we feel not small at all. It is one of the most popular choices of our guests, both now & prior to the reno, being requested & occupied for most of the summer. Yes, the toilet wasn’t flushing properly at that time due to the flush mechanism, however it was replaced immediately after your stay. Things do break down and a simple repair is all that is required. If things are brought to our attention, we correct it as soon as possible. We have been very diligent with the control of earwigs, they are attracted to anything damp, especially wet towels. They were definitely worse earlier in the season, but until now we haven’t heard many comments about them. Unfortunately, we live in an area where all types of seasonal bugs are common. Perhaps you are lucky enough to live in an area where there are no insect pests. When we spoke on many occasions, we were under the impression that your family was enjoying themselves & utilizing the amenities we offer, especially the children in the pool. Our most important goal is to provide our guests with a fresh & clean unit as well has a happy & comfortable stay. Perhaps a larger, newer & branded hotel would have been your better choice, but unfortunately, there are none available in our immediate area. Thank you for your comments, & we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer. Regards, Randy & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Gail and randy are one of the main reasons my daughter and myself keep coming back every year. This year was our 6th year. Even in bad weather there is a million things to do and explore. The motel is sooo clean you can eat off the floors. Even 5 star hotels in toronto are not as clean.my daughter every year meets kids to swim and play with. She loves the bomb fires too! I love it because I have a big fridge and freezer,a common bbq area and enough bbq and picnic tables for everyone. If we decide to go to the beach for the day when we come back to lakeview it is away from all the riot. Randy and Gail will not tolerate parting. It is a family environment and I feel it safe enough for my daughter to run around. It is like one big family all the people visiting know everyone's name and it is very relaxing by the pool. Kids swim and adults relax with a drink. The owners are such amazing people they have seen my daughter grow from a baby to a young lady.she loves loves the pool and the arcade and every year is a new adventure.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edenbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgporter, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hello Edenbella! We thank you very much for your review of Lakeview! We have indeed watched your daughter grow up & enjoyed your company each and every year. Lots of good memories on both sides. As a fellow business owner, you know and appreciate the time and effort which is invested in operating a successful business. The rewards are great & we are very fortunate to have repeat guests such as yourselves. Always love to hear about your good times whether it's here at Lakeview or in the surrounding area....hopefully no one thinks we actually have "bomb" fires!! :) Thanks again and see you next year! Best regards, Randy & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauble Beach
0.6 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
146 reviews
10.7 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
368 reviews
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bel-Air Motel & Cottages Sauble Beach
2.3 mi away
Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel & Cottages

Address: 625 Main St, Sauble Beach, Ontario N0H 2G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Sauble Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sauble Beach
Price Range: £155 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Main Street with the beach, restaurants & shopping all at your fingertips! Clean, spacious, and modern motel & cottage units. Rates include: inground heated pool, barbeques & picnic tables, play area, bon fire pit, badminton, parking...located in our beautiful, private setting. All units feature a/c, full size fridges, cable TV, WIFI, 4 pc bath, double,queen or king bed units. All units are smoke & pet free. We strive to provide a "vacation experience", not just a place to stay! Your hosts: Randy & Gail Porter ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lakeview Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing