We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service, Beautiful Location, Perfect Host”
Review of La Fermette du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Fermette du Lac
Ranked #1 of 6 Ardres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Class Service, Beautiful Location, Perfect Host”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The location is set on a stunning hillside overlooking a lake. The property itself is everything you could wish for in terms of rural French charm and style. The property is set within very large grounds and has a perfect garden area for children to run around with some play equipment available to burn off the last bits of energy.
The property has been renovated to a very high standard and our room was charming, spacious and the bed very comfortable.
The facilities were perfect and the kitchenette perfect for us to prepare a meal for our young children saving the stress and hassle of "finding something on the menu" for our 2 and 7 year old at restaurants.
Lastly the host, Nicolas was polite, friendly, very accommodating and as with other reviews makes an excellent breakfast. I will have no hesitation in returning and look forward to organising a trip for my wider family and of course ensuring we all stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    37
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
127
228
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stop over around ardres each year as our little oasis before going home after holidaying in southern france and wanted to stay here last year but they were booked. this year we got in and won't be going anywhere else next year. Lovely location backing until the lake, large,bright, clean room - plenty of space for the two boys too -with nice bathroom downstairs. Play area visible from bedroom window. Breakfast room and little lounge area which we could have picnicked in. Breakfast was EPIC. Home made jams, nice breads, little pancakes and a butter caramel sauce which we saw being made last night when we arrived, bleary and dishevelled from ten hours of autoroutes. 60 euro for two plus 18 for the boy (baby was free) -bargainous stopover, just wish we'd arrived a bit earlier in time for dinner in town. Also really handy for tunnel, 15 mins. Next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Isaac
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Fermette du Lac overnight on our way back to UK after holidaying on our boat in the Bourgogne area of France. We had a warm welcome from Nicolas and our lovely room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfast room overlooked the field and lake and the other Belgian guests were friendly and fun. Nicolas served us delicious home made bread and jams, freshly cooked crepes, cheese, yoghourt, local apple juice, coffee, tea or hot chocolate. It was a very welcome change from our usual stay in one of the chains of hotels in Calais. Many thanks Nicolas - we will return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the beautiful 'Romance' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My boyfriend and I spent three nights in the Romance room at the Fermette du Lac and I have to say we were most impressed and didn't want to leave!
From the very comfy, clean and tastefully decorated room, to the warm welcome from Nicolas, without forgetting the tranquility of the place and its lovely surroundings (the Ardres lake and fields), the petanque ground, the yummie breakfast in the guest kitchen and the attention to detail (magazines, extra blanket, etc in the room), I can only say it has everything you'd wish to find at a B&B (and more) for a very reasonable price. It is simply the best B&B we've stayed at and we will definitely be coming back!
Thank you Nicolas!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
180 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We've not posted a review for over 18 months for La Fermette, which is remiss of us as it's a regular favourite. Both my wife and I, and parents stop here regularly on our regular France trips. See the earlier review, but it's ALWAYS super to return. Nice rooms, but only three. Ardres is small and quiet 'off season'. We had not 'reposted' reviews as it is always just so good at La Fermette so maybe we've taken this for granted.
For us here then, just a fresh line in the sand that it is as lovely, welcoming and charming as ever. Will be back there soon...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank handif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Fermette du Lac almost one year ago, on 26th March 2012. It was a great choice in every respect : very comfortable, quiet and characterful room; lovely views across the countryside; excellent breakfast; and a welcoming host.

We also liked the small market town of Ardres very close by and with a good choice of restaurants - the one we chose (opposite the north side of the green as you come in on the road from Calais) was very good value and not at all touristy.

We shall certainly return to La Fermette du Lac for a respite from the hassle of a busy everyday lifestyle.

Room Tip: All are faultless
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My partner and I found this place by luck last year as we set off on our big 3 week trip around France visiting all the wine region. Having set off from London, we were glad to have opted for an overnight stay in La Fermette as the traffic was heavy and we were quite tired.

We drove by the accommodation a few times not being able to find it on our satnav and the lack of sign posts perhaps was the only issue we had. However as soon as we arrived, Nicolas' wife welcome us and installed us in our Campagne room which was a good size, comfortable and very clean. They have a surprisingly large back garden or perhap call it a paddock which goes down to the lake and it's very quiet.

Although we were recommended a pizza place, we opted for some bread, cheese, charcuterie and beer from a nearby supermarket (3 mins drive) and sat out on their outdoor wooden table. Nicolas arrived a bit later from work to welcome us and have a small chat.

Breakfast next morning was fantastic and Nicolas was in fine form churning out one dish after another including cheese, marmalade, heaps of pain perdu, coffee and juice and more - sufficient enough to have kept us going until we reached Champagne.

I have subsequently recommended this place to my father who enjoyed it as well and no doubt will be staying here in the future.

If I could however suggest - the lack of good restaurants in the local vicinity makes it a bit cumbersome for guests to drive far out for something other than pizzas. If they could also provide the option of a light dinner - just some charcuterie with bread etc, that would be a very welcomed addition!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yomura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardres
4.4 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
459 reviews
8.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
313 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
706 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
427 reviews
19.3 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fermette du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fermette du Lac

Property: La Fermette du Lac
Address: 115 avenue du Rossignol | Ardres - Bois en Ardres, 62610 Ardres, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Ardres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ardres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B close to Calais, Eurotunnel, Ferries, Nausicaa, Cap Blanc-Nez, Cap Gris-Nez, Wissant, Saint-Omer.. Family rooms and independant kitchen to make your holidays easy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Fermette du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing