We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost five stars (above expectation)”
Review of La Fermette du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Fermette du Lac
Ranked #1 of 6 Ardres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost five stars (above expectation)”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a wonderful time. Nicolas speaks very good English, very friendly and helpful his breakfast so delicious and his home made jam were really yummy. The accommodation very clean and over all everything in this place has got a simple stunning French touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    39
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
128
234
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Found this B&B on the internet and simply wanted a place to rest our heads on the way back from skiing. It seemed strange to break the journey as we felt able to carry on but I'm so pleased we did. Our family room easily slept two adults and a 10 and 13 year old.There was a super choice of restaurants nearby for dinner, a great sleep and lovely shower, hair dryer provided and fab decoration. We then had an amazing breakfast cooked fresh in the gorgeous orangery looking out across the lake.
This was not a stop over but a wonderful extension to our trip and we returned to London feeling fresh and as if we'd only driven for a couple of hours, which of course was the case.
I think we paid 93 Euros for four with breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms in converted stables all beautifully decorated, very Farrow & Ball.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We wanted a short break to enjoy the beautiful Côte d'Opale. This is a perfect place to stay and explore the countryside in this area. Nicolas is very accommodating and very friendly. He speaks English too :) He prepares a nice breakfast in the morning with house made jams and tells stories about the region. The kitchen can be used all day. It is possible to cook your own meal.
We stayed in the Romance room which is very spacious and has a nice bed and a private shower. There is coffee and tea available in the room.
We would love to com back in springtime when everything is in bloom.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This B&B is less than half an hour's drive from the Euro Tunnel and I'd definitely recommend it over staying in Calais/Coquelles. The building is lovely, with a nice lake view despite being on a main road. The breakfast was also nice. However I have given this 4* because: (i) we were only told after booking that we would need to arrive after 6.30pm, which was not that convenient for us; and (ii) the heating/hot water had a problem which meant we were very cold - understand this was not preventable (and we were given a 10% reduction as a token, although this may have been refunded because there ended up being 3 rather than 4 of us sharing the room) but it was still frustrating and meant we left feeling a little unhappy. However I would definitely go back if in the area at a warmer time of year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas L, Propriétaire at La Fermette du Lac, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Cottage Lake . I renew my apologies for the problem of heating and hot water due to the cutoff of gas, completely independent of my will, as you nicely written . I hope that the provision of € 13 seemed you sufficient even if I could not take into account the fact that you are coming to 3 instead of 4. If I had been previously warned , it could have been different ...
On the arrival time , I try to adapt to the expectations of guests sometimes welcoming at 11am in the morning or at midnight if they need. The day of your arrival, an impediment does not allow us to welcome you earlier than 6:30 p.m and I'm sorry that this could bother you. Therefore, I understand that you have not been fully satisfied.
However, I am happy to know that you want to return . I will then try to satisfy you better than the first time and allow you to spend a pleasant stay
I wish you a happy new year
Sincerely
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We've been to stay at this Chambre D'hote a couple of times before and always received a great welcome. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Nicolas, the host, is extremely helpful and patient with our less than perfect French. Unusually for a Chambre D'hote there is the kitchen - La Salle du Lac - is great with its hob, microwave and fridge freezer. You can either make a meal for yourself or bring one with you to heat up. Drop Nicolas an e-mail - he'll even respond in English!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here for one night on a work trip - Nicolas was very welcoming and gave me lots of useful info, including good places to eat in the local area. It's a nice, quiet place with plenty of charm and is especially handy if you are traveling on the Euro tunnel which is only about 15 mins away and easy to navigate to. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Like others, I would have preferred to keep this little treasure a secret, but the proprietor deserves praise for his lovely conversion of old farm buildings. Beautifully decorated and furnished, comfortable bed, lovely shower room. With a kettle etc so you can make a drink.
Breakfast (French toast/eggy bread) was cooked by the proprietor, with coffee, tea, breads & excellent selection of home-made jams, taken in the 'cuisine' overlooking the lake.

Plenty of parking (don't run over the chicken)

Would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornish_traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardres
4.4 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
474 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
722 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
331 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#2 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
493 reviews
19.3 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fermette du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fermette du Lac

Property: La Fermette du Lac
Address: 115 avenue du Rossignol | Ardres - Bois en Ardres, 62610 Ardres, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Ardres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ardres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B close to Calais, Eurotunnel, Ferries, Nausicaa, Cap Blanc-Nez, Cap Gris-Nez, Wissant, Saint-Omer.. Family rooms and independant kitchen to make your holidays easy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Fermette du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing