We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem - well worth a detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boursot Vins

Boursot Vins
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Ardres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boursot's Wine Collection is a specialist wine seller offering French wines at all levels upwards from £3 a bottle. Personal service and good advice, together with the option to try many wines prior to deciding, make this a "must visit" attraction. Boursot's second shop is in Marquise between Calais and Boulogne. boursot
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A hidden gem - well worth a detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We've been here half a dozen times and always been pleased with the quality of the wine, the prices, service, ambiance and the surrounding area. We now treat it as a worthwhile day trip in its own right!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Magintys_mob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There's nowhere else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We are lucky because we live close to the Ferry, but we would never buy wine in Enland now and rarely anywhere other than Ardres. Guy is always very helpful and friendly and we have never been disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I first met Guy on a girls weekend to Lille many years ago and had an offer for his shop from the Euro Tunnel tickets. Since then, he has moved to a fabulous new shop in Ardres and I go whenever I can and have taken friends too. You can also try before you buy on many wines, or order online to collect as you wizz through. Possibly the most memorable trip to visit his shop was for one of his birthday weekends with a meal at Hotel Atlantiique, Wimmereux as it coincides with my birthday. The whole evening was very enjoyable with great wines, excellent food and a great speaker. It doesn't matter if you don't know a great deal about wine other than what you like - know one makes you feel awkward or out of place as evenings are very informal. It is a great way to spend a night or weekend in a very pleasant part of France that is so easy to get to. What are you waiting for!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Starnurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The right wine in the right place at the right price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have been a supporter from the days of the 'other location' . The advice and service have been most helpful, and an email, after a view of the list ,just a few days before one's visit guarantees your wine ready for collection , and a quick getaway. We even collected some half bottles, rather rare these days

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MightyToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings UK
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a lovely wine shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We'd had a couple of grungy experiences buying wine in Calais warehouses and supermarkets so this time we tried Boursot's in Ardres. What a relief! We found a very good selection of wines of all prices, unpretentiously presented by the owner, Guy Boursot (British, never mind the name), whose family, I believe, has been selling French wine in England for centuries. Man knows his stuff. If you like, you can send wine from other parts of Europe to him and, for a small fee per box, he'll hang onto it for you till you can collect it. Great place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boursot Vins also viewed

Ardres, Pas-de-Calais
 
Ardres, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Boursot Vins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing