We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely French chambre d'hôte”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardres Bridge Cottage
Ranked #3 of 6 Ardres B&B and Inns
1 review
“A lovely French chambre d'hôte”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Summary - We fully aim to return as regular visitors and will be quick to recommend this delightful chambre d'hote, 15 minutes from Eurotunnel, to others who are likely to appreciate the ambiance and effort that the whole family make to welcome visitors. A wonderful French experience.

We and our primary school aged children all thoroughly enjoyed our evening and overnight stop with Laurent and Alison. Alison had made a huge effort with the excellent evening meal (rustic, homemade and delicious) and Laurent treated us to his home made aperitif. If you are after a true taste of French family life, then Bridge Cottage is for you. Laurent and Alison both work so it's best to arrive after 5pm. Do try to make time for an evening meal with them and their delightful children. You can find further detailed descriptions in Alistair Sawday's guide and Le Routard's 2013 best of French chambers d'hôte.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our two young daughters (aged 2 and 8) en route to our holiday gite last year. We loved it so much that we immediately booked to do the same thing this year, but this time we stayed both en route to and on the way back from our gite and we weren't disappointed. Like any holiday goer and in our case, Francophile, we were sad to be going home and leaving France, but the Blanquart family created a lovely evening and atmosphere which really cheered us up. We drank homemade cocktails in the delightful garden for our aperatif and this was followed by a delicious three course meal - the homemade onion tart we had as a starter was superb. I asked for the recipe and hope to recreate it at home. Our two girls loved playing with the owners' two young daughters - there are many toys and games and we were able to relax and allow our children to have fun and enjoy themselves. The owners speak excellent English, but were happy to let us practise our French on them - we also felt comfortable enough to ask questions about language and thus we learnt new phrases and added to our vocabulary. In short, nothing is too much trouble at Ardres Bridge Cottage - the rooms are very clean, comfortable and well equipped (even having Yorkshire tea!) and the young owners are extremely friendly and welcoming. Unlike English B&Bs, being among the family is part of the chambre d'hote experience. In the case of Ardres Bridge Cottage, spending time with the Blanquart family was the 'cherry on the cake' of a wonderful holiday. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is indeed a family home and notably so, a warm and relaxed welcome in the heart and hearth of the talented family, a rare chance to share for a short time the quiet and charm of a quirky old property lovingly converted into an interesting home with a beautiful garden.

This is family dining and tasty, welcome at the end of a long drive and preferable to getting into the car again to search for somewhere to eat. A homemade aperitif in the garden was a lovely touch and very much appreciated.

Our bed was firm and comfortable and the room blissfully quiet, the bathroom spotlessly clean and spacious, the parking safe and our miniature dogs were made as welcome as we were.

I would heartily recommend the owners do not change anything at all. Their heartiness and passion for their life and satisfaction of their guests makes their b& b stand out from the crowd.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a belated review ( we stayed here going and coming back from south of France last Sept) based on our through the area this year and planning to stay in the vicinity, and reading the review which scored terrible. We totally agree that it a family home first and a B&B second. The couple are very nice but both work full time - he does shifts - so everything is a rush. We had dinner on the first night which was not the good regional food recommended by a specialist publisher - very ordinary (and 20 euros each!) with their two children dominating affairs. The host rushed off to his shift within half an hour of sitting down. On our way back from holiday we needed to be at the ferry early and woke up to find the house deserted - the owner had gone to work and his wife had gone off to pick up bread - she reappeared eventually and in the habitual rush - leaving us in a rush too. These are two nice people who have their priorities wrong - if you take guests they should be the focus. They are all over the place juggling their jobs, their children and finally their B&B

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WoodmanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisebernard, Propriétaire at Ardres Bridge Cottage, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
We are very surprised by these negative comments. Although we both work, we always strive to provide a warm welcome. Do they really think that our B&B is not a priority for us when we offer evening meals so that we can spend quality time with our guests. In addition, we both speak English to help our guests feel at home.
Furthermore, the meals are simple, but everything is homemade using fresh products sourced locally. As we eat with our guests we cannot provide the same regional dishes everynight otherwise we would only eat the same meals! We are not a restaurant, but if guests tell us of any dietry needs when they reserve, we will always cuter for them.
Finally, we have found that, in the mornings, guests often prefer to have a quiet breakfast without interruption from us. I am upset to read that the guests were unhappy with their stay, but this is an exception as we are used to our guests returning many times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Lovely family; lots of toys around the large garden. Good clean accommodation in a usefully placed area for the tunnel and other crossings, but very quiet, out of town. Nicely furnished room in typical Northern France style

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njv_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Bemused by description of charmingly furnished room which was in fact run of the mill pine. the doorway is very low, and I mean low, I'm five foot two and banged my head on it on my way downstairs in the night to the bathroom. verandah outside room could be nice if it was cleaned up a bit, nice view of garden, some traffic noise from major road nearby.

I have been getting a bit irritated lately with owners of b and b's. They want your custom but don't want you hanging around cluttering up the place too much. How long exactly does it take to clean two rooms where you have to leave at 10am? I had a really long journey before my stay and ended up hanging around the area for hours as Madame couldn't possible accommodate me before 4pm as she had to clean the rooms,, I later found out in conversation she had been on the beach all afternoon.

The evening meal was nice, but i felt although I had pre-ordered she had actually forgotten as she wanted to recommend local eateries.
It is very convenient for euro tunnel.

It is very much a family home first and guest accommodation second.

Finally I would just like to say I selected this place from a very well known B and B guide, what I didn't know then is that the guide only publishes positive reviews on its website, you have been warned!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardres
4.9 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
8.6 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
14.5 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Fermette du Lac
La Fermette du Lac
#1 of 6 in Ardres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardres Bridge Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardres Bridge Cottage

Property: Ardres Bridge Cottage
Address: 678 Chemin du Fort Batard, 62610 Ardres, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Ardres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ardres
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing