We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely haven of peace and tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Plumstone Cottage

Sunny Southfacing Plumstone Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny Southfacing Plumstone Cottage
Plumstone Cottage nestled on the edge of the woods
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Sunny Southfacing Plumstone Cottage
Plumstone Cottage nestled on the edge of the woods
Chillout space upstairs
Space to rest and daydream
Rustic feel of cottage
Ancient mossy boulders in Plumstone garden
Beautiful woodland walking in our back yard and many other places nearby
Wildswimming only 20 mins away at Lac de Guerledan
More swimming and adventure only 35 mins away at La Roche du Diables
Stunning Beach at Cap Frehel, 1 hr towards the North
Perfect easy cycling terrain
Magical Castle at Josselin, 45 mins from Plumstone Cottage
Delicious local produce at farmers market in Rostrenen
Springtime flowers abound
Interesting local crafts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rostrenen, Cotes-d'Armor, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve J
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely haven of peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We felt immediately at home when we arrived at the cottage, and enjoyed soaking up the peace and quiet and the birdsong. It's a real getaway from the hustle and bustle of working life, perfect for unwinding and exploring the local area. We enjoyed walking and cycle rides along the nearby canal path. The local organic shop was surprisingly well stocked with bread, groceries and local veg and we can recommend the local Pizza on a Wednesday evening!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and birdsong
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E
Ripon
2 reviews
“Lovely characterful cottage in a beautiful rural woodland setting”
Reviewed 31 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We wanted a week's break in November at fairly short notice. We wanted a wood-burner for cosy nights, somewhere fairly close to a village for supplies and a cafe and with country walks nearby. We nearly gave up the search for anything with character until we found Plumstone which was ideal and especially unmissable at the off season price. The environmentally conscious open plan interior has been lovingly done. We enjoyed the well provided kitchen and large cooker and evenings centered around the great woodburner stove. It was everything we wanted, with a village nearby for a cafe and a great organic bakery/general food shop and Rostrenen close too for it's market, supermarket and eateries. The location is great, with lots of fantastic walks either straight from the cottage, by the nearby canal and lakes or, because of it's central Brittany location, trips to the north, south or dramatic east coast are all easy. The location is great too because for just a week, it's not a long drive from the ferry.

We found communication with the owners was a pleasure, and they were kind enough to let us arrive early and have a fire on when we got there.

I'd love to go again in the Spring or Summer, it must be brilliant in that lovely, very special woodside setting. We came away feeling we'd had a perfect week's retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage and the setting
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian O
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Brittany”
Reviewed 29 January 2013 for a stay in May 2012

Great location with beautiful surrounding countryside, but also ideally situated for exploring the surrounding towns and villages. The large garden and woods is ideal for relaxing a wonderful place to be at peace.
Very well equipped and comfortable with a warming fire for a cosy night in...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Peace
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fayvan
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

My husband and I needed a restful break, Plumstone Cottage gave us that! A beautiful quiet location. The stone cottage was very well equipped and comfy beds. We got the woodstove roaring, and bought some local foods and wine, and simply opened our favourite books.. We would recommend to friends and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing