We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our first visit but will not be our last, everything was excellent - the ambiance was lovely, the food first class( and we are very fussy so high praise!). Probably best to book as very popular

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline200259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    104
    39
    22
    2
See reviews for
89
241
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Saw all the wonderful reviews and thought that looks nice. We live in Essex , but go away for short breaks , sometimes only 1 or 2 nights for a break.QUALITY breaks to revitalise We have a small Dog , She is used to going into Museums , hotels , shops etc. ( dare I say better behaved than some children?) But we can't stay here , in the heart of the countryside with dogs all around as when I phoned to ask about dogs , there are no dogs allowed in the bedrooms. How does having a dog in a bedroom affect any other guest - assuming the dog is well behaved ? SAD , as it looks & reads well but there was no actual need for us to stay here.

Room Tip: PLEASE NOTE , I DID NOT TRAVEL but have to tick a "When Did you travel" to submit comment.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandlerGalleries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Managing Director at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
I quite understand your frustration – this is indeed lovely walking country – and I am sure that your dog is beautifully behaved. For those visiting the area for the day and looking for great food, we allow well-behaved dogs in certain areas of the pub but we have had to take the decision to exclude them from the Hotel for the sake of those guests who would rather not share their accommodation with a dog. We do find that some people are happy to leave their dogs to sleep in the car parked outside the Hotel (some dogs are quite happy with such an arrangement) but obviously that is a matter of choice.
I’m sure you’ll agree that it’s important to take account of the sensibilities of all our customers and we feel that we get the balance just about right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsmore, England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We, my husband and I and friends, stayed for one night only and the tarrif included breakfast and dinner. The dinner was for two courses only which, given it was a Sunday evening, seemed a bit mean as the restaurant was half empty.

When we arrived, the rooms were ready and we were extremely happy with ours. We had one of the rooms on the first floor with a double aspect view. The room was spacious, well furnished and had a large bathroom with a drench shower over the bath. The room was spotless and had a wall of beautiful wallpaper which gave it a luxurious but modern feel. Our friends had opted for the room with the "restricted" view because it had a larger bathroom. This was also on the first floor but the view was not restricted - it had NO VIEW AT ALL. It looked out on another roof, which you could actually touch! This room was very large, beautifully decorated, and had an enormous bathroom, but, I would never book this room having seen it. It was incredibly dark. It also seems unbelievable that this building was designed with a room with no view, or even a hint of sky! It is a premium room and there did not appear to be much of a discount for the lack of view. It also meant there was a lack of fresh air and the heating system was very difficult to adjust to compensate, hence the room was too hot. Our room was significantly better and we had a very good night's sleep.

The restaurant is very pleasant and we moved to a large circular table which was spacious, having been allocated a smaller one. The starters we chose were all excellent but I had a problem with my medium steak. Interestingly the "rare" and "well done" steaks ordered by us were perfect, but my "medium" was oozing a lot of blood and was much rarer than the "rare" ordered by my husband. I sent it back and the staff offered to replace the chips too. When the steak cam back it was still not medium but at least the blood was less. I do not know why a chef cannot cut into a steak with a sharp knife to check if it is cooked as required. The steak came with a sauce, so any cut was easily covered up. My steak was slightly thicker than the other ones and would have needed a bit longer. It is such a shame when a meal has to go back but the blood mixed with the sauce and was very unappetising. The wine list here is also excellent as they are also wine merchants. Highly recommend the Bonny Doon Californian red if it is still on the list. The mark up for the 2007 is not great.

Breakfast the next day was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed it. All the staff were helpful and welcoming. We would definitely stay again, but the "no view" room is a definite "no no"!

Room Tip: Avoid the room with "restricted view" on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BindiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Given the amount of choice in this area it is simply amazing how this establishment manages to continually serve up great food. Menu changes regularly but always well thought out. Service first class. Welcoming and friendly staff. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brobecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Had lunch here with group of friends and found it very nice. However, we had to wait a very long time for our main course to come but as we were in no rush so it didn't really matter but it might have been a problem. It was also extremely noisy at times. Would go again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cats1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southend
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The room was absolutely gorgeous. We had a delicious dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. We really enjoyed our mini getaway and would highly recommend The Crown to anyone thinking of booking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your recent stay. Sometimes a short but luxurious break away from home is the boost we all need! Our Sunday Special packages are available throughout the year and it's worth checking out our website or phoning us direct to find out about some great pre-Christmas deals too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had a great tasty meal at the Crown, on a Sunday evening. The Menu was interesting and the food superbly cooked. A good range of cask ales at the bar, attentive staff and a friendly atmosphere. If I had to make a criticism, it would be the lights over the table where a bit harsh, but otherwise a great night out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffQuayBrewery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
9.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
1.4 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.5 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,083 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown, Stoke By Nayland

Property: The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Address: Park Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown, Stoke By Nayland 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Stoke by Nayland, was reopened in November 2003 after extensive refurbishment. The boutique Hotel which took twelve months to build was launched in September 2008. The Crown Stoke by Nayland, an historic privately owned village Inn has a reputation for making everyone feel welcome - without pretension - simply a passion for high standards, good service, food, wine and real ale. To complete the picture a boutique Hotel has been created - eleven stylish luxury en-suite bedrooms individually designed and furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crown, Stoke By Nayland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Stoke By Nayland Hotel Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing