We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Certificate of Excellence
Perigueux, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Small and Beautiful”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights in March 2014 at the Crown. It's a small hotel in a beautiful rural Suffolk setting; with a superb, informal restaurant. Reception was friendly and efficient and all the staff were helpful and professional. Well situated for visits to Constable country and historic Colchester. As Arnie might say, "we'll be back".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watergipsy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    103
    38
    21
    2
See reviews for
86
235
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Whilst staying at The Angel Inn for a couple of nights we decided to eat out for the second night at the Crown. This is also a lovely looking hotel, not quite the same relaxed atmosphere as The Angel but still very nice. I had the skate and it was very good. my wife had the mixed fish meal which she also enjoyed. The wine choice was good and reasonably priced. Service was quick, polite and friendly, can definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Just ate here, stopped at the hotel opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Botters59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A group of seven visited the Crown last night for a 40th anniversary celebratory meal. The evening was brilliant - the food was second to none, a short delay on the starter but otherwise faultless. A couple of us had asparagus to start, while everyone else went for quail. Extremely delicious was the overall verdict! For mains there was sea bass, pulled pork, freshly made chicken kievs and a salmon tart. Again, amazing flavours. We had a lovely spot with a sociable round table. Very friendly staff too really made the evening a good one for us all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PH_Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langdon Hills Essex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived without having pre booking a table, although it was a busy Saturday lunchtime the staff were very helpful in finding us a table.
The rose house wine was good. The food delicious, my hubby had the skate and I had sea bass, we wouldn't normally eat dessert, however, the desserts menu was so tempting and delicious.
Would definitely recommend The Crown and can't wait to return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cjincallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a lovely meal and a lovely waitress but my granddaughter asked for an extra scoop of ice cream and looked at the bill and was charged what I think is an exorbitant price of £2.75 I queried this with the waitress and all she said was well that is the price on the till, well that's alright then !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spudbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Fantastic place , on arrival the staff at the hotel were very helpful and showed us to our room, the room was very clean all mod cons to make you feel relaxed, great shower.
The drinks were served in fleshly cleaned and buffed glasses very nice selection of ales and wines,
And to top it off the food was TOP CLASS COOKED AND DELIVERED IN PERFECTION.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 213Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Managing Director at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
What a lovely review! I’m so glad that you had such a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have been visiting the Crown for years after a recommendation from my brother, since before the hotel was built. I find the staff consistently friendly and helpful and the quality of the food (although a tad expensive the same. I have recommended this place to numerous friends and visited it last year with my cousin and she was equally impressed. Just been there for Sunday lunch today and after all these years great again! Well done guys for keeping up the high standards and you really deserve your reputation. Great views over the valley too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melsy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Managing Director at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
It would be very easy to rest on our laurels but my staff work extremely hard to maintain the high standards that our customers have come to expect from The Crown. When we get such a glowing review from a regular customer, we know that we are succeeding!
Our menu changes again next week so do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
9.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
1.4 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
12.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
8.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown, Stoke By Nayland

Property: The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Address: Park Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown, Stoke By Nayland 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Stoke by Nayland, was reopened in November 2003 after extensive refurbishment. The boutique Hotel which took twelve months to build was launched in September 2008. The Crown Stoke by Nayland, an historic privately owned village Inn has a reputation for making everyone feel welcome - without pretension - simply a passion for high standards, good service, food, wine and real ale. To complete the picture a boutique Hotel has been created - eleven stylish luxury en-suite bedrooms individually designed and furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crown, Stoke By Nayland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Stoke By Nayland Hotel Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing