We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Saturday Evening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Warm welcome, well rehearsed wait without being to long, table delivered, food exquisite, she says sexy, drinks good and staff terrific, all in all a great experience, we would definitely return if only because of the staff but it is so much more

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mkharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just had one of the most phenomenal meals in ages.
The service and quality of food was outstanding. I would come back again and again.
The menu, seafood selection and wine list are faultless.
The staff were so friendly and helpful .... if every restaurant has employees like here they would be as busy as the crown.
We were lucky enough to arrive early and got a table as they got exceptionally busy later.
Again ... phenomenal!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is not easy to find, let your satnav take you there. The accommodation and catering was exceptional. We had a great room, lovely staff, a good restaurant and a good bar. Can't really fault this place. We will definitely be back again for a long weekend.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to room 12 and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rochester604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I've been to this restaurant at least 30 times since I've moved from France to Suffolk a year ago.
The menu is changed regularly and the Crown always offers a wide variety of great starters and main courses. I'm less convinced by the dessert menu but I rarely have one as the portions are quite large!
Prices are very reasonable for the high quality of the products and the wine list is really good with very nice wines from all over the world.
Add to that a friendly and helpful service and a really relaxed atmosphere in a beautifully renovated old building and you have all the ingredients to spend a lovely evening.

I've had dinner there with business partners, friends or with family visiting me: all agree it is a fantastic restaurant.

I've stayed only once in the hotel but it was definitely a great stay as well: beautifully decorated rooms, very comfy bed, great bathroom with Italian shower.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Le_Saimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

You clearly appreciate what The Crown aims to provide and I'm delighted that we succeed.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

You know what to expect.. Been many times over the years. Food good with a varied menu. Always busy with a good atmosphere which is a good sign even on so called quieter days for other places. More of a restaurant than pub with tasteful decor. Many other places nearby try but this remains the best.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank bluehat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely space inside and out. Good range of beers and wines. Pleasant staff and prompt service. But £12.50 for minute steak and fries is way, way over-priced, not even any garnish. The steak was very tasty but could easily have been eaten in 4 mouthfuls. Until The Crown starts to offer value for money I will not be going back. If you do go there then tell them you want a proper sized meal when you order. If they can't confirm that then go elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank tonypcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. While we may not always wholeheartedly agree, we really do pay great attention to what our customers have to say about us and to our face. It is a hard fact that food and energy prices have risen sharply in the past few years and if we want to use the best quality ingredients, we have to be prepared to pay. Seasonal, local produce is not always the cheapest but we like to think it’s the best and we pride ourselves on supporting smaller independent suppliers.
I’m sure many of our customers would be interested in knowing more about the provenance of their food and, to that end, we plan a special section on our website in the near future.
I would far rather charge that little bit extra and not stint on quality and I firmly believe that most of our customers would agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have lived near to the Crown for the past 20 years and have seen it grow from a third rate country pub to a destination food venue. Now however it would appear that it is living on past reputations. I visited with friends and my 11 year old. Our meal was £190 which was only two courses each, 5 beers and two very average bottles of wine. My son's steak (smallest ribeye I have ever seen) was overcooked and the fries didn't arrive until after he had finished ! We had to ask twice for tea and coffee and my liver comprised two of the thinnest slices you could find for £17. The location is fantastic and the atmoshere is always good but there are several other restaurants in the immediate area and you may want to try them instead if food is your driver.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank dunny50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

When an establishment is as busy as we are, it is vitally important not to rest on our laurels and, to that end, we take every piece of feedback – both good and bad – very seriously indeed as long as it is factually correct. Our aim is still the same as the day we opened 11 years ago: to serve good quality food and drink at fair prices in a friendly and relaxed setting.
I believe that we continue to deliver on our promise and, if anything, we've learnt and improved as the years go by. Many of our customers, like you, have watched us grow and continue to support us and we really do value their loyalty. I do hope that you will visit us again to see if we can’t change your mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
1.4 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
12.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
9.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,032 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,160 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown, Stoke By Nayland

Address: Park Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range: £126 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown, Stoke By Nayland 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Stoke by Nayland, was reopened in November 2003 after extensive refurbishment. The boutique Hotel which took twelve months to build was launched in September 2008. The Crown Stoke by Nayland, an historic privately owned village Inn has a reputation for making everyone feel welcome - without pretension - simply a passion for high standards, good service, food, wine and real ale. To complete the picture a boutique Hotel has been created - eleven stylish luxury en-suite bedrooms individually designed and furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Crown, Stoke By Nayland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Stoke By Nayland Hotel Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing