We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B in the depths of rural Suffolk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in the depths of rural Suffolk”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We only stayed one night as we were catching the Harwich/ Esbjerg ferry. Poplars farmhouse is a very well kept period farmhouse with carefully tended gardens. The whole house is traditionally decorated/ furnished with considerable taste - and the bedroom was extremely comfortable and well equipped.
We were welcomed by Paul, and given tea and biscuits in the garden as well as advice on local walks. Stoke by Nayland is a short walk away - a very pretty village with two gastropubs.
THis is a very good B&B run by friendly efficient hosts in a lovely part of the country and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
236
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This superbly run B & B is ideally situated for exploring the delightful villages of Suffolk and is in a lovely position. surrounded by countryside but within walking distance of the village where there are two excellent pubs for dinner. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived, with tea and homemade cakes in the garden. Our room was spacious, quiet, and very well appointed. And breakfast is a real treat, with a large selection of traditional and vegetarian dishes on offer - all beautifully presented.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wsussex41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We were due to stay at another b&b but they gave our room away at the 11th hour we found this on the intetnet and are so glad we did what a wonderful find.lovely hosts wonderful surroundings and excellent food well worth paying that bit more cant wait to stay again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Poplars at the end of June and had a lovely time. The farmhouse is full of character and old world charm. We stayed in the Boat Room with a four poster bed which overlooks the garden, front and back. David and Paul are extremely nice chaps; David welcomed us with tea and cake on our arrival. It is situated down a long lane and is quite quiet with hardly a sound heard except for the birds in the morning. The breakfast is great and is beautifully presented. Lots of walks around for the enthusiast in beautiful countryside. There are 2 good pubs - restaurants in the village.

Room Tip: The B & B is situated down a very narrow long lane. You need to follow the driving instructions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandAli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

An exceptional experience where you felt so at home whilst being away from home. Comfortable, elegant and cosy and so easy to relax. Already been recommended to friends and family both here and abroad.

Room Tip: Choose any one of the rooms. None will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The absolute ideal. There was nothing I could fault about this place. From the telephone conversations to set up the booking, to the actual stay, to our farewell, the owners were perfect hosts, and their knowledge of the local area was incredibly helpful to us two strangers in the area. The whole of the farmhouse was stylish, intimate and luxurious, surrounded with English country gardens and rolling fields. We were greeted with tea and cake, settled into our perfect room boasting great views, TV, hot drinks and a sparkling bathroom. Breakfast was more than substantial, with my dietary requirements as a Vegan fully catered for, and the meaty breakfasts going down a storm with the other guests. Add to that a wood burner, a fabulous reading lounge for the guests to use, lovely local walks and country pubs, and two hosts who are evidently passionate about what they do, and you are left with one, perfect weekend!

Room Tip: We had the panelled room. Great for a couple, or 2 friends sharing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhammamitra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed in this B&B with my three sisters for three nights on our annual getaway. We were not disappointed! This was a really lovely place to spend our long weekend away together. The house itself was beautiful with high quality furnishings and was very peaceful and tranquil. Our hosts, David and Paul, were just lovely with exactly the right amount of attentiveness and were very friendly and accommodating. Tea and cake on our return from a day of shopping and giggling really hit the spot! The breakfast also was beautiful. In all we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
My sisters and I have been having our annual getaway for almost twenty years now and we can honestly say that this is the best B&B we have stayed in to date. We would highly recommend a stay in this lovely farmhouse.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemil2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
0.7 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
4.8 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#2 of 2 in Stoke by Nayland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse

Property: Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse
Address: Poplars Farmhouse Poplars Farm Lane | Colchester, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District co6 4rt, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poplars is a 17th century farmhouse tucked away in the heart of Constable Country. It is situated on its own in a very peaceful setting amongst fields and trees, yet only a short walking distance from the picturesque village of Stoke by Nayland. So why not escape from your usual life and experience this hidden gem of pure relaxation? We invite you to enjoy this beautiful ambiance and tranquility whilst at the same time offer you top quality luxury accommodation with comfort, homemade food to suit your diet, homely hospitality and being attentive to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing