We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland(Stoke by Nayland)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
    Savings alert! 19% below average rates

    The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa(Leavenheath)(Great Value!)
    US$115
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Savings alert! 14% below average rates

    The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$191
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Marquis(Layham)
    US$218
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
    US$59
    HIExpress.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Savings alert! 13% below average rates

    The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$68/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$65
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
    US$74
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Poplars Farmhouse B&B(Stoke by Nayland)
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (415)
    Filter reviews
    415 results
    Traveller rating
    293
    84
    22
    11
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    293
    84
    22
    11
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssunday lunchthe pubconstable countrypuddinglog fireroast beefexcellent foodfish and chipsbooked a tablemain coursean evening mealset menuwine listcomfortable bedbeautiful villagecooked to perfectionlovely room
    Filter
    Updating list...
    271 - 276 of 415 reviews
    Reviewed 28 May 2013

    Taken for a birthday lunch by family.. Meal was good, surroundings very pleasant. Service reasonably quick and efficient. Only visited for a meal and not to stay overnight. The hotel looked to be well run and clean. Would not mind staying there.

    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Service
    Thank Pagels_11
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 May 2013

    Called in after a wonderful walk in the area at around 2.30 on Bank Holiday Sunday and found the most perfect and relaxed courtyard. We were given the warmest of welcomes and were told that lunch was no problem at that time. We were invited to have a drink and take our time ordering food.
    Salads of salmon and crayfish were followed by wonderful roast beef.
    Great food, very good value, very warm and professional service and a lovely old England setting made for a perfect late lunch.
    Thank you for looking after us and our ageing Labrador so well.

    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Phil P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 May 2013

    A nice old Inn with lots of Character and charm. The place has a nice feel about it which is backed up by the very attentive and friendly staff. We had a lovely stay there in a comfortable room and served very good food.
    The only criticism I had was that at £16.95 for roast lamb I do not expect to pay extra for more veg. Also some dishes seemed to be served on pieces of slate etc. This is not good practice as most people will always prefer a good clean plate if asked.
    However we will stay again if we're in the area.

    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank michael p
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 May 2013

    This the 3rd time we have stayed here, the last being this last Xmas and since then The Angel has changed hands, although not alot has changed from the interior or exterior, the menu's have changed and there is not really alot of choice, and the prices change from weekend meals to weekday meals (weekend meal deals are 2 courses for £16.95) were as during the week it is 3 courses for £16.95 and 2 courses are £13.95 weekdays. it has been taken over by a chain who also own The Anchor Inn in nearby Nayland about 4 miles down the road which is situated by the river, which is a nice little pub to go and have a drink and a bit to eat siting in the evening sun by the river..(you may have to book a table if going at weekends) there is seating areas for meals inside and out.. back to The Angel another very pleasant stay with very attentive staff who will fo anything for you and that includes making you a picnic if you go out for the day.. Colchester Zoo is about 30 mins away.

    Room Tip: There are 6 rooms in the Hotel all of which are spacious, we have had room 3 twice now through choice of asking, but room 6 will be the quietest as it is on the rear side of the hotel away from the road and early morning traffic. Wi-Fi is available in the hotel as is 24 hour service, and iron and ironing board is available and if you forget your essentials like toothbrush/paste or shaving items The Angel can come to the rescue.. they have them too..
    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Peter F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 May 2013

    We booked a superior room on the 'Dinner, Bed & Breakfast with a Twist' offer (two nights with breakfast, dinner at the Angel and on the second day at the Anchor Inn, Nayland which is under the same ownership).
    We were first allocated Room 1, but having seen a picture of the other superior room (Room 5) on the website which has original oak beams, it seemed a little characterless and being on the road side we thought it could be noisy, so opted for Room 5 instead. With hindsight this was probably a mistake, as Room 1 had plenty of light, whereas Room 5 is VERY dark - difficult to read, apply makeup or shave - and having windows over the courtyard garden and car park meant if you wanted any privacy you had to close the wooden shutters making it darker still. To an extent it's to be expected in a 16th century building, but some better lighting would help alot, especially a light over the mirror in the bathroom.
    Filtered water in the room was a nice touch, but where were the fresh flowers? On the website we read "with soft sumptuous towels and fresh flowers, our superior rooms really do have that extra bit of luxury".. strange to make a point of something and then not follow it through. Add to that the peeling enamel in the bath, and all in all the room did not really feel very luxurious!
    Breakfasts were very nice. Dinner at the Angel was good but not exceptional, and was much the same at the Anchor with steaks served with a very strange tasting (over-reduced?) sauce.
    By far the nicest thing about the Angel is its staff - everyone we encountered was professional and friendly.

    Room Tip: Room 5 is VERY dark and lacks privacy, but does have authentic beams.
    • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Taxidiotissa
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews