We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tasty weekend 'with a twist'”
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A tasty weekend 'with a twist'”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was a recce to assess possibility of a family reunion weekend in Constable Country. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. Our room was clean and comfortable. The weekend included dinner at The Angel, and the 'twist' was the second night dinner at The Anchor, Nayland. Both meals were good and the service excellent. We are arranging to return for the same deal with more family.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a good view and nice bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    76
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
60
201
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My Wife and I spent 2 nights at the Angel on their "Dinner Bed & Breakfast With A Twist" package, dining at the angel on the first night & at their other inn "The Anchor" on the second night, (3 miles away in Nayland), the deal included transport to & from The Anchor.
On arriving we were greeted & checked in by smiling friendly staff & taken to our room (room 1) which was fabulous.
our first evening meal was first class & we could pick any dishes from the a la carte menu, the service was excellent & again the staff friendly.
on the second night we were driven to The Anchor by one of the owners & greeted again by friendly smiling faces & promptly offered a complimentary drink.
The food at The Anchor is quite different to The Angel, more gastro pub than restaurant with a menu comprising of many pub favourites such as angus beef burger, fish & Chips, Sausage & mash & many other choices of starters & mains.The quality of the food & service was again excellent.when we were ready we were chauffeured back to the Angel for a nightcap.
Breakfast on both mornings (I had full English) was great.
All in all we had a very enjoyable stay & what a change to be served by happy people (sometimes hard to find).
Try it, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DELIDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here last weekend, visiting for a Ruby Wedding nearby. We stayed in the only dog-friendly room which is out the back and was very pleasant with new bathroom. We got off to a hesitant start as was there was no kettle or bath mat , bedside light bulbs both blown and a wardrobe full of what transpired to b the owner's clothes!
However, with much apology those things were quickly sorted by a very pleasant and accommodating staff. Understated quality is how I would best describe this lovely hotel. Food excellent and the low tables and comfy leather chairs in the lounge to eat at, a particular luxury.
The Angel is in a pretty village surround by wonderful rolling countryside with very well marked paths. We are likely to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are using Room 8, the dog friendly room, bring a couple of old sheets for the floor - the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verityLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Wonderful little hotel in the middle of Constable country ! Very comfortable bed, good food and friendly staff. The walk in the morning accompanied by spring bird song added to the splendour ! Great for a weekend in the country

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natashalionheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent stay over two nights. Village very central for visiting the east coast. Ate both nights in the hotel and the food and service was very good.
Breakfast was very tasty with a good choice of food. Will go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nottingham0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We booked into The Angel Inn following some research online first. We weren't disappointed with our first impressions, this is a beautiful boutique hotel / restaurant in a quaint East Anglian village. The staff were friendly and we booked into room 1, a lovely room which was light, clean and well equipped. We booked into the restaurant that evening and I had a great meal of chicken on a risotto base, not too much and very tasty. The beer selections were good and the pub atmosphere was pleasant. We had a great stay and will almost certainly be returning at some stage.

Room Tip: This is a hotel which is adjacent to the road and therefore does have some traffic noise, we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Botters59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Its a tough one for me to review this, as I stay here every month. If I leave a really good review, will that possibly impact on my ability to stay here in the future, or do I leave a really bad review to try and assist with my selfish wish to be able to always get in. No that would not be fair, and besides they would know it was me. So here we go. Evening meal Excellent, OK so sometimes they change some of the side bits and its not quite as nice as the previous month, but its still very nice. Lovely roaring fire in the winter (well when I look after it, it is roaring). Probably the main reason I go back month after month is the staff, who are so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are rubbish though (Just kidding, But I gotta say something that will mean I can get in with no trouble next month)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
0.0 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
19.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
3.9 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: Polstead Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Angel Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Packed full of character, AA have awarded The Angel Inn with 5 stars and a Great British Breakfast Award as well as an AA Rosette for its fine dining. It is a traditional Grade II 16th Century Suffolk coaching inn with open fires, original brickwork and oak beams. It is a typical "Old English" country pub restaurant downstairs offering fantastic food in a stunning setting with six beautifully styled boutique bedrooms, all set in the heart of Constable country. Within easy reach of Colchester and Ipswich via the A12 which is a 5 minute drive. It is owned by Exclusive Inns who also own The Anchor at Nayland and also the Swan Inn at Monks Eleigh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Stoke By Nayland
Angel Inn
The Angel Inn Stoke By Nayland, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing