We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stay here every month with work, for at least one night, its not particularly handy for the route I have, but its worth the diversion just to stay here. The rooms are tastefully decorated and as reasonably well appointed as you could expect given the age of the building. The staff very friendly and welcoming and the food extremely good including the breakfast which is all fresh and cooked to order, with lovely proper bread for toast. I stay in lovely hotels all over the country, but some I look forward to returning to more than the others, and the Angel Inn is one of those.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    76
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
64
207
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Set I the village of Stoke by Nayland, my husband. sister and I stayed here for a couple of nights whilst attending a wedding at nearby Wherstead Park. Our rooms (Rooms 1 and 3) were spotless, furnished with beautiful antique furniture and lovely colour schemes. The beds, which were very comfortable, were made up with crisp white bedlinen. The ensuites were also very clean and the one in Room 3 was extremely spacious. Tea and coffee facilities were available as were toiletries; I would have liked a shower cap, Colton buds and pads but am sure that if I'd asked, these would have been provided.

The building dates back a way; there are exposed beams in some parts, steep stairways and a gallery overlooks part of the restaurant where breakfast is served. This room also houses a well.

We ate in the restaurant on the first evening. Not inexpensive, the food was however, plentiful and beautifully cooked. We chose from the bar menu not being able to resist the sausages and mash and liver and bacon! The wine list was very good including a number of fine wines for the very discerning.

Breakfast in the mornings was good; however the one waitress on duty was lovely but quite overwhelmed. We had to ask on both mornings for an extra place setting despite being told that it should have been set up for three.

We slept well; however some guests may prefer rooms which are not adjacent to the road. There was some noise from traffic and someone decided to do undertake some rather loud banging outside at about 8.30 on the Sunday! This did not worry us but may cause others a problem if it is a regular occurrence.

I would highly recommend this hotel for an overnight or a base for a longer stay. It is not cheap but the overall service and ambience made it worthwhile.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very spacious and furnished in a deep red. Room 3 is not quite so large but has a very sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDL2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A wonderful setting at the Angel Inn I must say,my meal was fine my wife's was very good but the peace de resistance was her dessert which she devoured .Quiet beautiful she declared after the pineapple fritters disappeared from her plate,although the angel seemed to have shifted slightly towards casual fine dining from homely rustic dining in my option that is we shall return well done the Angel. !!!!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely quiet retreat in a charming village setting. Comfortable rooms and staff couldn't have been more helpful.
Food was very good, and you could have anything sent up to your room.
Really enjoyed the whole stay. Breakfast was lovely and a nice varied selection all served in a wonderful setting. Will be visiting again.

Room Tip: The back rooms are very quiet so much better than the front ones which are nearer the main road thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

what can I say!!!! absolutely amazing as per usual. Our waiter , I think his name was Joe, was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. so professional and attentive. the food was delicious and beautifully presented. top notch fayre. I cannot praise this place enough. thank you and thanks to Joe you wer great.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed as a couple for two nights with a twist from 5th - 8th June. We had room 5 which was a charming room looking out onto the courtyard. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for us. We had one evening meal at the Angel and on the second night were taken by car to the Anchor. The meals were great at both restaurants. We will definitely return.
Just one point, please could they supply rubber bath mats as the bath was very slippery.
We would highly recommend this lovely inn, set in a beautiful part of Suffolk.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very nice and away from the main road, overlooking courtyard garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DerekGo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights from the 3/06/2014. Upon arrival we were shown to our room( no 1 ), the staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would describe the service as attentive but unobtrusive.
We had booked the package, Dinner with a twist, and were driven on the second night to the sister inn at Nayland, The Anchor. Once again the service was perfect and the food equally as good.
The 2 nights were perfect, and the picturesque countryside helped to make the perfect midweek break.
We'll be back. Thank you.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for the room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
0.0 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
498 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,126 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
21.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: Polstead Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Angel Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Packed full of character, AA have awarded The Angel Inn with 5 stars and a Great British Breakfast Award as well as an AA Rosette for its fine dining. It is a traditional Grade II 16th Century Suffolk coaching inn with open fires, original brickwork and oak beams. It is a typical "Old English" country pub restaurant downstairs offering fantastic food in a stunning setting with six beautifully styled boutique bedrooms, all set in the heart of Constable country. Within easy reach of Colchester and Ipswich via the A12 which is a 5 minute drive. It is owned by Exclusive Inns who also own The Anchor at Nayland and also the Swan Inn at Monks Eleigh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Stoke By Nayland
Angel Inn
The Angel Inn Stoke By Nayland, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing