We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lechon Around - a Must if staying in Rincon”
Review of El Fogon De La Curva - CLOSED

El Fogon De La Curva
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Takeout
Description: We are a family place with traditional foods & with a breathtaking hilltop ocean view!
Reviewed 16 February 2010

OMG, this place simply has the best Lechon around. So moist and flavorful, and plentiful. The arroz con gandules was great too, the perfect level of sabor (flavor). Cheap flowing Medallas (local beer) and a great view, WONDERFUL and friendly owners. Nancy you are the best, so knowledgeable and helpful and kind. Freddie the fish monger knows his stuff, we purchased snapper and lobster that he just caught and grilled it at our villa, INCREDIBLE fresh fish, and I had a lesson on freshness from Freddie that I use when purchasing fish here in NYC. The Mofongo with Lechon is a rich and hearty and soulful comfort stew, tostones are great...I can't say enough about this place, we ate there 3 times in one week! We will return again and again, if you don't go to this place on the tip of Rincon on the way to Mayaguez (115) you are truly missing out...Nancy much love to you and we will see you soon...From the Bronx crew who stayed at Anna's place at Tres Palmas right before xmas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gremlin608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfogon, owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2010

Thank you so much and hope to see you guys real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for El Fogon De La Curva
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2010

The view from the dining room is amazing and a great place to watch the sunset. We had the lechon (roasted pig) and found it to be the best we had tasted on the island. The friendly staff was bilingual and helped us determine which of the many side dishes we wanted to try. I had the amarillos (fried ripe plaintains) and pana (fried breadfruit). There is a full bar and a fish market attached to the restaurant. The owner, Fred, showed us some lobster he had just caught. We had a wonderful experience made even better by the low prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfogon, owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2010

We are so glad that you enjoyed our place, thank you for letting everyone else know that you had a wonderful local experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

It 's one of those places you keep driving past. There are always cars out front, but it looks a little scary to go in. Well, don't be shy! It's really good, really local, puerto rican cooking.
Barbequed ribs, broiled chicken, fresh fish, The side dishes are the most interesting. Cooked ripe plaintain, fried breadfruit, rice with pigeon peas, 'name',which is like a potato. Be a little adventurous and try some of this stuff!
The beer is ICE COLD and there is a rooftop bar for awesome sunsets.
$6 for lunch entrees, $8 for dinner entrees.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank annebam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

THE place in Rincon area. The roast pig was spectacular, the low-key unpretentious restaurant and wonderful hosts, Tommy and Nancy made this our daily dinner place while on vacation. With very few menu items - pig, fresh grilled fresh-caught fish & grilled chicken - the choice is simple. What more could you want? And the prices are truly the best & lowest of all the joints in the area. Can't say enough good things.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cabin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfogon, owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2010

Thank you for your wonderful comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

If your looking for the best restaurant in Puerto Rico then you need to visit EL FOGON DE LA CURVA located at CARR 115 K.M. 7.1 Anasco Puerto Rico [--]. We were on our vacation and we found this place. The Catfish is amazing and the side dishes are excellent. The choices on the menu are outstanding. We are from San Antonio Texas and visited Puerto Rico. We had dinner at this restaurant and it was incedible. Warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like no where eles. nancy and her staff are great we wish you the best and we can't wait to visit in June of 2010.
Rose & Julio, San Antonio Texas

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RoseJulioBre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfogon, owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2009

Thank you for such a wonderful review & hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Fogon De La Curva also viewed

 
Anasco, Puerto Rico
Anasco, Puerto Rico
 
Anasco, Puerto Rico
Anasco, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing