We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place for a rural retreat”
Review of Zigako Etxezuria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zigako Etxezuria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

What a place. Its in a very rural location in the middle of a tiny village.It is next to the local school which means that there can be kids playing the playground, but in general they are not too bad. The building is a stunning property with loads of character real wooden floors, original furniture pieces. Nice modern bathroom. Breakfast room is large and opens out onto the lovely garden. There is a semi covered terrace and it is fantastic to sit and have a glass of wine and take in the views of the beautiful countryside. Be prepared to speak a bit of spanish as the owner has limited english, but between my limited spanish and her limited english we got by.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamishhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2009

Staying in this large lovely house surrounded by lush hills and farms was just what we needed after some very parched days in Aragon. More than anything however we appreciated the overwhelming kindness and hospitality of the owner of the house who was so charming and helpful despite our language difficulties. The rooms are really spacious and charmingly decorated and the meals in the evening were simple but yummy . Breakfast set you up for the whole day. THis place is really, really good value for money. The only tip I would give is to get a good map of the area. It was tricky to get to and the roads are winding and confusing.If we ever go back to the Basque country we will go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austinvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julenoa, Julen at Zigako Etxezuria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2009

Many thanks for your review. We will try to improve the map.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We stayed at this small family-owned hotel in June. It is situated in the tiny village of Ziga overlooking the beautiful Baztan Valley not far from the French border. The views from the hotel are just marvellous: green, rolling hills, dotted with cows and sheep, complete with their bells, with the higher Pyrenees rising in the distance.

The hotel itself is quite modest, built in the Basque style (it is a Basque-speaking area). Our room was spacious and the view from our window unforgettable (we had the 'cowbell' room). Breakfast is more than adequate. Evening meals are available, all home cooked by Mertxe, the co-owner, and served by husband Julian. Mertxe was particularly obliging. She always had a smile on her face and made us feel most welcome.

If you like you can sit outside on the lawn and take in the scenery or watch the chickens clucking around in their coop.All in all, the perfect place for a quiet break, with lots of country paths to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jomberwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas son maravillosas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicente A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LET88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas son estupendas. Tranquilas, limpias, cómodas y muy bien decoradas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macarena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank jordimars16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ziga
10.0 mi away
Arantza Hotela
Arantza Hotela
#1 of 1 in Arantza
223 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Baztan
Hotel Baztan
#1 of 1 in Elizondo
88 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Senorio de Ursua
Hotel Senorio de Ursua
#1 of 1 in Arizcun
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Iribarnia Hotel Rural
11.1 mi away
Hotel Rural  & Spa Atxaspi
6.1 mi away
Balneario de Elgorriaga
Balneario de Elgorriaga
#1 of 2 in Elgorriaga
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zigako Etxezuria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zigako Etxezuria

Address: Triputxin, 2, 31796 Ziga, Spain
Region: Spain > Navarra > Ziga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ziga
Price Range: £58 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Zigako Etxezuria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing