We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rustic..but good wholesome breakfasts. Dine outside at picnic tables”
Review of Fergie's Cafe

Fergie's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Southwestern, Barbecue, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Fergie's Cafe is open daily for fabulous breakfasts and lunches. Relax on our sun-drenched deck and enjoy the fabulous views of mount Alpha whilst you feast on fresh, locally-sourced and lovingly prepared food. Why "Fergie's"? Well, before Sunwolf ever existed, it was a very well-known fishing hotspot called Fergie's Lodge. Fishermen came from all over BC and northwestern Washington to fish the Cheakamus, Squamish and Ashlu rivers for Salmon, Steelhead and Char. Today, people are still coming to these rivers for the fishing, so why not give them something to relate to? Fergie's Cafe it is!
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very rustic..but good wholesome breakfasts. Dine outside at picnic tables”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Five miles off the main highway north of Squamish, this quaint, rustic restaurant specializes in breakfasts and lunches. They feature 4 kinds on Bennies and home made sausages. Counter service (food is delivered to you). Dined at a picnic table under the trees. Just like camping without the bother.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadiantravellers93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Fergie's Cafe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are happy to learn that you had a bother free experience at our Fergie’s Cafe. We agree, Sunwolf has a more of a rustic feel , which we believe fits this beautiful forest location, filled with nature, water, birds and wild life at times.

We hope to see you soon again.

Your Sunwolf Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    39
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast Gem”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were headed back to Vancouver from Whistler to catch our flight and found this place through TripAdvisor. only a couple of miles off 99 so easy to get to. I was a little skeptical as driving down the road due to power lines etc but you turn the corner and this cute little blue house awaits with picnic tables nestled in the trees:) We split the french toast, yogurt parfait and cheesy eggs among two adults and two kids ages 8 & 10 and the portions were just right. (When traveling we try to not have left overs and waste hence the sharing) Pricing was good and the coffee was hot!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Contessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Fergie's Cafe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for calling our Fergie's Cafe a "Breakfast gem" in your lovely review.

We can understand why people may not feel sure of this location at first, especially when passing by the power lines, yet the good news is, what you see after that, is pure nature and nothing but nature.

We are so thankful to be able to serve our guests from this, to us, unbeatable piece of land.

We hope you will stop by soon, this time, with an assuring attitude and empty stomach for knowing what's waiting for you: hot local Galileo coffee and home made, hearty food.

All the best,

Your Sunwolf Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west coast
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average because of wait”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Seen this place on TA and thought we give it a try. Arrived Friday afternoon for lunch, not crowded, put our order in and waited over half an hour for a breakfast and a pulled pork sandwich. There was only one table of two waiting ahead of us. It's a beautiful place to sit and wait, but when you're hungry...and the bench is getting harder. The food was good and we would go again because I'm sure this was a one off.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Fergie's Cafe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry to read that you had to wait for food for over half an hour. Our cafe is quite small, as you have seen, yet there is a lot happening behind the scenes these days.

We are renovating, improving our menu, setting up our very first point of sell system and although customer satisfaction is our top priority, we may not achieve the desired wait time of 15 minutes at times. That is not to justify our delay, and rather frankly admitting that we went off on your occasion.

Having said that we hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Kind regards,

Your Sunwolf Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Unacceptable Wait”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Full disclosure, it was Mothers Day, and we knew the place would be crowded, but a wait of almost 1.5 hrs for bacon and eggs doesn't work for me. (If they run out of wooden spoons to give you-they help the staff match you with your order- that may be a clue)
The food was good and the location is funky/cool. But they obviously need a system/strategy to deal with very busy times, even if they advise patrons when the order is taken- "sorry, we are really busy it will likely take you more than an hour to be served, is that OK". "Sorry for the wait,"when the food is delivered after 1.5 hrs doesn't cut it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cannuckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Owner at Fergie's Cafe, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
I'm very sorry to hear you had to wait such a long time for your breakfast. I agree, an hour and a half is completely unacceptable. We do have a problem (and of course, it is a good problem to have) with how popular Fergie's has become and Sundays are by far our busiest days because people drive from as far as Vancouver to come for brunch. This is compounded by special dates like Mother's Day and holidays because we are so popular with families.

We are actively trying to improve our kitchen facilities so we can keep up with the growing demand and in fact, just this week we got a building permit for a full kitchen overhaul. I'm glad you liked our food and our location because with this new upgrade, neither is going to change. But the wait times will come down significantly... and that's a promise!

I was particularly disappointed to read that we didn't inform you about the wait time, as that is something we really strive to do. Our regulars know that when it's super busy they should head off for a little walk beside the river, or play with the bocce set we have on the lawn... but it's up to our front of house team to make sure everyone knows how long they may wait. I've talked with our team to remind them of how important this is, and we will try to do better.

Thank you for your review, it does really help to hear when things haven't gone well. I hope we may welcome you back in the future and wow you with our speedier service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious meal under a shady tree in summer”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My dubliner eggs Benedict with dubliner cheese, carmelized onion and apple on homemade biscuit was delicious. So too was my son's French toast with chocolate and pecans. Even better it was enjoyed at a picnic table under a large shady tree. The kids enjoyed swinging on the tire swing and throwing a ball white we waited for our meal. Helped make it one of those sublime summer days.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Fergie's Cafe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your nice review.

Next time, try our horse shoes or petanque games with your family.

Enjoy your sunny August.

Your Sunwolf Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fergie's Cafe also viewed

Squamish, British Columbia
Squamish, British Columbia
 
Squamish, British Columbia
Brackendale, Squamish
 
Squamish, British Columbia
Garibaldi Highlands, Squamish
 

Been to Fergie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing