We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only problem was we had to eventually go home.. :)”
Review of Sunwolf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunwolf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackendale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Normally I book all of our travel arrangements since traveling is my passion, but my husband decided to lend a hand for this trip after watching me plan 3 trips in the last year. He was super nervous that I would hate his decisions, but there was no need! Sunwolf was fantastic! Our cabin was nice and peaceful which is what we wanted from this trip. The food at Fergie's was SO good that I was trying to convince Brad to open a franchise in Chicago so I could eat there every day. We also used one of the grills to make our own dinner one night. It was great sitting on the deck and watch Sonny gnaw on a bone in the yard! We stayed for 3 nights, but I wish we had been able to stay longer. Jake, Jess, Tanya and Slater were all so nice and friendly.

We went on their whitewater rafting tour with Tanya, Slater, Bob and Eric the photographer and could not have had a better time. They take the time to have little extras like table cloths and tents at the picnic site. We were certainly not expecting anything beyond paper plates and a picnic bench! The food for lunch was fantastic. Everyone was funny and nice and knowledgeable. I had never been rafting before, but I wish I could go every day now! Bob was such a fun guide! He told us about another river in West Virginia and we're thinking about trying to go this summer. Our boat even made the photo-of-the-day on their facebook page. Eric took some amazing pictures which was just the perfect finish for the day of rafting.

This place is great! You NEED to stay here! It's close to Squamish where there is a ton of stuff to do and great places to eat and it's not too far from Whistler. You won't be sorry! Especially if you eat at Fergie's every day!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzabela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Owner at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Hey! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! Franchise in Chicago, sounds like a good idea!

We're constantly trying to improve our products and it's nice to know that the little thing(tablecloths/food/photographers/etc) are getting noticed. Hopefully we'll get to see you guys again in the future! Sonny says hi!

Take care and thanks again!

Slater
Team Sunwolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

The place is great for a getaway with your kids. We decided to have the weekend without eletronics and our kids did not miss it as we they enjoyed so much the place, playing around with Sunny, the dog. We had a picnic, s'mores in a awesome fire pit, hiking, fishing and the highlights for sure is the breakfast at Fergies. Kids also enjoyed the tire swings. We will be back...

Room Tip: If you go with kids try to get the cabin with kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Weekend getaway with friends and it was fantastic! Jess and Jake were so friendly and hospitable! Sonny the dog was so much fun!

Fergie's had some amazing home-made sausages...I'm so sad I forgot to buy some on my way out! Accommodations and facilities were very well equipped....rustic cabins with hot showers and super comfy beds. It was great to be able to use the communal bbq for dinner... love the hot tub too!

Both Garibaldi and the Chief are just a short drive away for a nice day hike.

Highly recommend! Would love to come back later to do some eagle watching, white water rafting... etc..

Thanks you!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Owner at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Really glad you enjoyed your visit to Sunwolf! We're always trying to enhance people's stay, and glad Sonny could be a part of it! We look forward to your return. Take care,
Team Sunwolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had two days between our camps in Squamish, BC, Canada and decided to go White Water Rafting. We chose Sunwolf and it was a fantastic choice. We had an awesome experience. Staff was knowledgeable, friendly and FUN. Thank you Jake and staff, for an extraodinary experience. See you next time.

Lilly & Constantin
Las Vegas, Nevada

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Count501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Owner at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Hey Lilly & Constantin!

We're really glad you enjoyed it here at Sunwolf! We're open year round, and the summers are just as good, if not better than the winters here! We hope to see you again. Take care!

--Team Sunwolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Hi, just like to say I had a fantastic time at sunwolf, as I was a single traveller exploring Canada, I was made very welcome and very at home al the way through my stay, I have travelled a lot in my time and this place is a must, eagle watching, rafting good food and the owners are the friendliest people u could meet, thanks again guys. Nathan

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Owner at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2011

Hey Nathan!

Great to hear you had a good time here at Sunwolf! We're open year round and if you're ever back in this part of Canada, drop on in again!

Take care!

Team Sunwolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We rented two cabins at Sunwolf and they were equally nice. The sheets were great and the gas heat was without fault. The hottub at the office area was large and well maintained, and the owners kept the main area open so that we could change back to street clothes in comfort, and socialize by its wood-fired stove.

Earlier in the day we went on the Sunwolf eagle-rafting tour. I'd recommend going a bit later in the season, as we saw "only 12-15 eagles, but that's more than we'd see in a day back home, and the leisurely raft trip down the river was great, all by itself. Our guide (and one of Sunwolf's owners), was Andrew Slater, and as it was just the guide and the four of us, we were able to ply him with tons of questions about his training and experience (more than 10 years) and he was able to answer all our eagle questions.

Breakfast at Fergie's Cafe, on site, was delicious, and the chef/manager was very accomodating. She prepares her own bacon, salami and sausages, and her smoked salmon, which we had, was fabulous. Heads up -- Fergie's is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays and it is never open for dinners. The Nest is a nearby restaurant that came recommended by the Sunwolf owners for dinners and excellent desserts.

The Sunwolf owners were marvelous and run the entire operation themselves; they were all gracious, informative and accomodating. We're definitely planning on coming again.

Room Tip: Our unit (Cabin 1) didn't have a window facing the river, but our son's (Cabin 2), did. His...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Owner at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Hey wavesplasher!

We're really glad you enjoyed your time here at Sunwolf. Since you've been,m the Eagle numbers have increased dramatically! Thanks for the very informative and positive review. We hope to see you again soon and take care!

Team Sunwolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

A group of us recently got to experience our first eagle viewing float tour & it was amazing! The Sunwolf owners & guides were very friendly & knowledgeable, with a true passion for the outdoors. They provided all of the necessary boots, jackets & gear to keep us safe and dry. I can honestly say I really enjoyed this authentic experience and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to witness eagles in their natural environment, including all of the salmon and other fish swimming in the river! We will definetly be coming back in the summer to try white water rafting!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VasquezRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Owner at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thanks for the great review! We're pumped you guys had a good time, and we'd love to take you back down the creek maybe in the summer for some rafting! Enjoy the rest of your winter!

Cheers,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackendale
3.6 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
5.1 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
4.3 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#4 of 8 in Squamish
184 reviews
21.7 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,953 reviews
23.8 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwolf

Address: 70002 Squamish Valley Road | PO Box 244, Brackendale, Squamish, British Columbia V0N 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish > Brackendale
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackendale
Price Range: £68 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunwolf 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunwolf is situated at the confluence of the Cheakamus and Cheekye Rivers in the beautiful Coast Mountains of British Columbia. With over 5 acres of grassy woodland and stunning mountain views, Sunwolf feels wild and remote yet is only an hour from the bustling metropolis of Vancouver. Our twelve cozy cabins, which line the river banks, are perfect for a romantic escape, a family gathering or anyone who fancies a luxurious retreat in the heart of nature. Nearly all of our cabins are equipped with cooking facilities but why not really take it easy and eat your breakfast and lunch at our fabulous on site cafe, Fergie's Cafe (rated on TripAdvisor as the best restaurant in Squamish). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sunwolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwolf Brackendale, Squamish, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing