We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay”
Review of Sunwolf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunwolf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackendale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We rented the entire site (12 cabins) for a weekend family reunion. Sunwolf is situated in an outdoor recreational community and so there were lots of activities for everyone--from the very young to the grandparents within 10 km. Several pleasant hiking tours to lakes nearby and the Gondola were popular. What was particularly attractive about the Sunwolf site for our purposes was the Sunwolf Lodge which, with its indoor large room with kitchenette, and its outdoor (covered) deck, was a perfect facility for meals and socializing for 40-50 people including three dinners. The BBQs are great cooking machines--not just for dinner but breakfast too. Plenty of utensils and plates. The cabins were very clean and well provided with tables, chairs and bedding. The staff was wonderful, helpful and thoughtfully left us alone. Our family has been holding reunions for nearly 40 years (in various locations) and the general consensus was--Sunwolf is the best!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Garrett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review.

It is so rewarding to read that you found Sunwolf the best location for your family reunions. Our team appreciates your feedback and we hope to see you soon again next year.

Happy Summer,
Sunwolf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you want to have a rafting experience that you will never forget, go with these guys! I had the pleasure of doing the Elaho River with Sunwolf 4 years ago, second time around and the experience was just as amazing! The Elaho River is serious, angry in spots. The rapids are class 3/class4, through 18km of some of the most amazing scenery. Between sections named "the Devils elbow" and "Mike Tyson", you have a chance to meander along, catch your breath, slow the heart rate down and enjoy the incredible waterfalls cascading from the glacier on the Weeping Wall, the rugged peaks of Mt. Kailey, the trip has everything.

Additionally, after the cliff jumping (not super crazy, its more of a ledge), which is VERY refreshing...they pull up to their own island where lunch is on the grill. They offer salmon, chicken or vegetarian (stuffed red peppers, they looked REALLY good!) . I recommend the salmon, I had the chicken the second time, but I did wish I had chosen the salmon. The lunch is timed well, they have chips and salsa, veggies and dip, then the salads, and then the main event. WARNING, desert is a giant chocolate chip or double chocolate chip cookie the size of your head! I couldn't resist, I had the double chocolate chip...had a hard time getting back into the life jacket without making a few adjustments!

Our guide Whitney was an absolute delight. Her knowledge of the area was excellent, and I ask a ton of questions. She is extremely comfortable on the water, she made sure that everyone in our boat had massive grins from ear to ear, lots of paddle high fives!

In closing, these guys/gals really care about what they do and it shows. The owners Jess & Jake have really created an experience that is seamless from start to finish. You finish back at their beautiful cabin strewn staging area in Paradise Valley, enjoying a bite from the delicious fruit plates and watching the photos from the experience that has just been burned in your psyche!

Just go, enjoy, and take full advantage of the best rafting outfit out there!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Morad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this long & wonderful review.

We appreciate your feedback.

Happy Summer,

Your Sunwolf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A great escape for an overnight or weekend. Dog friendly and located close by a few decent eating options. Bed was comfy and the cabin clean. It would be great if they updated the outdoor furniture ..the picnic tables are getting tired.
Look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to read that you found our beds comfy, cabin clean, and appreciate us being dog friendly. Squamish is the outdoor capital of Canada and pets & wildlife is a huge part of this area, we like to support this culture.

Thank you for giving us feedback on our furniture and picnic tables - the good news is, we are slowly but surely getting our place renovated and more up to date.

We hope to see you soon again.

Your Sunwolf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Guide was a pro, rapids were challenging, and the outfit was extremely accommodating. Visited for a bachelor party and it was a home run. The food was homemade and delicious too. Highly recommended, especially for a bachelor party or family trip

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RusselT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for your great rafting review.

Our guides had as much fun with your group as you nicely write about. We like to think that all of our rafting trips are suitable for anyone who is seeking adventure and a memorable experience they can come back to in the future.

We also appreciate your feedback on the great work that our kitchen team does at Fergie’s Cafe, they take pride in their “real” cooking and "happy" stomachs is what they are after.

Have a happy summer.

Your Sunwolf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I work at a hotel at the front desk, so finding new and great adventures to recommend to guests is one of my main priorities. This river rafting trip did not disappoint! Was a beautiful, warm, sunny day, we had some great instructors, the rapids were exhilarating and by the end of the day we all felt a part of a team, when you row together you stay together!

The lunch in the middle of the ride was delicious, homemade and fresh!

Could not recommend this place more!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kimber269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your amazing review.

Having feedback from co-professionals is always welcome and we pride ourselves with providing our guests with, as you nicely worded, exhilarating experiences.

We are pleased to know that you liked our guides, homemade food @ Fergie’s and Sunwolf a nice place to be.

We hope to see you soon in near future.

Your Sunwolf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for just 3 nights at Sunwolf. The owners made us feel incredibly welcome.
The cabin was very comfy and although close to our neighbours certainly didnt feel overlooked. The whole area feels so relaxing, and the views are beautiful. We enjoyed are stay so much we would definitely recommend it and stay again. Its far enough from the city, we hired a car, but close enough to pop back if you chose too. Its simple and pure and we found our stresses disappeared the moment we got out the car.
Oh and Fergies cafe.... amazing

Room Tip: Not necessary, we were in 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleywfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you kindly for your great review.

It is "balsam for our ears and eyes to read that you found Sunwolf area relaxing, our cabins comfy and Fergie’s cafe amazing.

We appreciate your recommendation efforts and are looking forward to meeting you soon again.

Your Sunwolf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our second time back and a big THANKS for a great weekend (June 7-9). We were a group of 18 and had 10 cabins. Cabins and grounds are great and the entire staff is super friendly. We also took a full day white-water rafting trip and it was a great experience for us all. Again - guides and staff were excellent and made us all feel comfortable and safe. We had breakfast at Fergie's and again the staff did well, with a surprise visit of 18 at 9 Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review.

We love to see similar faces coming back to Sunwolf and it makes us very happy to learn that you think of our team as “super friendly." We thought the same of you on the rafting trip as well as during your overall stay.

We agree, Sunday mornings can get very busy at Fergie’s and we hope things will get much easier once we renovate our kitchen...............shhhhhhhhhhhh, coming soon.

Enjoy your 2014 summer.

Your Sunwolf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackendale
3.6 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
5.1 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
4.3 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#4 of 8 in Squamish
189 reviews
21.7 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,974 reviews
23.8 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwolf

Address: 70002 Squamish Valley Road | PO Box 244, Brackendale, Squamish, British Columbia V0N 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish > Brackendale
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackendale
Price Range: £66 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunwolf 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunwolf is situated at the confluence of the Cheakamus and Cheekye Rivers in the beautiful Coast Mountains of British Columbia. With over 5 acres of grassy woodland and stunning mountain views, Sunwolf feels wild and remote yet is only an hour from the bustling metropolis of Vancouver. Our twelve cozy cabins, which line the river banks, are perfect for a romantic escape, a family gathering or anyone who fancies a luxurious retreat in the heart of nature. Nearly all of our cabins are equipped with cooking facilities but why not really take it easy and eat your breakfast and lunch at our fabulous on site cafe, Fergie's Cafe (rated on TripAdvisor as the best restaurant in Squamish). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sunwolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwolf Brackendale, Squamish, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing