We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient with good views”

Gestrand Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gestrand Bed and Breakfast
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Convenient with good views”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We Stay at the gestrand B&B on 3 September and it was excellent. We had a room at the front with aview of the main shipping channel where the bed is set up to face the window so we lay in bed watching boats (how sad is that). The B&B was spotless and was look after by a lovely Lithuanian young lady. Breakfast was very good with fresh rolls, excellent coffee and eggs cooked to order. There are plenty of eateries close by. Walking to the beach is an easy stroll. The benefit for us was it is only a few hundred yards to the Hook of Holland/Harwich ferry.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have views to the shipping channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I'm not sure who the owners/staff were but we were greeted by a charming Lithuanian lady who appeared to be helped by her mother. The overall feel of the property was of modernity and the fixtures & fittings were of a high quality. There were nice little touches all around e.g. real carnations in our room. I don't think we've ever had a room where the (really comfortable) bed was butted up to the picture window but that afforded the most wonderful view of the New Waterway and its passing maritime traffic. In the morning a delightful breakfast was served and the Lithuanian lady asked if we would like boiled eggs and to what consistency. She served them to perfection in line with our request. The only downside was that there were some cramped spaces in our room, particularly the toilet which was very cramped.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the added interest of views of the New Waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dumpling54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

As an amateur shiphotographer, I am always on the lookout for good locations with accommodation. This ticks nearly all the boxes; it is about 200 metres from the New Waterway and you can also see traffic in & out of Maasvlakte.
Not sure how many rooms there are but mine was spacious and spotlessly clean. The shower room was also very clean and a decent size.
Had a beer or two on the outside terrace with free WiFi
Excellent continental breakfast in living room.
I will definitely be back when on my next photo tour.

Room Tip: If interested in shipping, ask for 1st floor front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biffo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We came by bicycle from the South of Holland to the far West of the harbour of Rotterdam, got a fast ferry at Maasvlakte and were (nearly) just in front of Gestrand at the Hoek van Holland. It's a newly and nicely renovated B&B with a view to the water and the harbour both from a terrace or - if the weather is not too good - from a living room. We were warmly welcomed after a long day on the bike, we're given tips where to eat out and enjoyed afterward a glas of wine from the house selection. Before heading off the other day, we enjoyed an excellent breakfast. Only min point: our room on the groundfloor was quite small. Overall to be recommended.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoek van Holland
4.6 mi away
Fletcher Hotel
Fletcher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Naaldwijk
100 reviews
7.6 mi away
NH Atlantic Den Haag
NH Atlantic Den Haag
#14 of 67 in The Hague
1,076 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Elzenduin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Noordzee
Hotel Noordzee
#2 of 6 in Hoek van Holland
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
MIJN Badhuis
MIJN Badhuis
#3 of 6 in Hoek van Holland
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Hoek van Holland
Grand Hotel Hoek van Holland
#4 of 6 in Hoek van Holland
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gestrand Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gestrand Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gestrand Bed and Breakfast
Address: Seinpad 51, 3151 HP Hoek van Holland, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Hoek van Holland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hoek van Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gestrand Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gestrand Bed And Breakfast Hoek Van Holland, South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing