We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality B&B”

Gestrand Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoek van Holland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gestrand Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Very impressed with this bed and breakfast. It had clearly been decorated and fitted out very recently and was extremely smart and well equipped. Breakfast was also high quality with decent portions and the views out the front to the water were very striking.

The only reason I haven't scored this an "Excellent" is that the size of the rooms we had (we stayed here on two separate evenings during our travels) was that they were rather small, but otherwise it cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank The_Cubs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

I booked this B&B after reading everyone's comment, and was not disappointed.
The B&B was perfect for everything. Very very friendly staff, freshly cooked breakfast, very close to seaside/port, very reliable WiFi, and most importantly spotlessly clean and nicely decorated.
We stayed in a room on the ground floor (twin beded room), but the beds were very comfortable.
Car park spaces are available at the front of the B&B. Common kitchen is available for all guests, and drinks/snacks are also available at reasonable price.
There are shops/restaurants near the train station (20min walk?), and is a nice seaside restaurant in a few minute walk from the B&B.

Because we stayed on the ground floor and close to common room, you may hear their chat slightly. In the second day, there were two Chinese business men who were loudly talking each other until 11pm!! So, I had to ask them to be quiet (and this was not B&B's fault).

Overall, I am fully satisfied with this B&B, and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mm_kiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Gestrand Hotel B&B was flexible in working with our arrival time, meticulously clean, and well located for our visit with family living nearby. Ingrid, the B&B manger, was welcoming and very gracious. She took pride in preparing and serving, as she called it, a 'perfect breakfast'. We enjoyed the views of harbor traffic and the coastal location. The hotel has a common room for relaxing or gathering with friends. Beer, wine, and snacks are available for honor-system purchase. The hotel is located a short distance from the end-of-the-line train stop. Although the hotel rents bicycles, they were too heavy for us - we preferred the bicycles from the city's bike store.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We Stay at the gestrand B&B on 3 September and it was excellent. We had a room at the front with aview of the main shipping channel where the bed is set up to face the window so we lay in bed watching boats (how sad is that). The B&B was spotless and was look after by a lovely Lithuanian young lady. Breakfast was very good with fresh rolls, excellent coffee and eggs cooked to order. There are plenty of eateries close by. Walking to the beach is an easy stroll. The benefit for us was it is only a few hundred yards to the Hook of Holland/Harwich ferry.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have views to the shipping channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I'm not sure who the owners/staff were but we were greeted by a charming Lithuanian lady who appeared to be helped by her mother. The overall feel of the property was of modernity and the fixtures & fittings were of a high quality. There were nice little touches all around e.g. real carnations in our room. I don't think we've ever had a room where the (really comfortable) bed was butted up to the picture window but that afforded the most wonderful view of the New Waterway and its passing maritime traffic. In the morning a delightful breakfast was served and the Lithuanian lady asked if we would like boiled eggs and to what consistency. She served them to perfection in line with our request. The only downside was that there were some cramped spaces in our room, particularly the toilet which was very cramped.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the added interest of views of the New Waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dumpling54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

As an amateur shiphotographer, I am always on the lookout for good locations with accommodation. This ticks nearly all the boxes; it is about 200 metres from the New Waterway and you can also see traffic in & out of Maasvlakte.
Not sure how many rooms there are but mine was spacious and spotlessly clean. The shower room was also very clean and a decent size.
Had a beer or two on the outside terrace with free WiFi
Excellent continental breakfast in living room.
I will definitely be back when on my next photo tour.

Room Tip: If interested in shipping, ask for 1st floor front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biffo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We came by bicycle from the South of Holland to the far West of the harbour of Rotterdam, got a fast ferry at Maasvlakte and were (nearly) just in front of Gestrand at the Hoek van Holland. It's a newly and nicely renovated B&B with a view to the water and the harbour both from a terrace or - if the weather is not too good - from a living room. We were warmly welcomed after a long day on the bike, we're given tips where to eat out and enjoyed afterward a glas of wine from the house selection. Before heading off the other day, we enjoyed an excellent breakfast. Only min point: our room on the groundfloor was quite small. Overall to be recommended.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoek van Holland
11.7 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
958 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Elzenduin
11.9 mi away
Carlton Beach
Carlton Beach
#1 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
NH Atlantic Den Haag
NH Atlantic Den Haag
#14 of 68 in The Hague
1,151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Noordzee
Hotel Noordzee
#4 of 6 in Hoek van Holland
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
MIJN Torpedoloods
MIJN Torpedoloods
#2 of 6 in Hoek van Holland
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gestrand Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gestrand Bed and Breakfast

Address: Seinpad 51, 3151 HP Hoek van Holland, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Hoek van Holland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hoek van Holland
Price Range: £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Gestrand Bed And Breakfast Hoek Van Holland, South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing