We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house, lovely hosts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Szabadsag Utca

Main view from front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main view from front of house
View from viewing gallery behind house Evening from the hill
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Main view from front of house
View from viewing gallery behind house
Evening from the hill
View from front balcony area
view from the lakeside
view from the lakeside
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Fonyod, Somogy County, Southern Transdanubia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mark W
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely house, lovely hosts”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is our third time in Fonyod and our third time staying with Frank and Kathy. As always we received a lovey warm welcome in their lovely house. Both Frank and Kathy are excellent cooks, from breakfast with fresh rolls and fruit to traditional dishes like leckto, and Frank's spag bol.

Kathy keeps the house absolutely spotless and the rooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated.

The house itself offers beautiful views over Lake Balaton and Fonyod centre is about a 15 minute walk down the hill, past the spookily deserted Hotel Fonyod.

Fonyod centre offers the usual range of small shops and access to the lake, which you have to pay for. However, if you travel about half a mile south you can access the lake for free and enjoy excellent food and drink at Kopi and Erica's buffet called Ezusthullam Bisztro.

The house is a great base to use to explore the surrounding area. We have even been to Budapest on the train from the local station. Frank and Kathy have great local knowledge and are lovely hosts.

I would thoroughly recommend this rental whether as a couple, family or large group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food
Liked least: NOthing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thanks Mark it's always a pleasure to have you here
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Oakham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay ... in fact a real treat!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were treated as 'family' and nothing was too much trouble. Frank and Kathy made us so welcome - their local knowledge is invaluable and the food is first class.
Accommodation is generous with very large rooms and modern bathrooms. The position of the house gives wonderful views over the lake and beautiful area.

Fonyod is a great base, with lots of local shops, restaurants and cafes.... one can enjoy the beauty of Lake Balaton, but Budapest is only a train ride away (perhaps for an overnight stay). Older EU travelers(65+) can use the public transport free of charge with the exception of 'Express' trains where a supplement is payable.

We would not hesitate to return to this wonderful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts and their hospitality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Thanks for your review, we are very pleased we have delivered what we promise, this is an unknown jewel in Europe and more people should give it a try. We will make sure you have a great hoilday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redelaine
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for 7 nights and can not fault this place! The hosts, Kathy and Frank make you feel welcome from the moment you step out the airport.
Their house is beautifully kept, very comfortable, clean,and spacious. The food is to die for, traditional all the way.
Nothing was ever too much trouble.
Having never been to Hungary, their knowledge on the best places to go was exceptional, they even helped me with the language. The location of their house is fabulous, close to the beautiful Balaton, the twice weekly markets, or the local restaurants/shops.
I would totally recommend this place, whether it's a holiday for two or in a group! It's an absolute find!
Thankyou Kathy and Frank for an amazing holiday. I will definately be returning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
It is always nice to get a great review and as I have said before we are here to please and make sure you get more than you pay for, Hungary is not well known for holiday makers especially in Lake Balaton. But it is the unknown jewel in central europe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René V
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2018
Thank you Rene and Family, you were perfect guests and we would love to see you again in the future
Frank and Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Vielen Dank für Ihre Rezension, Sie waren großartige Gäste, um in unserem Haus zu bleiben. Wir hoffen, dass Sie wieder zurückkommen ..... Frank und Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worms, Germany
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you for a wonderful review. There is not much to say other than it was a pleasure to have you here in Fonyod. We were a little interested to see how 4 adults with 7 children would work out, but they were a fantastic family. Hope you can return sometime.
Frank and Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing