We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff, great pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great staff, great pool.”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had a lovely 3 day break over the new year period. From reservations, check in, check out, bar staff, house keeping everything was fantastic. happy, positive staff.
Our only negative was air con didnt operate well prob due to age of room we were in.
we have booked again for the new year period as they put on a fantastic family night NYE. We also loved the pool and close proximity to beach.

Room Tip: choose one pool side if summer time, as airport side balconies are too hot to sit and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear tanya f, Thank you for your feedback and review on our resort I have passed on your feedback to all of our staff and it was very well received. I have contacted an external air-conditioning technician to check the unit you stayed. We look forward to having you return at the end of the year. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    192
    142
    97
    58
See reviews for
182
261
22
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I read the reviews after I booked and thought omg what have I done (before the three below) ...but I think it's a great place to stay, we booked via wotif.. 4 days before we arrived and in peak season..still good value ...we scored a renovated hotel room at the side of the middle tower. Yes Marcoola is well away from the massive full on holiday trafficked places like moolooolaba and that to us is a good thing..across the road has everything you need even a toy shop should you need it :-) I don't agree with the below comments about the games room...your children...you entertain them not the hotel...but then.. I'm one of those that would like some adults only pools and in fact resorts. (Sorry parents but not everybody loves your kids) .the pool reminded me of south bank...but 7pm at night it was lovely..cheap meals at the scubar only ruined by some local with a big mouth but you get that... I have only one complaint about the room..There was some weird noise that woke me at 1am on first night which continued every 30 seconds for rest of stay...Much like a fridge cycle. bought some ear plugs at the awesome chemist across the road fingers crossed they block it out..Will tell reception on way out.. And planes? Heard 2 in 48 hours...hardly worth a mention.(and I live under flight path in Brisbane) .. Definitely would stay here again. Ps. Resorts have many visitors 365 days a year.... that's a lot of taste to cater for.....cut some slack I say :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyl655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear Tracy L, Thank you for your review and feedback you have very eloquently expressed an opinion that is refreshing and well received. You will always be welcome here on the Sunshine Coast. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda Cynon Taff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

After reading the reviews the evening before our trip, I must admit I was a little worried. But upon entering our standard room we were very pleased. The view was fantastic, we spent time every morning and evening looking over the ocean.
We participated in the Time-share (no obligation) meeting, and received a bottle of vino & $150 hotel voucher (used on 2 x Australia Zoo tickets & Seafood Cruise).
Staff were a delight. Jenny on reception was so helpful and friendly, she took the time to help us with our bookings and was always on the ball!
Lovely pool, heated but still refreshing on a hot day. Plus a quiet beach on the hotels doorstep, beautiful scenery.

We had a lovely stay and went home completely relaxed!

Thank you Ramada Marcoola

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMarieLangton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien K, Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Dear Lisa-Marie, Thank you for your very favourable review on your recent stay here at Ramada Marcoola Beach. We are glad you had a relaxing time and took up the option of the Time Share presentation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Marcoola Beach in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camp mountain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I booked using a spreets voucher as had no idea where Marcoola was. Didn't realise there was a small airport nearby until we were leaving. (we stayed a week) No planes heard in our unit at all, and rarely outside either. Fabulous to find a resort where the 'heated pool' is truly heated. (So many resorts turn their heater off in summer and water is like ice.) Ramadas water was fabulous pleasant temperature, kids swam until 9pm some nights. Toddlers pool is even warmer and great size and depth. All staff were very helpful and pleasant. Restaurant on site a bit pricey, (Kids should be free if an adult pays $20 or more for buffet breakfast, as they eat so little) however the food in the public bar seemed to be normal pubfood at pub prices. Our 2 room apartment was great, and had just been refurbished we were told by staff.
Beach is a very easy 20 metre walk from the pool, and is manned by lifesavers and flags. It is a 'no flags, no swimming' beach, but flags are up until 4pm. (No roads to cross which is great for those of us with children) The sea was beautiful and had waves that were great for kids, with nice areas of swells also.
The only thing we were dissappointed in, was that on the website it said 'games room' and we took this to be a 'kids' games room, being a family resort, but found it was actually a gaming/pokies room.
I would suggest the resort convert a room to a games room for kids to attract more family patrons, and include ping pong table, air hockey, and some box games/and other toys that kids can play with and interact with other kids on holidays.If it were on the same level as the ground floor, parents could then monitor their children in the pool or the playroom, whilst having a coffee at the same time. (After all, it's keeping the kids entertained that gives the parents a holiday)
Also there were only 3 or 4 genuine childrens dvds for the under 14's, and unless you were there at the time one was returned you had no entertainment dvds for the pre-teen & younger kids. A separate shelf of 20 or so child friendly dvds for the ages 0 to 14 would cost little (could be sourced 2nd hand for zip) and be really appreciated by jaded parents who need some 'me' time.
We did use the hire pushbikes, but a great idea would be to provide a small 'very local area' pamphlet/map of surrounding bike paths, so that people know where they can go with their children on the push bikes to avoid the roads.
The resort shop was tiny, and basic, and wasn't open most of our stay. However just across the street there is a bakery, convenience store, fuel supplier, chemist, and local restaurant pasta/pizza etc place, which met all of our needs.
Ten easy driving minutes to Maroochydore Cinemas was a nice surprise, and great shopping centre also.
Overall we had a lovely stay and will be back again as soon as we can. Pleasantly it took us less time to get to Marcoola than it normally takes us to get to Maroochydore from Brisbane, and a stop off on the way back at Aussie World finished the holiday off nicely for us all.

Room Tip: Our room was a corner 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom, 1 ensuite, with the bedrooms on either side of the dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Dear Margaret K, Thank you for your positive feedback and very comprehensive review of our resort and surrounding area. The Spreets voucher offer was definitely an excellent value offer and I am glad you were able to take it up. I have made a note of your feedback regarding the ‘kids games room’ and will ensure this is put forward for consideration in the New Year. I have also made arrangements for in increase selection of more genuine children’s DVD’s to be made available. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Marcoola Beach. Wishing you a happy and prosperous 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

When booking website said free upgrade to Ocean View. When we arrived we were told the upgrade is only applicable if it is available and it was not available so instead we were facing the main road - it was explained away as covered in the terms and conditions, but this was not made clear when booking and we were not happy as we were expecting ocean views.

The rooms are small, shower head & soap dispenser was broken, DVD player not programmed and no batteries in remotes, carpet stained and damaged, bottom door was broken so light comes in to the room when sleeping at night, on arrival a sales person was at the front door trying to upsell us on a tour package, we also received a note wanting us to attend a morning tea/video presentation which I only assume was for a dodge time share investment, towels were not replaced by cleaners when they attended, restaurant is overpriced and average, the area in general is an average beach location with limited amenity.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKH123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien K, Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Dear PKH123456, Thank you for your feedback. It seems from the outset not receiving your complimentary upgrade to Ocean View (that you were expecting) set the scene for the remainder of your stay as things went downhill from there. My apologies that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion, however, I can confirm that during the peak summer holiday period we have never made or would never make an offer for complimentary upgrade to Ocean View on any websites including our own. I am sure though if it were not such an extremely busy time and if there was the availability of an Ocean View hotel room we would have done our very best to look after you. Your points regarding shower head, soap dispenser, DVD player, remote control and lack of towels would have all been rectified with a phone call to reception unfortunately I cannot confirm if you chose to make that call and seek assistance as you didn’t mention it in your review. I can confirm that Wyndham Vacation Resorts is one of the largest Vacation Ownership companies in the world and we do from time to time approach guests with a very attractive property based offer to attend a presentation, it is absolutely not a ‘dodge time share investment’. PKH123456 all feedback can be constructive and I will discuss your comments with my team. I would be very happy to welcome you back in the New Year and ensure you get your complimentary upgrade to Ocean View please do not hesitate to contact me thru reservations@ramadamarcoola.com.au . Wishing you successful 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marcoola hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I have been coming to surfair on and off since the late 80's, its fantastic, why is the "family " resort failing in the food area. Drifts is not family food. Teeny weeny oysters that are overpriced. Just provide wholesome family priced food. The previous concept was good, steak nights, Italian nights just good food. As for the rest of the resort ******* stars from me. Staff are great, see you next year .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drifti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Dear Drifti, it is fantastic that you have been a return guest to our location for so many years, well done! Thank you for your feedback on our Drifts on Marcoola restaurant and our apologies that the size of our oysters were not up to your expectation we will be discussing this with our supplier but as you can imagine over the peak periods such as Xmas season market produce such as oysters are very much dependant on our suppliers and the price reflects demand. Having stayed with us you will know that our Food and Beverage operator has recently spent a significant amount on updating both the restaurant and the tavern- sports bar areas and in line with this we have located the family priced meal options thru in the sports bar where we are still providing the Italian nights etc for our guests and local patrons. Thank you again for your continued support and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Just returned from a one night stay at the Ramada and have a mixed review for you. On arrival everything was great, we were able to check in early and thus enjoy a little more time by their wonderful pool and a stroll along the incredibly conveniently located Beach.

However, when we went up in the lift to our room, what greeted us when the doors opened was a grubby cupboard left open with soiled sheets and rubbish tumbling out. This turned out to be the cleaners cupboard - but still not a great impression to start with. Our room, double bed with ocean view, was lovely and clean, so that remedied everything very quickly.

We had a fantastic Dinner at the restaurant, but it was quite pricey especially because we drank cocktails (which weren't too great) and we got good night's sleep despite being at the end of the Airport runway - we didn't hear a thing!
The Buffet Breakfast ($25pp) was very disappointing, especially after such an amazing dinner, we had high hopes but alas, we were confronted with horrible rubbery mushrooms, limp bacon, cold beans, and tinned fruit. Hash Browns were ok though...but not ok enough to justify $25.

In summary I'd say, stay here if you'd like a short stay relaxing by the pool and a beach stroll, it really is a great location and the airport noise is really not an issue. But yeah, avoid the lure of the Buffet Breakfast and be mindful it might be a little grubby round the edges.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puzzle54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Dear Puzzle54, Thank you for your review and feedback we appreciate your positive and constructive points. I have passed your feedback onto our Food and Beverage team in relation to your experience at breakfast and we do have a cheaper pub meal option available in our sports bar for dinner. In relation to our physical location we are not actually located at the ‘end ‘of the Sunshine Coast airport runway. Yes we are located only 5 min from the airport however the runway runs in a north to south direction parallel to the coast we are located between the coast and the eastern side of the runway probably midway along so our location does not allow for any planes to over fly our property when arriving or departing which significantly reduces any noise issues from the airport especially if you have an ocean view hotel room or apartment. Thank you again and we wish you a happy and safe New Year period and hope to welcome you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marcoola
15.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Marcoola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
13.7 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
4.8 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach

Property: Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
Address: 923 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Surfair on Marcoola Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront, Ramada Marcoola Beach Resort is situated right in the heart of the Sunshine Coast, offering the perfect base to explore the Sunshine Coast's many attractions. The resort has a superb beachfront location, with the pristine surf of Marcoola Beach right on your doorstep. Stay in a self-contained apartment or hotel room, and enjoy Marcoola Beach - the Sunshine Coast's best-kept secret. With a 60m lagoon-style heated pool, children’s pool, resort shop, bistro, bar, bottle shop, local surf beaches (Patrolled), a multitude of iconic family attractions nearby (Australia Zoo & Eumundi Markets to name two), Ramada Marcoola Beach is the ultimate family resort. Boasting breath taking views of the coast line or the hinterland plus direct access to 14km of walkable beach front Ramada Marcoola’s location and facilities will offer an ultimate beach side holiday. Ramada Marcoola Beach is the perfect place to take a relaxing short break or set up a base to explore all the coast has to offer. Do not hesitate to contact us to access some of the best value holiday deals on the Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Hotel Marcoola
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Noosa
Surfair Marcoola Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing