We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Room, Surly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Vientiane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dirty Room, Surly Staff”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The room was hot and dirty, the bathroom small and poorly designed (the towel rack sits right over the toilet).

We stayed for three days. On two days the room wasn't cleaned at all, on the third day, one bed (out of two) was made, but no other cleaning was done. And the door was left open by the cleaners. When we told reception about this, they blamed the door.

Generally, the staff were surly, unhelpful, and clearly didn't want to be there.

After our departure, we realised we'd left two items int the room. For many days we left messages at the hotel, which were never returned. When we finally got through to the hotel, they refused to put us through to lost and found. You read that right - they refused to let us talk to lost and found, saying they were too busy.

The Ramada Marcoola is clearly the sort of hotel that just doesn't give a damn anymore. It's just stopped trying. They don't care about your business, And you know what - you shouldn't give it to them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Royal_Sampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    192
    143
    98
    58
See reviews for
182
262
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have spent 5 nights at the Ramada Hotel in Marcoola. We had a nice room facing the see (403). The rooms are clean not too big.

The hotel is only 5 mins away from the airport (Bus N° 622) without any noise problems. The Hotel is a bit isolated; there is a shop, coffee place and pharmacy in front of the hotel but nothing else. Count 30 mins to Mooloolaba and 45 mins to Noosa with the Bus. There is a bus stop just in front of the hotel (620 and 622) called Sunset strip. Of course it is much better to have a car in this region.

The pool is very clean and warm and the sea is 2 mins walk from the hotel. The beach is calm and beautiful. There is surveillance from 9 am to 5 pm on a small portion of the beach. The sea is very agitated and children should not be left unattended.

We tried the restaurant once for breakfast and dinner but we didn't find it great. The breakfast was only OK, and they took lots of time to serve dinner. So for the rest of the journey we have eaten outside. There was no animation in the evening; the bar was very quiet/ empty.

The service was great. The reception desk did a great work to find solutions to our problems. Finally if you plan to do any activities (sightseeing, etc.) don't hesitate to ask them: they have great contacts and competitive rates.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building 403 - 407
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DariaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed in a standard hotel room for 3 nights. Was a very comfortable and spacious room facing the main road, sun was very warm in the afternoon but we were out most of the day when sun at its worse, having a balcony to sit and watch the afternoon storms roll in was great and we didn't mind the occasional plane landing either. Scubar seems to have changed its menu and no longer has its reasonable priced meals which was a shame.

On a side note: I would like to see all resorts implement a no hold sun beds with a towel policy, it's so frustrating not knowing how long before you can find a free one. There's plenty of space so I would like to see more beds as well. I recently stayed in hunter valley, they had plenty of beds and the bar served basic snacks and drinks in plastic ...they did a roaring trade all day, I would think ramada could consider same in peak seasons (hunter used those beepers for you to collect) as I think they miss out on significant takings given people seem to stay around pool area for hours on end.

Overall yet again had a great relaxed visit and will be back again. Thanks Ramada.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyl655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed here for a night in November and really enjoyed the weekend. Hotel staff were very friendly, pool and bar area very relaxing and the apartment was spacious and clean with uninterrupted views to the ocean. The location was exactly what I was looking for, right on the beach yet very quiet and not too busy with tourists.
Would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz_2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights in room 3511 November 21. Spacious and clean 2 bedroom apartment with ocean views looking south. Staff are freindly and helpful. Great loaction and beaches are almost deserted. Nicely maintained resort gardens and pool. Great for the kids, pools are heated. Will definitely come back.
Peter & Kelly

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Recently stayed there for a friend's wedding in an Ocean View room. Got to the room 2519 and it was just a bit bigger than a prison cell with exposed brick painted white, a double bed and a shower you couldn't turn around in. Oh, also the carpet looked like it was orginal from the 60's/70's as well - terrible. Luckily my wife complained and we got a choice of another room which was at least bigger and had new carpet. So if you stay there I'd make sure I was in one of the new towers (we were in the original central tower). Pool area was nice and close to a beautiful surf beach, but the whole room thing really didn't start the weekend well for us. Wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the Central tower, especially 2519.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marcoola hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hi there,

I spent 3 nights at the Ramada Marcoola.

My first impression was : ouahhhhhhhh I have a balcony I was so excited because we cold see properly the Ocean...

Then I found the room neglect because the wall was dirty... a lot of details like this.

And during the night ont he ground floor I saw a cockroaches and even in my ROOM

but the pool and the view are AMAZING!

Cheers

Room Tip: Ask for the Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marcoola
15.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
495 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
#1 of 1 in Twin Waters
3,137 reviews
4.8 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
842 reviews
13.7 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach

Property: Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
Address: 923 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Surfair on Marcoola Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront, Ramada Marcoola Beach Resort is situated right in the heart of the Sunshine Coast, offering the perfect base to explore the Sunshine Coast's many attractions. The resort has a superb beachfront location, with the pristine surf of Marcoola Beach right on your doorstep. Stay in a self-contained apartment or hotel room, and enjoy Marcoola Beach - the Sunshine Coast's best-kept secret. With a 60m lagoon-style heated pool, children’s pool, resort shop, bistro, bar, bottle shop, local surf beaches (Patrolled), a multitude of iconic family attractions nearby (Australia Zoo & Eumundi Markets to name two), Ramada Marcoola Beach is the ultimate family resort. Boasting breath taking views of the coast line or the hinterland plus direct access to 14km of walkable beach front Ramada Marcoola’s location and facilities will offer an ultimate beach side holiday. Ramada Marcoola Beach is the perfect place to take a relaxing short break or set up a base to explore all the coast has to offer. Do not hesitate to contact us to access some of the best value holiday deals on the Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Hotel Marcoola
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Noosa
Surfair Marcoola Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing