We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
174
225
160
110
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
225
160
110
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadnorth towersunshine coaststaff at receptionbedroom apartmentpool areaocean view roomclose to the airportgreat poolaustralia zoomarcoola beachfamily holidaythree bedroomnoosabistroshopssurf
Filter
Updating list...
518 - 523 of 736 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Thought this would be a nice one night getaway for my wife and I. Having stayed at Ramada hotels across the world i had come to expect a certain standard and value for money. This hotel fell well short and I would say is only a Ramada by name. When we checked in we were given a room not overlooking the beach but a rooftop and parking lot. I called and asked for a room with a view and was told I should have requested this when i booked. Right... So the hotel needs to ask customers if they prefer a sea view or carpark view... We then changed rooms, but were charged an additional $15 dollars (was $20 we negotiated to $15). The next room had a sea view but was dirty and half the size, sheets had hair and stains all over them. It was getting late...we gave on on being satisfied with our room and decided to hit the pool. They boast the pool is heated at a temp of 26c. This is clearly a lie. When we got in a 5.00pm it was freezing, we managed a few minutes and got out. They boast 'dvd players in all the rooms'. Great, but make sure you bring your own. To rent 1 of their DVDs its $7.50 each. That's right $7.50. This is normally free in most hotels or very cheap. Wait... I bet you would like to have a nice sleep in, well forget that plan also! Check out time is 10.00am. 10:00am! Not 11, not 12 but 10:00. Did I mention the huge cockroaches coming out of the drains in the bathroom or the cigerette smoke that wafts through the air vents? All this and more folks and we only stayed for 1 night. That was enough. As my title says. Don't bother people. Greedy hotels with poor service don't deserve your money in these times.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrotherKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have now stayed at the Ramada Marcoola three times and each time we have never been disappointed. We had booked a 2 night deal to include a room with a balcony and sea view, bed & breakfast, a bottle of wine and an afternoon bike ride A great deal..
The rooms are quiet and comfortable with a small fridge and tea / coffee available. The towels and goodies were replaced daily. The heated pool is delightful and close to the restaurant, enabling an early swim and straight to breakfast on the terrace. The beach is directly in front of the hotel and easy access through the hotel's private gate. Reception staff are friendly and efficient. There is free car parking with extra wide spaces for 4wd vehicles.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and a sea view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I went for a three night getaway to this hotel and were really surprised at the location and hotel itself. we were right on the beach, the gardens surrounding the pool were a credit to whoever tends them, well done! i have never seen such lush green grass and it was like spongy carpet underfoot!we had 180 degree views from the lovely room, overlooking the pool one way and the local shopping strip and airport the other side. The close proximity of the airport was unobtrusive. Breakfasts were a delight, I am sure we tried most fare offered, as it was all so delicious, both the buffet and a'la carte. the bar meals from the tavern adjoined to the hotel were large and tasty and inexpensive. we were there close to Easter and had we had children with us would have been happy with the kids club on site.We would definatley stay again, close to lots of wonderful attractions too on the Sunshine coast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We managed to score really cheap rates for 2 nights and have never been to Marcoola before so we stayed over a weekend. I would say that for the cheap rates we paid, the value was "fair" however if we had paid full rates we would have been very disappointed.

As soon as you check in you are directed to the Wyndham counter where they try to convince you to attend one of their time-share-esk information sessions and you will be rewarded with a voucher. We chose not to attend. We did however receive a free bottle of wine on arrival (after talking to the Wyndham people) which was nice (but warm).

We did not use the lagoon pool but it seemed nice, and the kids playing in it seemed happy. A thing to note is that the lagoon pool is a pool shaped like a lagoon - no fake beach etc.

The staff at ScuBar and the restaurant were always friendly and the breakfast buffet is reasonable. Reception staff were also friendly but were going to charge us $5 for towel hire when the welcome pack said $2.50.

The room itself was clean and weird style but not bad (again, "fair"). The mini bar fridge did not fit properly in the cupboard and the kettle did not fit under the tap in the bathroom so it was very hard to fill to make tea if you wanted it.

What we were most disappointed in was the room service. It is only a mini-service which was detailed in welcome pack however we had a dirty pillow from day 1 that the staff did not bother to change pillowcase on and instead flipped it over and hid it under the other pillows instead. The bathroom was also not cleaned (not part of mini-service) and rubbish was not removed.

Aside from the poor room service, everything else was ~reasonable~ but not spectacular. I probably wouldn't stay at Ramada Marcoola again but if you managed to get a good price and weren't planning to spend much time in the room anyway then it may suit you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

First time we have stayed at Marcoola and first time at the Ramada. Our room was old and tired and several broken items, cracks and basically not a good standard of accommodation. Not sure about other rooms. The rooms were clean and the view across to the beach was very nice. Location was good, right on the beach and handy to other restaurants and cafes. We had breakfast at the resort one morning of the 3 and would not recommend it at all. I really think the hotel needs some attention to detail and lifting their standards. Its rare for me to be this disappointed with a hotel we choose. Would not return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinnaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews