We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
177
231
162
112
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
231
162
112
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road north tower sunshine coast staff at reception bedroom apartment pool area ocean view room close to the airport great pool australia zoo marcoola beach family holiday three bedroom noosa bistro shops surf
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel had nice view, beach and pool. Amenities lacking though. No WiFi except in main lobby of hotel. Even though the hotel says it is a business and conference center. In room booklet on hotel, it says that there are laptops or computers available, which is not true. Staff was not very helpful in this matter, in fact quite the opposite in telling me to go to a mall down the road to use a computer. Hotel is near an airport and it’s pretty standard in almost every hotel (at this price range) to have facilities to enable a traveler to check into a flight and print a boarding pass . Also , WiFi signal was very weak in lobby where it was supposed to work. Took me 45 minutes to check in because it kept timing out due to poor WiFi. Pretty unacceptable.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank JaniceTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeSaunder, General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Janice,

Thanks for your recent feedback. I am sorry to hear about the issues with the use of a computer, we certainly can assist with checking guests into flights using the PC's we have at Reception.

We do offer the free WiFI in the lobby, which can manage up to 50 users at any time, so am sorry if you had difficulty connecting.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards

Luke Saunder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a two night hotel room stay through Groupon which included breakfast, a bottle of wine and chocolates etc. The location was excellent being only two bus stops from the airport.
Pool area was very nice with direct access to a patrolled beach. We also found the fact that there was an onsite Bar/Bistro serving reasonably priced meals.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Susan-Kevin_Haigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeSaunder, General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Susan,

Thanks for taking the time to provide some feedback, and was great to hear you enjoyed your stay as part of the Groupon promotion we ran this year.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Luke Saunder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Is only a five minute taxi ride from the airport but is quiet, close to beach and bus to Maroochydore. Huge pool but no outdoor spa. We didn't bother to eat n the hotel as plenty of places to eat over the main road and a small milk bar open 24/7 Enjoyable stay

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeSaunder, General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

HI Pamela C

Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at the resort.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Luke Saunder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Defiantly not 4 star. Very small room, stains on carpet, burn marks on carpet, hanger for towels was broken and furniture on balcony was rusted. We asked to move but the resort was booked out for wedding. Rooms looked nothing like the photos

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Karissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeSaunder, General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Hi Karissa N,

Thanks for your recent feedback, and I am sorry for the issues you faced. Could you please contact me directly so I can discuss further with you the issues faced.

Regards

Luke Saunder
General Manager
MarcoolaBeach.Reservations@wyn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

very disappointed with facilities in room, room very small in comparison with other accommadation available in the area and carpet in very poor condition (needs replacing) and on a silly idea you have to remove your own rubbish

Room Tip: don't book Ramada Marcoola
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeSaunder, General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Hi Barry C,

Thanks for your recent feedback and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The room booked was one of out hotel rooms, and whilst they are comfortable, we do have apartments ranging from One Bedroom to Three Bedrooms. It is also advertised that we do not conduct daily servicing, however we do not ask that people remove their own rubbish unless they choose to do so, as all rooms are fully serviced on departure.

Please feel free to reach out directly to me to discuss further, as am unaware of the upgrade issue you have also raised.

Regards

Luke Saunder
General Manager
MarcoolaBeach.Reservations@wyn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews