We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & have booked again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Timberstone Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Clee Stanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holmes Chapel, Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & have booked again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at Timberstone and have already booked another stay! We stayed in the Dhustone Room which is a cosy, comfortable room with the most amazing comfy bed!! The en-suite is gorgeous with a fabulous roll top bath set within an oak surround with a velux window above, his & hers sinks, toilet and a separate shower. Excellent choice of toiletries which smell fab! Alex and Tracey are the most friendliest of hosts who cannot help you enough. On arrival we were welcomed with a tray of tea & biscuits and in the room there is a wide selection of teas, coffees, hot chocolate available. There is a huge selection of books/games/cd's which are available to borrow in the guests lounge/dining area. We enjoyed a great breakfast this morning - fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, tea/coffee, cereals, full english breakfast (I could go on forever, the choice was amazing). We ate at the large dining table with the other guests and had a thoroughly relaxing time and a good laugh too!! We will be back there in the middle of August but this time we will be bringing our 2 daughters who we know will have a fabulous time. We would definitely recommend Timberstone, it's hosts,food, location etc to anyone - it's lovely!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolmesChapelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
71
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We first visited in 2005 and really don't know why we haven't made the effort to return sooner! We were certainly not disappointed in any way - Tracey and Alex gave us a warm welcome and an immediate offer of tea and biscuits after our long journey. We stayed this time in the 'Summerhouse' as it was all that was available when we booked - and we were so glad that it was! Although we missed the lovely big deep bath we had last time (the only one my 6ft 5 husband has ever been able to stretch out in!) we felt like we had our own little oasis. The bed was heavenly (with a Tempur mattress like the one we have at home) and pristine white bed linen. We slept like logs - the silence was deafening!! We were blessed with some wonderful weather and it was lovely to be able to sit out on our own private deck in the evening with a book and a glass of wine and watch the sun go down. Although the shower room is small it was perfectly adequate and a nice extra was having our own fridge for drinks etc. If we visit again during the summer months we will definitely be asking for this room ! I won't go on about the wonderful breakfasts as every other reviewer seems to have already mentioned them - and every word is true.

We love all the additions since our last visit - the extension to the house, the boys and of course Tracey's wonderful dinners!! We didn't think that anything could be improved on after our first visit but they have happily proved us wrong. I can't remember the last time we had such a relaxing break - the tranquillity and lack of TV was just great - we didn't even read a newspaper or listen to the radio for 4 days. Alex and Tracey are such a lovely couple and obviously very happy with their 'lot' in life. If there is such a thing as 'laid-back enthusiasm' then they have it in bucket loads! We can't wait to return very soon :-)

Room Tip: Summerhouse for utter peace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockchickhoppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Dinners were a little pricey for what they were at £25/each. Owners (and dogs) were friendly and welcoming, rooms were OK but one of them had a lot of dog hair and a fairly large hole in the rug. Breakfast was nice, especially the fresh berries. No television available either in the room or common area. Garden is neglected.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timberstone, Owner at Timberstone Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Firstly thankyou for staying with us here at Timberstone & taking the the time to write a review. We do apologies for the dog hair on the rug in your room, it was an oversight by us and we have addressed the issue thoroughly & have new measures in place on the odd occasion we have canine guests.
The vintage Kilim rug has been removed from the room & replaced.
In our literature in the bedrooms & on our website it points out that T.V's are available on request as we have several "floating T.V's" though few people feel that they enhance the tranquility here!
We feel somewhat surprised by the comment about the garden. We have installed both an eco groundsource heatpump & a treatment plant a couple of years ago & have worked very hard to bring back to speck the sweeping lawns & new planting.
We do offer a 3 course dinner for £24.50. This includes pre-dinner nibbles, warmed fresh bread, coffee or tea or infusions , chocolates & turkish delight afterwards. We source good local, fresh ingredients & find that our guests are happy with both the quality & value of our meals. We are sorry if this was not the case for yourselves & wish we'd had the opportunity to rectify anything that you were unhappy with at the time.
We are so sorry that you don't feel you can recommend us but thankyou for recognising the level of servise that we try to provide.
Kind regards,
Alex & Tracey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Tracey and Alex's fantastic B&B is a great find! After 4 busy days at The Hay Literary Festival, we needed a peaceful overnight stay and Timberstone , right in the country was just perfect for ourselves and our two friends. Everything was superb - gracious, warm hosts, very comfortable bedrooms and generous hospitality. In the evening we felt we were at a wonderful dinner party as we sat round the table with 8 other guests, enjoying Tracey's delicious cooking combined with interesting converation.
We slept so well - only sounds were the birds and we were all very sorry to leave. We look forward to our return visit and to meeting Tracey, and Alex again - such a hardworking young couple plus their two beautiful Sons.

Room Tip: We have seen all the rooms - all to be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEZESPADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Well, right from the warmest of welcomes with tea & shortbread to the most wonderful selection from the breakfast menu & our departure Tracey & Alex could not have done any more for us. We stayed two nights with dinner booked on the first night. We started with some nibbles & a kir royale from the cocktail list. We chose a Lebanese red to go with dinner & both were excellent. After a wonderful evening chatting with our fellow guests at the communal dinning table we retired to our sumptuous bedroom & the feel of crisp cotton linen. Breakfast was equally as good as dinner with eggs benedict & some of the best sausages I have ever tasted.
Alex & Tracey certainly complement each other with their catering, wine & practical skills & have created a haven in the countryside with high quality food & hand crafted bedrooms & surroundings. We ate out at a local pub on our secound night which was good, but we couldn't help thinking we should have had dinner at Timberstone. Many thanks , Tracey & Alex, we'll see you soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stavros07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Thank you Tracey and Alex for your wonderful vision and creative courage in making Timberstone so special. We came with two small boys who loved the garden, the early supper and left us to enjoy the fabulous evening dinner or duck, asparagus and eton mess, washed down with very wine indeed. And breakfast - simply superb, the very best sausages I have had. Put all this into the wonderful Shropshire countryside, an interesting mix of people, from Australia to Southend, genuine hosting and it was a trulymemorable way to celebrate my 40th with my family but accommodated and cooked for in the lap of pastoral and gastronimical luxury; than you indeed!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guthrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Timberstone - the name is a clue -- solid natural materials built to last. The is a Sawday B@B so its not inexpensive, but you do get a quality to match the price, and hosts who aim to please. There are quirky corners, the odd low beam, chickens and very friendly dogs in the garden and two helpful boys in the house. Alex makes a good cocktail and Tracy has a fine pedigree in food and wine. We ate in one night at the big solid wood table and made good use of their well chosen wine list since no one had to drive. One of the rooms, they have five, is in the "shed" at the bottom of the garden. It is lovely with its own terrace and well planted garden. All the fabrics are good quality and cleverly co-ordinated, creams and rusty reds set off the solid wood floors beautifully. Beds are very comfortable and the bath is deep. They are a "green" family are you are invited to help save energy in the usual ways, they keep the house fairly cool but there are heaters in every bedroom if you like your air really warm, their way suited me perfectly. Tracy has peace of mind high on her agenda for her guests, she is there with advice, offers of lifts, and endless little caring gestures. I loved the quality of shampoo and shower gels she supplied. Alex is in charge of breakfast and it is very good, eggs from their own hens, good quality bacon and sausage. Their full English that I managed to eat two days running is amongst the best I have had. You can walk the Shropshire way right from the house and its a good idea to work off a three course breakfast.
Anything i would change - someone needs to do the admittedly horrible job of picking up after the dogs in the garden, how much pocket money would it take to get the boys to do it? But overall this is a first class B&B run by first class hosts. Waxlyrical Oxford

Room Tip: The garden room is cheaper and most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordWaxlyrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timberstone, Owner at Timberstone Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
It is always very rewarding to get a positive review, and we never cease to appreciate that guests have taken the time to write one.
Equally, we are grateful for all constructive comments, and will take the last point very seriously. We can only apologise for the oversight in clearing up any 'gifts' left by our dogs, or in this case chickens, and will ensure more dilligence in future.
Many thanks,

Tracey and Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clee Stanton
0.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angel House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberstone Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberstone Bed and Breakfast

Property: Timberstone Bed and Breakfast
Address: Clee Stanton, Ludlow SY8 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Clee Stanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clee Stanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Timberstone Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberstone Bed And Breakfast Clee Stanton, Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing