We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location & food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge de la Gare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge de la Gare
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grandvaux
Certificate of Excellence
Correns, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous location & food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Was 'in-between' homes recently and stayed at this lovely 'Auberge' for a couple of weeks while waiting to move into our new home .... its only gorgeous ... amazing views, great location, wonderful food and very friendly owners and staff. The restaurant is always busy so there's a great buzz in the place at lunchtime and in the evenings. The train is on your doorstep, servicing Lausanne (8 mins), Geneva (50 mins) and Berne (60 mins) ...during the day you can hear the trains pulling in and leaving the station but its a nice sound .. not like a main line train whizzing along - also they stop at 11pm so at nights is lovely and peaceful. Gorgeous walks in the UNESCO Heritage vineyards on your doorstep and the lakeside at Cully or Lutry had lots to offer in terms of water based activities and rests, bars & cafes. Great spot ... aren't I lucky that I was able to buy a house right behind it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AileenMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
73
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Enjoyed a goos short stay in this well run, small hotel next to Grandvaux station. Easy trip on local train from Lausanne and a few steps away from the station. I had what amounted to a villa in the gardens. Well equipped and very comfortable and private bedroom. Beautiful bed ! Because I stayed on the hotel closure day of Monday, I had a little difficulty in finding somewhere else to eat, as I was limited by being without a vehicle. On return to the hotel, the manager kindly offered to knock me up a really nice salad and cold meats. I am sure that on other nights, the food would have been excellent as the breakfast the next day was really delicious and just the job. Bit close to the rail line for some, which interrupted the view of the lake a little, but certainly not bothered by any undue rail noise and the location and proximity to the station, more than made up for. Excellent stay. Happy to go there again and enjoy the quiet and stylish vineyards and small villages nearby.

Room Tip: I was offered a self contained en suite in the garden, complete with private terrace and sun lounger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OurManIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a 2 night stay on lake Geneva. Based on the good ratings we booked Auberge de la Gare. We had a very warm and relaxed stay.
We slept in a new room in a separate condo in the terrain. The place was very spacious, decorated with attention to detail and with a warm atmosphere. All ameniities were there, a coffee maker, water cooker, good bathroom, comfortable bed. Extra couch. Outside there was a small deck with sun screen and table with chairs. All overlooking the lake which is beautiful, across the small little station.

Auberge de la Gare is opposite to the small station of Grandvaux. Every 15 minutes or so a train comes by, either a local train which stop or a intercity. Trains did not really disturb us. At night we slept very well.
On the other hand, the proximity to local train station is very handy. It takes 10 min to the centre of Lausanne, 25 minutes to Vevey/Montreux. Free day tickets for local train and bus was included.
We decided to do a tour by car, the scenery is very nice, little villages surrounded by wine yards. Lots of local wineries which are happy to show you around and offer tasting.

The meals at Auberge de la Gare are excellent. Outside seating is very nice, under the trees.
We had 2 evening diners, which all tasted very good, big selection of local wines. Although the hotel rooms were not all booked, the restaurant is very populair with locals and outside terrace filled every evening.
The staff is extremely friendly, all with a big smile on their face , trying to make our stay as pleasant as possible. This hotel is among 'the 100 most friendly hotels' in switzerland, and it well deserves to be!.
I can warmly recommend this Auberge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robjanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wonderful small boutique hotel, very clean with personal touches in each room, overlooks lake Geneva. Run by very charming couple. Restaurant is also worth trying featuring local fish, vegetables. We tried the fish tartar special and the filet de perche lac leman and it was delicious. As a matter of fact, our dinner and the service was so great we thought why go anywhere else the next night and decided to enjoy another dinner in the hotel. Enjoy a drink or meal out on terrace and take in the beauty. Conveniently located next to train station, but quiets down during night. Nice area for walking. Highly recommend for romantic weekend getaway!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We wanted a couple of days' destressing in an idyllic location...and arrived slightly worried that we might be disappointed, but we weren't! In the peaceful separate 'studio' room, with its sunny terrace, we awoke to stunning views from all of its 3 windows, and weren't disturbed by anyone or anything, trains included. The atmosphere at the Auberge is laid-back to the point of being almost horizontal, and we relaxed immediately. Breakfast is delicious, served on really jolly crockery, once again with those stunning views to admire as you tuck in, and the evening meals are just something else. Truly relaxing, and easy to travel around along the lakeside using the Lavaux card. The small negatives: relaxation comes at quite a price, which we knew, but it would have been nice to have been welcomed in person at some point after we'd arrived,and I had to chase up email reservations for dinner, to be sure that we had a table.There was time to chat at breakfast, but in the evening at dinner we felt a little peripheral, although the waiting staff were a delight...luckily the delicious food and the ever-stunning view kept us distracted!

Room Tip: The studio room is spacious, quiet and has the bonus of its own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hopefultraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

An unforgettable experience!
We stayed at the Auberge de La Gare for 2 days and enjoyed the friendly and warm atmosphere of this place.
The rooms are clean, nicely furnished and well equipped... and waking up with the view of the lake is amazing!
You will feel immediately surrounded by the peace and beauty of the nature outside.
The owners of the place make the real difference: they are friendly, flexible and extremely kind.
We enjoyed our time chatting with them, asking for suggestions about places to visit and things to do during our stay and they were always more than happy to talk with us.
Check out the restaurant: great selection of delicious food (tartare is a must!) and the wine... oh the wine!
You can't miss it.
We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fau13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the Auberge on a quick one night trip to visit friends who live in Grandvaux. The hotel benefits from absolutely breathtaking panoramic views of Lake Geneva, which they have maximized from the rooms and restaurant at the hotel. Our room was spacious, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom modern and renovated. But perhaps our favorite part was the interaction with the lovely owners, who didn't speak much English but were so friendly and kind to us. They clearly enjoy what they do and run a well-organized, clean and lovely hotel, albeit expensive but I suppose that is part for the course in Switzerland. Overall, a wonderful stay. If we find ourselves in Grandvaux, we will try to stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millicent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandvaux
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Rivage - Lutry
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lavaux
Hotel Lavaux
#1 of 3 in Cully
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auberge Du Raisin
Auberge Du Raisin
#2 of 3 in Cully
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
5.2 mi away
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Mont Pelerin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Gare

Property: Auberge de la Gare
Address: rue de la Gare 1, Grandvaux, Bourg-en-Lavaux 1091, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Bourg-en-Lavaux > Grandvaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grandvaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de la Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge de la Gare is ideally situated at the heart of the vineyards of Lavaux and enjoys a panoramic view over Lake Geneva. The Lavaux Vineyard Terraces have been included in the UNESCO World Heritage List since 2007, in recognition of their cultural and natural value. The Auberge is ideally suited for both business and leisure stays. The 5 large bedrooms have been attributed 3 stars, and each offers a warm and individual welcome, as well as being fully equipped with en suite bathroom, free WI-FI, flat screen television and tea and coffee facilities. Parking is available at the front of the Auberge. The restaurant and cafe, which extends onto a large terrace with views over Lake Geneva, serves local cuisine, including the regional specialties of “filets de perche” and beef tartare. The menu is regularly updated to reflect the season’s produce. Please note that our restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday, and we strongly recommend that you reserve in advance so as not to be disappointed. We serve breakfast 7 days a week to our guests. The centre of Lausanne is only 9 minutes away by train (7 km by car). During your stay at the Auberge de la Gare we will be happy to provide you with free public transport tickets which you can use in the region (Lausanne-Grandvaux-Montreux) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Auberge de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing