We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Becky C
Seattle, Washington

Wonderful B&B

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Apr 2017
Loved our stay here. It was convenient to have a car to easily get out to the smaller towns and offers free parking, and it’s right next to the train station if you want to get into Lausanne (about a 10 minute ride on the train to the main station). It’s located in a really cute residential area with beautiful vineyards cascading down the hill side (there is a tasting room that the owners can direct you to). The rooms are nice, reasonably sized and decorated in a cute country motif (and a larger comfy bed with two twins pushed together). The rate comes with breakfast each morning and they also have an award-winning restaurant for dinner that’s open Tues – Sat. The owners are very involved in every aspect of the place – and you can tell their passion for it in their friendliness, service and quality that they deliver (I don’t know if Philippe actually sleeps, as he’s the head chef for the wonderful dinner service that goes until 10 p.m. and is then out setting up for breakfast around 6:30 a.m.). And check out the winery across the street! The convenience to the train means you will hear the noise, but we found that once we closed the windows, it didn’t disrupt our sleep (we were there in September, so it was cool enough to be able to close them). We would definitely stay here again, if we’re in the area.
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £159
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £159
  • eDreams
0.8 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£136
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £136
1.1 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vue directe sur le vieux port de Lutry
£165
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £165
1.7 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£308
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £308
2.7 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £151
  • Expedia.com
    £157
2.8 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
chambre double
£127
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £127
3.2 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Swiss Chocolate Lausanne Outside Hotel Fotografch Jeronimo Vilaplana
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £109
  • Expedia.com
    £112
4.3 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
£150
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £150
4.3 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hôtel extérieur
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £194
  • Algotels
4.3 miles from Auberge de la Gare
View more hotels in Grandvaux
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
271
35
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
271
35
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station lake geneva homemade jams both nights auberge de la bread a wonderful stay excellent service restaurant wine views runs gare birchermuesli
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We have been going to the Cully Jazz Festival and staying at the Auberge de la Gare for several years now. The auberge is very well positioned and has a stunning view. The rooms are very comfortable and furnished with antiques and Raymonde's inimitable decorations. The food is excellent. But best of all is the welcome you get from Philippe and Raymonde. It is like being at home - only better because you get looked after - or should I say spoilt?!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyD376
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night and had dinner at the restaurant as well.

It was a last minute idea but a very nice surprise. This is a real village hotel run by real people who invest themselves into it.

Only 5 rooms, newly renovated, modern bathrooms, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated.

Despite being next to the train-line, you are not disturbed - unless you are very fussy about these things.

Full house at the restaurant - lots of regulars - small cosy place. Dishes are classics that follow the season. All is fresh and very well-made and tasty. Fully deserve the Gault-Millot rating. Interesting wine-list even with a few reasonably priced old vintages.

Great ambience and you really feel happy being there.

Very pleasant staff and great attention from owners.

Continental breakfast was fresh, simple and everything you need served with a smile.

Highly recommended!!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JVHAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Small local hotel that is as beautiful as it is quaint. The owners (husband and wife) could not be nicer or do enough for you to make you feel welcome. While the building itself is quite old, our room was nicely appointed and had a modern bathroom. We opted for the breakfast included, and there was a very nice assortment available every morning. The restaurant seems to draw a lot of locals as it was filled every night, we however did not have a chance to dine there. Will need to be back in town again early next year and will definitely chose to stay here.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We chose to stay here for 4 nights based on the Trip advisor reviews! If you are travelling by train the Grandvaux station , a small one is within very easy walking distance from the hotel , about two minutes in fact. Now I know what you may be thinking, if the train is nearby the noise will be a problem, in fact it is not noisy at all, the windows are also double glazed. Auberge has views across Lake Leman (Geneva).
On arrival you are greeted warmly and made to feel very welcome, we were shown to our room (5) which was very spacious plenty of storage space and a good sized bathroom, everything immaculate! There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room, we also had a table and chairs outside the room on a verandah which is nice to sit outside and enjoy some sunshine. The Auberge is a family run business which I believe is really important as there is a sense of pride and passion in the service provided. Phillipe and Raymonde are superb hosts and alway take time each day to talk to you and also assist with any enquiries you may have. Breakfast is a continental buffet with an excellent choice of cheeses, meat,boiled eggs can be cooked using a machine at the table. The breads and croissants are complemented by the home made preserves at least six to choose from, one in particular was amazing I would have loved the recipe, but it is a family recipe. Phillippe is a chef which leds me in to my next comment take the opportunity to have dinner here the Auberge has a very popular restaurant so booking is essential. Very good menu choices await and the food is absolutely amazing, local produce used, portion sizes are generous.
If you are travelling by train from Lausanne to Grandvaux there are two trains per hour on week days and one per hour weekends, the train numbers are S4 and S5.
Things to do during your stay include a vineyard tour which can be arrange through Phillippe, also there are plenty of paths to walk through the vineyards, some are quite steep, but you can always walk say to another town such as Cully not a long walk from the Auberge then catch a train back to Grandvaux. On arrival at the hotel you will get a Lauvaux card which enables you to travel on trains and buses free in the area including to Lausanne, for free for the duration of your stay including the day of departure. Other tips during your stay are take the train to Vevey only about 10-15 minutes the town here is large has good shopping etc and also they have ferries that go on the lake so that you can travel the lake and see the sights and vineyards from the lake we did Vevey to Lutry then caught the train back to Grandvaux.
We just loved our stay at Auberge de la Gare and highly recommend staying here, we would definitely stay here again. thank you Phillippe and Raymonde for your hospitality!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank tasannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stayed here one night and enjoyed a really good meal on the terrace overlooking the lake (and the railway line!) The staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful. Delicious lamb! You just have to accept that the railway line is just beneath you and see beyond it. Trains rush past but that doesn't spoil the enjoyment of the panoramic view of the lake and mountains. It was a very warm evening/night, and our room at the front of the hotel was very hot. Opening the windows wasn't an option for us due to the noise from passing trains, but it still did not bother us too much. Breakfast on the terrace the next morning was again delicious, buffet style, with excellent coffee! We will certainly return.

Room tip: Book a room at the side of the hotel if you want a quieter night!
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GP432
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews