We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
833LizG
Stamford, United Kingdom

A charming hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Sept 2019via mobile
We greatly enjoyed our stay. The charming hotel is in a lovely location by the railway station, it’s well run with excellent meals. Owners and staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Clara who looked after us so well.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£204
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £204
0.0 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £156
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Double room hillside
£138
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £138
  • Booking.com
1.1 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vue directe sur le vieux port de Lutry
£157
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £157
1.7 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £205
  • Hotels.com
2.7 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £169
  • Hotels.com
2.8 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
chambre double
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £120
  • Hotels.com
3.2 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Swiss Chocolate Lausanne Outside Hotel Fotografch Jeronimo Vilaplana
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £94
  • Priceline
4.3 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
£132
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £132
4.3 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hôtel extérieur
£208
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £208
4.3 miles from Auberge de la Gare
View more hotels in Grandvaux
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
271
36
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
271
36
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station lake geneva homemade jams both nights auberge de la bread a wonderful stay excellent service restaurant wine views runs gare birchermuesli
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2019

This is an absolutely wonderful place to stay.. The rooms are very well done and the bathrooms are very modern and extremely well done. The view is one of the best of Lake Geneva and the restaurant in great. The hotel staff treats you like family and the drive to and from the hotel through the small town streets and vineyards is something you just have to experience. This a great place for the weekend or for a longer stay

Room tip: The rooms overlook lake Geneva are wonderful
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2018

No-one was available to greet us and 3 other guests when we arrived all at the same time. We called the phone number provided by the front door and luckily, our host spoke Engilsh for us, gave us a door code and we self-checked in. Room one is pleasant and light, with traditional furniture and good sized double bed, quality linens and pillows. Bathroom has a bath with shower over. Bedroom is quite small so a bit of a squeeze to get around the bed for the person sleeping furthest from the door, but sufficient for a few days stay - I think the other rooms are bigger. The room looks out over the small lawn with hen house so expect to hear gentle cluck of hens. There is of course a railway line running along the front of the building which is a busy route. They do not run all through the night. We did not find the trains a problem. If you are troubled by noise, take some ear plugs with you.

Breakfast starts at 7am which is good for early risers. Nice tasty Bircher museli, yoghurts and fruit, small selection of cold meats and good chesse selection. Boiled eggs for those who can operate the egg boiler.

We dined on 2 nights of our stay. Small but varied menu and excellent wine selection; lots being from the local area. On each night the local perch from the lake was not available but we were offered perch imported from Ireland, which we declined. Country of origin of meat and fish served is stated on the menu. Meals on both nights were approx. 170 CHF for 2 people (£130.00 at current poor exchange rates) - 2 drinks, bottle of wine, 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 desserts.

Grandvaux is a good base for exploring this lovely wine growing area - Lusanne is in one direction, Montreux and the lovely Vevey in the other. The Golden pass (railway line) runs from Montreux up to Gstaad and beyond, which is pretty beyond words. Or spend the day on the lake on one of the may paddle steamers criss crossing Lake Geneva/Le Man. A small bus runs from Grandvaux down to Cully at the lakeside. I would recommend a stay at the Auberge and the area is great place to explore if you are unfamiliar with it.

Room tip: Room 1 is small but OK for a few days stay. Bed is large and very comfortable
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReeneHolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

We had visited Auberge de la Gare a couple of times for lunch previously so had high expectations of our 2 day stay. We were not disappointed and had a fantastic time - great food in the restaurant both evenings friendly and warm service and spotless room. We will be back !

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank S1912MTnicolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Very welcoming spot. We felt right at home. The accommodations were what we expected and the food was fabulous. We ate there two nights for dinner. Phillipe was very hospitable and kind, as was Raymond. Clara gave it that extra feel of home.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We had a truly fabulous stay. Our room was delightful with stunning view of the lake.
The food was just delicious and beautifully presented. The owners and staff could not have been more attentive. We made good use of the local free travel pass and the ease of travel on the local mini bus service or on the trains. Our only regrets were that we had not found this Auberge years ago and could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kingussie1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews