We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
fgressette
Raleigh, North Carolina

Charming and delicious

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Oct 2019via mobile
We loved our four nights and two dinners at Auberge de la Gare in tiny Grandvaux on the shore of Lake Geneva. The setting is exceptionally lovely, overlooking the village and glistening lake beyond, and featuring a terrace shaded by grapevines. There’s also a petite chicken coop occupied by a handful of fluffy exotic creatures. Philippe and Raymonde are gracious hosts. The rooms are quite comfortable, with French country decor and vintage armoires and dressers for clothes. The bathrooms and windows are blessedly modern. The inn is very much “at the station” and trains do make noise, but we quickly became accustomed to their whooshing noise as they passed. We enjoyed dinner there for two nights and appreciated the skillfully executed dishes built upon fresh, local ingredients. I especially loved mornings, when Philippe presented a delicious breakfast and I was entertained by locals stopping by for a cafe and a chat. Trains to Lausanne run every half hour or so, making it a convenient base for exploring the region.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£202
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £211
  • Agoda.com
    £176
  • Hotels.com
    £205
0.0 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
£163
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £155
  • Hotels.com
    £157
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Double room hillside
£146
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £137
  • Hotels.com
    £139
  • Tripadvisor
    £137
1.1 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vue directe sur le vieux port de Lutry
£149
  • Expedia.com
    £156
  • Hotels.com
    £150
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£206
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £206
  • Hotels.com
    £206
  • Tripadvisor
    £206
2.7 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
£118
  • Expedia.com
    £159
  • Hotels.com
    £133
  • Priceline
2.8 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
chambre double
£126
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £121
  • Hotels.com
    £121
  • Tripadvisor
    £121
3.2 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Swiss Chocolate Lausanne Outside Hotel Fotografch Jeronimo Vilaplana
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £88
  • Booking.com
4.3 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £132
  • Hotels.com
4.3 miles from Auberge de la Gare
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hôtel extérieur
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    £156
  • Hotels.com
4.3 miles from Auberge de la Gare
View more hotels in Grandvaux
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
271
36
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
271
36
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station lake geneva homemade jams both nights auberge de la bread a wonderful stay excellent service restaurant wine views runs gare birchermuesli
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2019

This is a actually a restaurant which also has some hotel rooms. The location is very special right next to a railway line and overlooking the Geneva Lake and in the middle of a wine region. Grandvaux Station is only about 100 meters away. There are three entrances to the accommodation. One via the restaurant and patio, which is also closest to the station, one from the street and one from the back. We lived in room 1 which has a certain view of the railway and the lake but what you see most is a chicken farm and vineyards. At times we were disturbed by the sound of the trains and by a fan that we believe belongs to the restaurant's kitchen. The room was normal sized and simply furnished. There is no air conditioning, no safety box but there is a TV with international channels and free wifi that worked well. There is an electric kettle in the room so you can cook tea or coffee. The hotel has no elevator but as it is on a slope you can walk in from outside to different floors. The bathroom was clean and had a bath with shower. The restaurant has a nice outdoor dining area and served a completely Ok food and had locally produced wines. However, as everywhere in Switzerland, it is incredibly expensive. The breakfast is served between 8-10 and was a smaller but very good buffet. There was everything you could wish for. It was nice to sit and have breakfast outdoors on the terrace overlooking the lake and the railway. The staff is mainly French speaking but does their best to also speak English with us who cannot speak French. Around the hotel there are lots of vineyards and so you can make very pleasant walks in the area. The hotel had late check out at 12am which we thought was very good. This is a nice small hotel with a very special location. To be in Switzerland, the accommodation was also very good value for money.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2019 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed our stay. The charming hotel is in a lovely location by the railway station, it’s well run with excellent meals. Owners and staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Clara who looked after us so well.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 833LizG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2019

This is an absolutely wonderful place to stay.. The rooms are very well done and the bathrooms are very modern and extremely well done. The view is one of the best of Lake Geneva and the restaurant in great. The hotel staff treats you like family and the drive to and from the hotel through the small town streets and vineyards is something you just have to experience. This a great place for the weekend or for a longer stay

Room tip: The rooms overlook lake Geneva are wonderful
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2018

No-one was available to greet us and 3 other guests when we arrived all at the same time. We called the phone number provided by the front door and luckily, our host spoke Engilsh for us, gave us a door code and we self-checked in. Room one is pleasant and light, with traditional furniture and good sized double bed, quality linens and pillows. Bathroom has a bath with shower over. Bedroom is quite small so a bit of a squeeze to get around the bed for the person sleeping furthest from the door, but sufficient for a few days stay - I think the other rooms are bigger. The room looks out over the small lawn with hen house so expect to hear gentle cluck of hens. There is of course a railway line running along the front of the building which is a busy route. They do not run all through the night. We did not find the trains a problem. If you are troubled by noise, take some ear plugs with you.

Breakfast starts at 7am which is good for early risers. Nice tasty Bircher museli, yoghurts and fruit, small selection of cold meats and good chesse selection. Boiled eggs for those who can operate the egg boiler.

We dined on 2 nights of our stay. Small but varied menu and excellent wine selection; lots being from the local area. On each night the local perch from the lake was not available but we were offered perch imported from Ireland, which we declined. Country of origin of meat and fish served is stated on the menu. Meals on both nights were approx. 170 CHF for 2 people (£130.00 at current poor exchange rates) - 2 drinks, bottle of wine, 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 desserts.

Grandvaux is a good base for exploring this lovely wine growing area - Lusanne is in one direction, Montreux and the lovely Vevey in the other. The Golden pass (railway line) runs from Montreux up to Gstaad and beyond, which is pretty beyond words. Or spend the day on the lake on one of the may paddle steamers criss crossing Lake Geneva/Le Man. A small bus runs from Grandvaux down to Cully at the lakeside. I would recommend a stay at the Auberge and the area is great place to explore if you are unfamiliar with it.

Room tip: Room 1 is small but OK for a few days stay. Bed is large and very comfortable
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReeneHolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

We had visited Auberge de la Gare a couple of times for lunch previously so had high expectations of our 2 day stay. We were not disappointed and had a fantastic time - great food in the restaurant both evenings friendly and warm service and spotless room. We will be back !

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank S1912MTnicolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews