We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you want to get to know the wines of the region”
Review of Lavaux Vinorama

Lavaux Vinorama
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leysin, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A must if you want to get to know the wines of the region”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

You need to visit the Vinorama if you want an introduction to the wines of the region. You can try several possible degustations, have a snack or find all the better wines of the region for sale. They have a friendly, very knowledgeable, multi lingual staff, ready to explain the wines you are tasting. Our server, Luis, displayed an in-depth understanding of the wines available there and was more than willing to share his passion for these wines. He was never condescending, and was able to explain the finer points of some of the wines we tasted to the neophytes in our little group. In all, a stellar experience! Oh yeah, don't miss the film "A year in a winemaker's life".

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AckExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    51
    14
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Who knew the Swiss are wine producers? Pardon my ignorance. We really enjoyed our sample of 3 whites and 2 reds. The kids had delicious grape juice. Tony was very charming and also fulfilled our rest for a cheese and meat plate usually only available to groups. We went for a short walk up the second stairway around back to the rail station at Rivas and enjoyed the stunning scenery. The train from Montreux to Rivas is easy to catch and it is signed well when you get off noting it is 500m to Vinorama from the station. As far as we could discern your travel is not covered by the Montreux visitor rail card past Vevey so you may need to get a ticket from Vevey to Rivas return. The only other thing to mention is the pedestrian underpass walkway is still under construction and it may be difficult to navigate for people with mobility issues.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great walk from Cully, and great wine”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we walked from Cully (we got the train from Lausanne - if you stay in a hotel, you get a free city travel card so you only need to buy a zone extension not a new ticket), through the vineyards in the Lauvaux region. it is stunningly beautiful, both with views of the lake but also the vines stacked up the hillside.

It took us about 1hr 30 mins, and when we arrived at Vinorama we were warmly greeted by the staff and shown a table - perfect timing as the rain was starting to come down. There are a few options to buy a packages (pre-selected wines with meats or cheese) or off the list (with the option to purchase cheese or wine plates). We decided to go off the list, and our host was great at talking us through the options and making some recommendations.

Top Tip - pick the smaller glass (0.5cl rather than 1cl) as you can then afford to try a few more!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bookmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wine tasting in Lavaux”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We really enjoyed our trip here! Friendly service and an interesting place where you can try local wines. Great for tourists that don't speak French well enough to call up a vineyard and ask about a tasting (they don't have standing tasting rooms/hours). We had some technical difficulty with the video, but it looked very interesting.

Delicious white wine. I'd pass on most of the red wine, and I love red wine. If you can't bring yourself to give up on the red wine, stick with the pinot noirs.

There's two parking lots, one on either side of the windy road. I'd recommend parking on the opposite side from the entrance, just so you can walk through the cool platform entrance they are building over the small waterfall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette IN
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“Nice place to taste and learn about the wines of the region”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Lausanne and we took the regional train to Rivaz. The Lavaux Vinorama is about a 10-minute walk from the train station along the busy road in the direction of Lausanne (it is well marked by signs). You can either cross the busy road or take the steps down from the parking area to the tunnel under the road.

You can either sample your choice of wines by the glass from the wine list or you can buy a sampler package and they choose the wines. We had the Chasellas package which included 3 whites and the Discovery which included 3 whites and the Plant Robert (only place this grape is planted) red. You can either get each wine one at a time or all at once. There is also a movie about the wine which is shown in English and French.

The guy who worked there was very friendly and knowledgeable without being "wine snobby."

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank azogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lavaux Vinorama also viewed

St-Saphorin-Lavaux, Canton of Vaud
 
St-Saphorin-Lavaux, Canton of Vaud
Chexbres, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Lavaux Vinorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing