We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pilatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pilatus Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hergiswil
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good hotel with great views”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Lovely views across the lake make this good hotel stand out. The rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable.

The food and service are also good.

The location is good being just a short walk from the station.

The hotel was a little tired in places, but that is not a major issue. Currently there is some building work taking place next door with a little noise from early on.

Room Tip: Avoid road side and get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishX9876Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    68
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
28
95
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We arrived at this Hotel at night in the dark. We woke in the morning to a fantastic view of the lake from our balcony that was quite breath-taking. The rooms were basic but clean and tidy. The food in the restaurant was very good. The price of drinks in the bar were very expensive, but this was Switzerland and that appears to be the case in most places.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We recently came back from a package tour organised by Shearing called ' Splendour of Switzerland. We stayed 5 nights in this hotel. Most of us got a lake view room with balcony. Beautiful scenery to go to bed and get up with. Although the food provided was different from the non tour guest, they were good qualify and the service was excellent. There is Co-op supermarket opposite the hotel and prices are reasonable. Hotel is 10 mins walk max to the train station which takes you to Lucern or change at Sarnen to Interlaken. The excursion of this package tour is limited. We bought a 4 days Tell Pass which one can use to travel by train, cable cars, boat, bus to all places in the region. We managed to visit Lucern, Riggis, Pilatus, Titlis by ourselves. We joined the free excursion to Andermatt and went up to Gemstock ourselves when the coach went back to the hotel. One get stunning view from top of Gemstock that one should not miss. Went to Interlaken and walked round lake Brienz then took the train to Meirigan to visit the amazing gorge. We also joined the excursion to Grindewald which has amazing view of the three main mountains including Jungfrau. (During our first day stay, the local train station was closed due to Easter holiday. We bought ticket to Lucern by machine. When we got to ticket office in Lucern to buy the pass, the refunded the train fare from Hergiswil to Lucern. Also we initially bought two day pass and when we decided it would be better to have a four day pass on the second day, they also allowed us to extend the pass without buying new ones. Very impressed with their service).
As a whole, this package tour is good value for money for board and lodging. But if you really want to see all the places in the region, the excursions they provided were not enough. Half day here and there were a waste of time. Lots of hanging around. One can go round using the train pass. Train is very expensive in Switzerland. It costs 230 franc for 4 days pass and 240 for 5 days. But it will cost a lot more if you buy individual tickets. However, on the down side we met the most unfriendly and unprofessional guides on our tour. Paul and George were very selective to who they talk to. They looked straight through us without saying 'good morning' or 'hello' unless we spoke to them first. One couldn't get much information from them and got the impression that they were just amateurs who filled in the gap of regular guides.

Room Tip: Good views if you can get the lakeside room. Pillows are very soft and flat. One can ask to change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I too stayed for 4 nights as part of a Treyn holiday and do not understand the negative comments in some previous reviews. My single room was spacious with two balconies and a good view of Mt. Pilatus. The food was also very good, with a particularly impressive choice at breakfast, and the staff were pleasant and efficient. Hergiswil is a fairly quiet town but there are frequent trains to and from Lucerne until around midnight. Just one warning - the price of drinks in the nightclub below the hotel is extortionate, even by Swiss standards!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just been on a trip with Treyn and this hotel was one that we stayed in on this trip.
I looked on Trip Advisor to see what people were saying about it and to be honest I was not looking forward to the holiday because of the negative comments, well this was our experience.

We arrived in the late afternoon, the receptionist were very organised and keys were ready for us to go to our rooms.
The lift was just a few feet away so no lugging suitcases up the stairs, on entering our room we were quite surprised, we were expecting something awful when in fact it was a really lovely room, we overlooked the lake with just a small balcony which was fine as we were not going to sit out there.
Room was spotless, beds were very comfortable, bathroom was again very clean.

The food which other people have said about on this site again was not that bad.
Breakfast was more than adequate, there was cereals, fresh bread, fruits etc, the only thing they didn't have was the 'full english', but we were in Switzerland not Southend !!
Our dinners were also more than adequate, we didn't have a problem with any of the food at all.

All in all we found this a very nice hotel, and just to mention there is a bar area, plenty of places to sit and enjoy a drink which we did every night, as someone else said you need to look around when you go to different hotels and see whats around.

Room Tip: We were in the new part overlooking the lake, couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbucket60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

very pleasant hotel well situated on the lakeside. Liked the idea of the outdoor pool being iced over and used as an ice rink.
Room was good with views of lake and mountains. Food was good, staff were excellent, lovely sense of humour and always helpful.
Not as expensive as I thought it would be.
Previous comments about no lounges to sit in not accurate as we found plenty of areas for people to sit and talk without having to go down to the dance area. Just explore the hotel, no it does not have a big bar area but it does not need one.
travelling into Lucerne by train is very easy and station only 5 minutes walk. Though in spring or summer you can walk the cycle path into Lucerne.

Room Tip: ask for high (3rd floor) corner room facing mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from staying a week at this excellent hotel. It was wonderful. Great location, on the shores of Lake Lucerne. We took our 11 year old granddaughter because we knew it had a swimming pool ( indoor) , but we're pleasantly surprised to find it also had an ice skating rink. No charge for these facilities for guests at the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel spotlessly clean. All in all a very memorable holiday.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glenysofhythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hergiswil
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roggerli
Hotel Roggerli
#2 of 3 in Hergiswil
64 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
#1 of 1 in Kastanienbaum
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Winkelried
Hotel Winkelried
#1 of 3 in Stansstad
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
1.8 mi away
Seehotel Sternen Horw
4.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilatus Hotel

Property: Pilatus Hotel
Address: Seestrasse 34, Hergiswil 6052, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Nidwalden > Hergiswil
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hergiswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pilatus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pilatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing