We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast in the picturesque castle next to Rhine”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diessenhofen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seminarhotel Unterhof am Rhein
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Diessenhofen
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast in the picturesque castle next to Rhine”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was the first time I received a map to follow when going to a hotel breakfast. It takes you through the green park to the picturesque castle next to Rhine, not far from the main hotel building. The hotel itself is very nice and comfortable.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Da_rt_1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hotel booked through Bike Tours Direct. We were on a self-guided tour and easily found the hotel as stated in our guide. The rooms were very clean and spacious with a large window and small patio that opened up and faced the castle. We had dinner in their restaurant which is on the banks to the Rhein. Service was great and they had menus in English. I have no idea what wine the waiter gave me, but it was amazing as was our meal. Breakfast was served buffet style with great service and strong coffee. Plenty of meat/cheese choices and of course beautiful breads in addition to other breakfast items. Loved to sit out on the large castle "patio" which overlooked the Rhein. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This hotel was booked for us for two nights by our bicycle touring company. After a long, stormy ride the welcoming staff, spacious room, comfortable surroundings, and the sauna were all greatly appreciated. The associated restaurant did not keep late hours, so we were only there for breakfasts. The breakfast buffet was fabulous and in gorgeous surroundings. The hotel is modern; the dining facilities are about a 5-minute walk through a nice park and up a hill, in a great old castle. We had a triple room and it was really spacious enough for us to spread out. Free WiFi was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Hotel rooms are in a modern building close to centre of town. Meals are provided in a wonderful castle, which is a short 5 minute walk away, through the castle grounds. Depending on weather conditions, breakfast is served outside overlooking the river Rhine.
Food excellent, and staff very helpful.
Elderly guests may find having to walk to the restaurant an inconvenience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertmcdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Beautiful hotel, clean, surrounded by gardens and the River Rhine

Collaborators and the staff is very gentle

A scrumptious breakfast in a nearby castle to the hotel

Internet is free for guests in a private room

A quiet little village, a proper rest for two days, in times of temperate climates.

Does not have an air conditioner

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AboMohammeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Are you looking for a place to have a conference, a training or having a management team meeting and what something which is not the normal standard outfit? Unterhof am Rhein could very well be the answer if you happen to be in the area of Zurich, Switzerland. The Unterhof is essentially two places - a historic castle ("Burg"), originally from the late middle ages, where the conference / meeting facilities are and all meals are served + a straight-forward no frills conference hotel in Swiss style. The conference facilities are something different – being in this castle like atmosphere is very nice and relaxing. Yet all the modern facilities are there and inside it is modern (WLAN, Beamers, etc.) with interesting modern art spread all around the place. The castle overlooks the river Rhein and being on the border to Germany, my mobile on a couple of occasions switched over to a German mobile phone operator.
Across the park – with odd plastic multicolored cows in the meadow – is the hotel part of the facilities. Simple straight forward rooms, with a big desk (for studying?) and small TV (with VHS VCR!). Small, standard bathroom. All in a typical Swiss fashion with tree-colored furniture and limited ability to shut out the daylight – there is something with the Swiss and curtains….
I like the ambience, the professional attitude of staff to arrange conferences and meetings. I also like the good food (very good!) and the ability to have a decent selection of really local Swiss wines. What I did not like about the location is that you have a 5 min. walk between the hotel and the conference facility… Bear in mind, the only reason (even if it is a good one) to go here is for conferences, meetings, seminars, etc. This is not a place for any kind of vacation or leisure travel. And certainly not a place to bring your significant other!

  • Liked — Scenery, food, conference faciliteis
  • Disliked — all the walking..., that breakfast was not served in the hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Abundance_of_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diessenhofen
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Restaurant Krone
#1 of 2 in Diessenhofen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
3.2 mi away
Landgasthof Hotel Hirschen
Landgasthof Hotel Hirschen
#4 of 6 in Stein am Rhein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#5 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Am Kellhof
2.8 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Alte Rheinmuhle
Hotel & Restaurant Alte Rheinmuh...
#1 of 1 in Busingen am Hochrhein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Kronenhof
Hotel Kronenhof
#4 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seminarhotel Unterhof am Rhein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seminarhotel Unterhof am Rhein

Property: Seminarhotel Unterhof am Rhein
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 8, Diessenhofen 8253, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Thurgau > Diessenhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Diessenhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seminarhotel Unterhof am Rhein 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient castle combined with modern hotel offering outstanding services in unspoiled environment by River Rhine and attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing