We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super special occasion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunsley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunsley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kinver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Super special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

A family party of 11 to celebrate a 70th birthday.
We took Sunday lunch in a private room and it was simply perfect. The terrace and garden are lovely, the staff were excellent and the food was superb. The building itself is wonderfully historic and the whole setting made for a very special day.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scfpmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminrobbins, Manager at Dunsley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you very much and we are so happy you had a beautiful day.
Regards Dionne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    62
    25
    19
    8
See reviews for
75
88
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Invited to a 90th Birthday Party -- The welcome by Wilf at the door and courteous staff made a good start to the celebration --the freshness of the food, choice, presentation and guidance of mine and another guests Coeliac condition was superb.
A stroll of the Victorian walled garden with fresh vegetables, fruit and herbs it was a pleasure to know where some of the food had come from, just a shame to see a grapevine laden with grapes going to waste --hopefully someone will pick and get them fermenting quickly.
The Patio, Rose Garden and ornamental pool were clean and "invited" you to explore.
Thanks Joan and family for a lovely celebration -- well worth another visit .

Room Tip: Easy to get to just of A 449 --- Kinver Village a gentle stroll, Stourbridge and Kidderminster a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fermentingtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in lovely surroundings with a very friendly village nearby. The food is great and the staff are too. The vegetables come from their walled organic garden. The rooms are also beautiful, though the bathroom could have been better cleaned (dust and hair around the edges). But do not attempt to make a complaint of any kind to the owners as they go bizarrely strange if you do. Couldn't get useful directions to the place but found same on King Edward's College site which gives you same via car, train or bus. Won't return myself due to owner reaction to complaints but would still recommend, albeit with the above caveat!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GV W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminrobbins, Manager at Dunsley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
It's a shame that you have put this on when you emailed the wrong hotel, then withdrew your original review. We have a fantastic owner who does not deserve your title, works hard and is always courteous to our guests with many thank you letters to prove it.
Sometimes it should be beware of the guest who threatens reviews when they are not true.

Dionne, Maxine, Martin,Rosie, Matt.Leslie.and the whole team of Dunsley Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had lunch at the hotel today, birthday treat for my husband. Staff were, as always, friendly, courteous, and not intrusive. One meal had to be gluten-free, and a special pudding was put on by the chef (choice of two puds!). There was a good choice of dishes, food was hot and smelled and tasted wonderful. Coffee was lovely, drunk in the lounge, and enough for two full cups each, with some chef-made fudge. Can't recommend it highly enough. Just one point: paper towels for hand drying would be appreciated as dryer not very efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Dunsley Hall Hotel was the perfect venue for afternoon tea. Fifteen of us had an extremely pleasant and very civilised afternoon tea party. The setting is delightful, tea was an elegant affair and all the hotel staff serving us were efficient, helpful and pleasant. Such a great quintessentially English way to spend an afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BadgeronAcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had a lovely afternoon. The staff were great and very helpful. The tea was amazing lovely cakes and home made jam. They also were very good because one of our group were gluten free and they had there own plate of sandwiches and cake. Would recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

A party of us booked in for afternoon tea to celebrate a birthday on the first Saturday in July. We were quickly shown to our designated table where we were served coffee and tea, which were in plentiful supply and further pots arrived quickly upon request. The platter of sandwiches were very fresh and generously filled. A plate of freshly made warm scones, clotted cream and strawberry jam was demolished very quickly, the fruit tarts were beautiful with very short, crumbly pastry and the accompanying cakes were delicious. Although the place was busy, it wasn't overcrowded and we didn't feel rushed at all. Perhaps, however, the young waiter could have been a little more discreet in his eye rolling reaction to another member of the waiting staff when we asked for a 'doggie bag' in which to take away some left over cakes. The afternoon tea is not particularly cheap, and surely the option to take away uneaten but paid for goodies for a large party is a reasonable request. The cakes arrived back at the table in a very precarious twist of cling film - we did a better job with a couple of serviettes! Perhaps some brown paper take out bags may be a better option for such eventualities. :) That said, it was a minor blip in an otherwise wonderful and relaxing afternoon and I thoroughly recommend a visit for a lazy afternoon with friends. The gardens are stunning and the alpacas are such a lovely addition to the place. I shall certainly be recommending it and re-visiting in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saywhaty0usee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinver
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
6.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
4.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Bromsgrove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
10.3 mi away
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall Hotel

Property: Dunsley Hall Hotel
Address: 39 Dunsley Road, Kinver DY7 6LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Kinver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kinver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunsley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing