We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How afternoon tea should be”
Review of Dunsley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunsley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kinver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How afternoon tea should be”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Took my mum for afternoon tea for her birthday yesterday. From the moment we arrived we were impressed, we were welcomed and seated at a table already laid for us with lovely bone china cups and plates. We were delighted with a lovely selection of fresh sandwiches catering for our personal preferences, no mustard, no pickle and no horseradish. The scones were warm and melted in your mouth and the cakes were to die for, especially the macarons and the choux buns. We had two large pots of tea and took our time enjoying a very pleasant afternoon. Thank you for making my treat such a big success.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50weekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminrobbins, Manager at Dunsley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you, its nice to have such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    66
    27
    20
    10
See reviews for
80
91
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Popped in Dunsley Hall Hotel for morning coffee before a shopping spree and were welcomed by friendly staff. We were shown into the lounge and sat in front of an open log fire (home from home) and served with a large pot of coffee and a choice of home made cakes or toast and preserves. Everything was perfect and the cakes/toast were delicious. Plenty of coffee too which is a bonus these days. Very good value and a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminrobbins, Owner at Dunsley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Dunsley Hall is the perfect venue for any occasion. We had the most magical winter wedding there. Wilf and his team offer excellent service and the chef is sensational. Christmas time at Dunsley is beautiful ,roaring open fires and elegant decorations. The moment we first met Wilf we knew we would be made welcome and put our full trust in him for our special day. We were not disappointed and are grateful for the personal service we received.
Every room in Dunsley is individually designed and 5 star quality! You must be mad not to love it!

Thank you once again to Wilf and your team. Mrs and Mrs Bennett

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminrobbins, Owner at Dunsley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words
Wilf and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have stayed here twice before once entertaining guests and once on our own. If you are looking for a place that is different, classic, characterful, different, classy the Dunsley Hall is a great place. We have eaten in the restaurant but there are also very good restaurants in Kinver such as "Basil's" which are very good. I would recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone staying in the area. My only criticism, should be interesting to owners and reviewers alike....owners often say if you had only said at the time we would have fixed it.....but here is a true story. We had a busy day ahead of us the day after our stay and decided to take Breakfast in bed. My breakfast...full English was devine....but 3 days after we had left my partner announced that she had been so disappointed with the "Continental Breakfast" in her opinion her breakfast should not have consisted of Cereal , Fruit Juice and cardboard toast but fresh fruit, croissants and pastries. So there it is, had I known then I would have complained at the time but modesty does on occasions prevent people from complaining. All in all we still had a great time and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The 3 rooms we have stayed in have all been different but all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeljohnlee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminrobbins, Owner at Dunsley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Michael

Thank you for your feedback we find that most of our guests go for the Full English, and yes we needed to look at the Continental breakfast and have addressed the selection. Let us know when you are coming again and mention that Terrie said we must have the warm croissants on for you

Regards
Terrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I arranged afternoon tea for my friend's baby shower for 20 people. It cost £15 per person and was excellent. Endless tea and coffee. The sandwiches and cakes were plentiful and freshly made. I would definately recommend this to anyone. The service was efficint and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Absolutely superb Christmas Day lunch. Dunsley Hall is the perfect place to spend Christmas day with a lovely, traditional ambience.

On arrival, we were welcomed by Terrie, the owner, with a glass of champagne in the reception hall. We were then able to sit and relax by a roaring log fire in the lounge before being shown to our table. With nine courses on offer, I was a little unsure if I would manage to find room for all the food but, as the table was ours for as long as we wanted, we were able to take our time in between the courses. The staff were all friendly and attentive and did not rush us. The food was cooked to perfection, particularly the roast turkey, with manageable portion sizes. My only comment is that it would have been nice to have some background music playing in the restaurant whilst we were eating.

This is the first time my parents and I have ever eaten out on Christmas day. Dunsley Hall put to rest any concerns I may have had about breaking with tradition, as it more than exceeded my expectations. The venue, staff, food and atmosphere were all perfect and we are already thinking of booking it for next year. Thank you to everyone who helped make our Christmas Day experience so special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Wood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminrobbins, Owner at Dunsley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hi 3Wood3

Oops

I am sorry but I have written a response to you as we are thankful for your review and posted it on Anthony's review. Unfortunately I don't know how to change it, technology is past me. Clicked the wrong button.

Anthony
I am so glad you gave us another chance as like most establishments we can get it wrong sometimes but really appreciate feedback to help us be even better next time. We look forward to seeing you again.
Terrie Wilf and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuckfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and the rooms are all memorable and exciting. However the restaurant has been variable. To start with, about three years ago, it was very good. Then about a year ago it slumped badly, and was so disappointing that we decided we would not go back. However circumstances meant that we did try it again about two months ago. We were pleasantly surprised at the vast improvement in the quality of the restaurant. So we decided to take the family for Sunday lunch to see if the standard could be maintained. It was just as good and very good value for money. Therefore we now have no hesitation in recommending this establishment.

Room Tip: Any room will be a wonderful experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminrobbins, Owner at Dunsley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hi
I must say Christmas day was the best one we have ever had at Dunsley Hall. We were a little worried as we had so many booked, The girls made the Hall look magical as one Guest commented, especially as it started to go dusk and all the candles were flickering. Some Guests as they were leaving booked again for this year and the Chefs also did us proud which we as Owners would like to thank them for. Wilf and I are so proud of our staff as it is special for them too. Some have been with us since they were 16 and come back especially to work Christmas Day as they love it so much.

Thank you for your kind words and we will make sure the music is turned up this year and do so hope you book with us again and this year bring your slippers
Terrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinver
6.1 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
7.1 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
648 reviews
4.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
896 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Himley House Good Night Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall Hotel

Property: Dunsley Hall Hotel
Address: 39 Dunsley Road, Kinver DY7 6LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Kinver Parish > Kinver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kinver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Dunsley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing