We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lions Treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunsley Hall Restaurant

Dunsley Hall Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in Kinver
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
313 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A Lions Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a Lions charter dinner as guests of The President of Bromsgrove Lions at Dunsley Hall. First the venue is superb.
Second even though there were over 80 diners the food served was very good indeed.
My wife and I both started with the ham hock terrine with thick cut toast served with salad and piccalilli. Tasty.
For the mains, I had the chicken with vegetables in sauce which was great and my wife had the duck in five spice which was tender and very tasty. The vegetables were nice and crunchy.
For desert we both had the chocolate torte with orange segments which was rich and ever so scrumptious.
All in all an excellent meal in lovely surroundings in good company.
Regards. Gary Saunders

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    40
    27
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oh dear! What have you done?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We've loved eating here in the past for a special lunch, so took a friend with us this time. The menu has changed, more bar snack type food than the 'posh nosh' that we so loved before. It was bitterly disappointing. In the past the front door opened as you walked to it. Not this time. We were ushered into the large lounge which is beautifully panelled, but one the the settees is ripped in three places, through to the foam padding and the curtains look tatty. The menu has changed but we chose dishes that we each thought we'd like. My gruyere cheese omelette was mushroom! (I did mention this, but felt too embarrassed to have it changed). The battered fish was a small piece of fish in a vast batter. Very disappointing. Our puddings were pleasant. Service was nothing special. It wasn't the restaurant that we remembered from previous visits. Standards have dropped, and it no longer has any ambiance. If we want pub grub we'll go to the pub.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Coming back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The meal was excellent and the Chef pureed the vegetables for my companion who cannot eat hard vegetables.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
637 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,094 helpful votes
“poor value, not great food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

expensive food, not particularly interesting, not great value for money........OK I guess for a quick tea or coffee but no more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Back9Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hall worthy of a visit for its high standards.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The food was exceptional and the attention you we given from arrival to departure was always warm and friendly. This is well worth a visit if you are in the area. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunsley Hall Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dunsley Hall Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing