We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barn

Welcome to The Barn. Cool and calm in summer, Cosy and toasty in Winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Barn. Cool and calm in summer, Cosy and toasty in Winter
Entrance to the front door in the lane. Ample free parking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Welcome to The Barn. Cool and calm in summer, Cosy and toasty in Winter
Entrance to the front door in the lane.
Ample free parking
Front door opens into the Lane
Fully fitted kitchen
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor bedroom with 2 single beds.
Kitchen
Bedroom on the gallery
New Wood in the Spring
Buttercup field with Meg
Path alongside New Wood Farm
Wonderful for walking or biking
Across the fields
Not the usual vision of The Black Country
The canal is just 1 minute down the bridle path
Lovely garden to sit in.
White foxgloves live exactly where they decide to live in our garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kinver, Kinver Parish, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janiceste...
Pasadena, California
1 review
“Our home away from home”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The location is ideal. The Barn is surrounded beautiful horse pastures. It is just a few minutes walk from one of the very prettiest stretches of the Staffordshire canal (Bell's Mill to Kinver) and a few minutes walk to the village of Wollaston which is well supplied with shops, pubs and restaurants. The village of Kinver is about an hour's walk away where you can find several fine dining Italian restaurants as well as pubs, tea rooms, and the famous Kinver Edge walks. The Barn is very comfortable and attractive in a rustic way with a lot of stone and iron work. Most of our trips have been in the past have been in summer or September but this time we came for our birthdays in October and got to enjoy roaring fires from the wonderful open fireplace. There is a lovely large brick private patio that opens on to landlord Linda and Mick Thornton's gorgeous gardens where guests are welcome. I guess the best thing I can say about the Barn and the Stable where family stayed with us one weekend is that we and all our family and friends love the place! I should also note that you will not find better hosts then Linda and Mick anywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, views out of the windows, the fireplace, the patio, the kitchen, Linda and Mick
Liked least: We like very firm mattresses which are not commonly found in the UK
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Bless you both. It was a pleasure as always to meet up with you, your family and friends. Thanks for inviting us to your party. Hope you had a safe and pleasant journey back to the lovely California.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you had a good time here in Stourbridge. Hope to see again. Linda & Mick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lydia F
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“Suberb accommodation in the Black Country”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

If you want to visit the Black Country it is the best place to stay with the lovliest people you can imagine. Comfy cottage which provides everything your mind and soul need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Thank you Lydia. It is always wonderful to welcome back guests who have stayed here before. When you have finished your travels around the world we look forward to listening to your tales over a glass of wine in the garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here in England. I wasn't aware that you were arriving from Australia or else I would have offered either to get you some shopping or suggested an online delivery which is what usually happens. Due to legality issues over food allergies it's not usual to leave even the most basic foods as even milk has several choices. We could have addressed the towels issue as I always leave guests to settle in before knocking the door to make sure they are happy with everything. I can only apologise now as I would have sorted that out immediately when I came around to see you. However, our guests reviews are important to us, so thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Kind regards
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CheshireC...
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable cottage with atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed for 3 nights and immediately felt at home in this lovely, cosy cottage. The Barn is well equipped and has all you need for a short stay, even a genuine jukebox filled with golden oldies. The owners live next door and are welcoming and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and having 2 bathrooms
Liked least: Double bed mattress a little firm for my loking
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenbrook, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Got a little lost when we arrived. Need to make sure you have a map as well as GPS.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thanks for the review Meredith. It was great to have you for 'neighbours' for a while.
Hope you enjoy the summer.xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheryl S
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charm, comfort and convenience”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Barn is a delightful place to stay in the heart of the Black Country. We were two couples and it was very comfortable, with everything we needed including a well equipped kitchen and all mod cons. The location is superb, on the edge of Stourbridge, with good acces to shopping and restaurants on the town side, and wonderful canal side country walks right at the door. There is also easy access by car to most of the attractions in the area. Linda is an excellent host, with great communication prior to the booking and help whenever needed. She baked a cake for our arrival and made us feel very welcome.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
So nice to meet you. Glad you enjoyed the Juke box too. Its a good place for family get togethers. Shame about the Rugby (for us) though.
Hope Australia go on to win.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing