We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Burg Colmberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPERIENCE!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We visited Burg Colmberg over Pfingsten. We had plannned on doing a little day trip but once we arrived and had lunch (it was asparagus season), we just decided to hike in the forest and come back for dinner. Around the castle are a lot of deer and its peaceful. The castle was beautiful and unlike many other castles I have been in there are no tours; as a hotel guest you can wander around. Simply amazing.

Then came dinner. The deer is the specialty on the menu and was excellent!!

Also go for the Schwarzer Ritter. It is a pretty good beer.

I was thoroughly impressed with the views from the castle, the staff, and the food.

This is a 5 star experience at a 3 star price.

Room Tip: How can you go wrong staying in a castle??
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    162
    33
    7
    9
See reviews for
243
386
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I had a phenominal stay at the Hotel Burg. This is a beautiful castle, we outstanding views of the town, filled with awesome antiques, and offering a great dining experience with a view of the town down below.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The pictures do not give this place justice! The castle had an inviting atmosphere and was so much more than we expected. The castle was originally a hunting lodge, that was built up into a castle over the years. There were lots of deer racks and other animals on display, which my husband loved. However, it still had the romantic, castle-like feel that I was wanting. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I started out our trip to Germany by staying in this castle and it didn't disappoint. It really was quite amazing and atmospheric. The staff were all helpful with very good English and our meal in the restaurant was really tasty. My husband had the beef and pork medallions and I had asparagus pasta. The strawberry cake for dessert was nice. We also enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the morning.

It was fun walking around the castle. It felt like a movie set, but was real. The leering stuffed bear in the corner was a particular favorite for my husband and me. I think the best description might be, If you ever saw the old Pink Panther movies, it felt like Inspector Clouseau might be appearing around a corner at any moment!

Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate as it rained and was cloudy, but the view would have been beautiful, especially in the restaurant's sort of conservatory that it had.

Also, it was a 10 minute drive or so to nearby Rothenburg.

We stayed in the honeymoon suite as it was the only room left at booking. The price was fairly reasonable compared to what you would get at other hotels that aren't in a castle! The jetted tub in that suite was great. The only thing about the honeymoon suite was it wasn't so castle-y, but it was very pretty.

I'd highly recommend if you want a romantic night and a good location to Rothenburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoMom761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Spent 2 nights here and enjoyed the stay very much. The building and location are beautiful. Staff was helpful and polite. Our room was attractive, clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent a night at Burg Colmberg last week and were very pleased with our experience. Unlike another castle we stayed at in Hirschhorn (which was a bit disappointing because we were put up in a newish separate house below the castle itself), we got to stay inside the castle itself at Burg Colmberg. This castle is perched on a hill overlooking the nearby village of Colmberg, about 20km from Rothenburg. You get an amazing panoramic view of the surrounding countryside for miles around. On the inside of the 1,000 year old castle, you will find all the trappings of a medieval castle eg thick rocky walls, dim, dark stairs and hallways, suits of armour, tapestries on the walls, old paintings, loads of real antiques, hunting trophies (lots of deer antlers, a stuffed bear, etc), its own chapel and a banquet hall for knights. In short, full of real castle ambience, which was just what we wanted. The two rooms we had were a bit small but modern inside, and had modern but rather small bathrooms. The towels were a bit thin and hard. Breakfast was adequate. Wifi a bit spotty due to the thick castle walls. But the genuine castle experience made up for any shortfalls. It was nice to spend the day in charming bustling Rothenburg and then make the short drive to our peaceful castle retreat. If you are looking for a genuine castle stay, this is it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are numbered and seem to be bigger and in a newer wing of the hotel with pano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MY58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

In May of 2013 we were only able to get one night as this castle is very popular so in May of 2014 I made reservations very early and secured 2 nights. We found it to be a great place to enjoy our 55th Anniversary. It sits high over the village of Colmberg giving a majestic view of the surrounding area. The food is excellent and the sitting is equally as good. We tip our hat to the chef and staff who are very helpful. The room is spotless. The cost is reasonable.

Room Tip: Make reservations very early!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colmberg
10.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
658 reviews
10.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
604 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
581 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
680 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burg Colmberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Colmberg

Property: Hotel Burg Colmberg
Address: An der Burgenstrasse, 91598 Colmberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Colmberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burg Colmberg 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HRS, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Burg Colmberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing