We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Burg Colmberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed for one day here, it was somewhat far from Rottenburg, more than 10km but if you want a quite romantic escape along the romantic road, this is the place. We booked the honeymoon room because it was the only room available. It was pretty expensive but the room was big and if you like to enjoy a nice jacuzzi, then it will be well worth it. The view of the room was not very nice as it was blocked by trees. The hotel staff was friendly and the food was excellent. We had a very nice romantic dinner outdoor and the view from outside was very nice. The decor in the castle lobby and restaurant were nice but the halls/hallway leading to our room were not well decorated. It could could be better if they was decorated with some shields and armours. The real drawback was no wifi - but hey it is suppose to be a romantic escape, so put away all the smartphones.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Soon Hin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

really medieval. It was a experience that I planned to share with my girlfriend, and It did work. the restaurant is very nice too. the town is very small, almost nothing to do. rooms preserv the mistic.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed to be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sebastianpisoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our family (including in-laws) stayed in Burg Colmberg hotel for three days. It was a very nice immersion into the vanished era of knights and castles. The staff was very friendly, the food was really excellent, and seeing the deer grazing below the ramparts in the evening was truly breathtaking. Our rooms were on the 4-th floor, so climbing the stairs up and down every day was a good exercise (it was not unexpected so it is not a complaint). The location is great -- reasonably close to Nuremberg and Rothenburg-upon-Tauber. We very much enjoyed the stay and would definitely stay again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure to discuss with the staff if you have difficulty climbing stairs -- there are no elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valeriy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We travelled Europe for 5 weeks and this stop was one of our highlights. Our kids loved climbing around a 15th century castle and we loved the atmosphere. The room we stayed in even had a modern bath which we were not expecting. The food was very good and reasonable with good service. Great proximity to Rothenberg and nearby hikes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peterhL118WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our stay at the Castle was during August. Travelling with 2 kids ages 10 and 12 and visiting England, Germany and Austria, this was a must see. If you enjoy history and a picturesque setting this is the place for you. Staff was excellent. We only had three definite lodging reservations for a 3 week stay and this was one of them. The rest we planned as we traveled so we were never late getting anywhere. Visit the Castle and unwind. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Big room, friendly owners, good food, and great atmosphere (great collection of taxidermy) and they even arranged snow to fall on the village below for a perfect welcome! We are a family of 4 with 2 kids aged 10 and 8. It was a very good introduction to Europe for the kids as the Castle is genuine and the location was perfect for walks in the surrounding woods

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandfly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

it was the birthdaypresent of my wife to stay there,..absolutely amazing!
medival castle where the owner still inhabit one part of the castle,...
freindly, clean, great location, good restaurant and absolutely romantic,..we will return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mikyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colmberg
10.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
628 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
707 reviews
10.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
391 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
10.4 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burg Colmberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Colmberg

Address: An der Burgenstrasse, 91598 Colmberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Colmberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Price Range: £94 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burg Colmberg 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Burg Colmberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing