We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was the owner when things did not work?”
Review of Le Moulin du Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Moulin du Roc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Booked a hotel via bookings.com... Great expectations until arrived to our junior suite without AC... You can imagine the temperature inside when outside reads 32.. Fans were provided, no help. I got a 10 percent discount after the complaint. The hotel lecks the finess promises in the ads.. The staff is very young and cannot get better if they are receiving more training.

Room Tip: Wait until some renovations are compleated... The AC systems is very old
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pirkko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

An exquisite rambling old mill, beautifully decorated in the most idyllic riverside location with delightful staff and spacious tasteful very well equipped rooms with lovely views. What more could you ask?.........Oh yes, an absolutely stonking one star restaurant as well.
As you can tell, we were really blown away by the Moulin; it was absolutely faultless, running like a very well oiled machine but with no hint of hauteur or stuffiness. Not cheap, but the best never is and you can see where the money goes too. I wouldn't like to guess what you would pay for ambience service and especially food to match this in the UK - probably twice as much
Go on, treat yourselves - we will again as soon as possible!

Room Tip: We had "Orgue" in the new extension - I doubt anybody could be disappointed with this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teepees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We return to the Moulin du Roc every year. We were initially drawn to this hotel while staying nearby because of the reputation of the Michelin-starred restaurant and found the lunch menu to be a reasonably priced yet an extraordinary meal in a setting of beauty. We had been staying at another highly rated moulin on the river in Brantome where we had indifferent food and old, musty rooms. Here all is cared for and renewed with good taste. We take different rooms each visit but avoid the ones with the deep terraces as we feel they are a bit dark. However, all are decorated with charm and taste, and bathrooms are impeccable with Hermes products and whirlpool baths. The restaurant itself is beautiful, full of polished silver and quite intimate. Attentive staff, great sommelier, gifted chef.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabithaTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us, so we chose it for our final fine dining experience in the Dordogne. The restaurant and inn have a beautiful setting (somewhat awkwardly accessed from the road) and is considered haute cuisine. While the dining room was lovely, and accented with many fine antiques, the food itself was more "precious" than delicious. It reminded me of restaurants in New York where one is supposed to be awed by the food presentations, but, after it all, does not truly deliver any taste worth remembering. I enjoyed the luncheon experience but not enough to want to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were a little taken aback when we arrived at this property at 4 pm to find the small driveway into the entrance and reception totally blocked with vehicles so we had to park in the back lane by the rubbish bins and walk back to the reception ! There was a large Christening party/lunch in full swing and the Staff were extremely busy, however they were very helpfull and showed us to our room and a convenient rear entrance to bring in our luggage. The Bedroom was wwell furnished but poorly lit, it is accepted that very old buildings like this will be dark but some modern concealed lighting would not go amiss.
We looked around the beautifull well tended grounds of this old Water Mill and decided to go to the pool , a lovely pool and pool house area but on this occasion a little spoiled by a lot of used glasses and plates being left around as a result of the large party of Lunch guests who were by now leaving the tables and decamping to the gardens/pool areas.The design of the Swimming pool itself is totally flawed by the fact that there is no safe easy entry into the water; you either need to jump or dive in as there are no steps into the pool , Ok but you need to be younger and fitter than us in order to get out !
Dinner in the evening was taken on the Terrace , the service was excellent , matching the superb food fully justifying the Michelin ratings. Breakfast was also taken outside and was again well presented and well served.
This is an excellent place to stay with really friendly and helpfull Staff (yes our car was reparked for us after the Party Guests departed), it is a pity it is slightly flawed by poor design of certain facilities (often the case where the "designer" does not fully consider practicallity) . The Cuisine is superb and all in all good value. If you like pretty, historic places visit this place as i am sure it is generally a little more "serene" than when we were there 1

Room Tip: Try and get one of the few rooms with a Balcony as the standard rooms are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j_worrall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We went to this wonderful place on a day trip from my in-laws place further to the south. One star in the Guide rouge was the reason for going and we where not dissapointed. The food was interesting and had aspects of innovation, the "soupe de framboise de bois" that we had for dessert was really amazing and we have used that reciept several times for family dinners back home, and, handed it on to several professionals active in different parts of the world. The place is a bit tricky to find but once you are there you just want to stay.

Nearby city of Brantome is also worth a visit, both for food and "ambiance".

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Agardh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We lunched here a while ago with some friends who were staying in our gites, a charming American couple. Bob was here to select wine for his wine club in Philadelphia and likes to see good wine lists so we thought we would visit the Roc as we had eaten there previously. The set lunch was delicious sitting on the terrace, the wine included with meal a perfect match to the food and to top it all off we had a visit to their cave. Can't comment on the rooms but I would be surprised if they are not the same quality as the resto. Great place and the set lunch great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LesGitesTrepart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champagnac de Belair
3.2 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
472 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
242 reviews
2.9 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
422 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
14.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Perigueux Centre Historique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin du Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin du Roc

Address: Avenue Eugene Leroy, 24530 Champagnac de Belair, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Champagnac de Belair
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Champagnac de Belair
Price Range: £166 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Moulin du Roc 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Moulin du Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin Du Roc Hotel Champagnac De Belair
Le Moulin Du Roc France/Champagnac De Belair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing