We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Dusty, pretentious staff”
Review of Le Moulin du Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Moulin du Roc
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Old and Dusty, pretentious staff”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

It is supposed to be the place in the region, we arrived and got into a dusty place, the rooms we visited were really old, one was smelling of moist or dust, or both, must say it was quite depressing and we did not want to stay, on top, the staff were a bit pretentious, which was not very attractive...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank polyakov123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    53
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
63
251
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our second visit to Le Moulin was as spectacular as the first some years ago. Level of service, quality of rooms and dining were still top notch. By luck, we had the same room as when we visited before, a large, roomy double-bedded room with a terrace overlooking the stream. Bathroom was pristine and well-appointed with quality amenities (Hermes) although I was disappointed that they did not replenish them when they cleaned the room. (It is probable that I could have called/asked for more) Lovely dinner on the dining room terrace our first night and lunch indoors the next day. As for lunch, one small disappointment: we had to choose from the same limited menu as the night before. Again, we knew this before we sat down . . . .but it's too bad that they can't change the lunch menu given that some customers staying for multiple days might like to see a change. Overall, a high spot on our trip and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Booked a hotel via bookings.com... Great expectations until arrived to our junior suite without AC... You can imagine the temperature inside when outside reads 32.. Fans were provided, no help. I got a 10 percent discount after the complaint. The hotel lecks the finess promises in the ads.. The staff is very young and cannot get better if they are receiving more training.

Room Tip: Wait until some renovations are compleated... The AC systems is very old
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pirkko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

An exquisite rambling old mill, beautifully decorated in the most idyllic riverside location with delightful staff and spacious tasteful very well equipped rooms with lovely views. What more could you ask?.........Oh yes, an absolutely stonking one star restaurant as well.
As you can tell, we were really blown away by the Moulin; it was absolutely faultless, running like a very well oiled machine but with no hint of hauteur or stuffiness. Not cheap, but the best never is and you can see where the money goes too. I wouldn't like to guess what you would pay for ambience service and especially food to match this in the UK - probably twice as much
Go on, treat yourselves - we will again as soon as possible!

Room Tip: We had "Orgue" in the new extension - I doubt anybody could be disappointed with this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teepees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We return to the Moulin du Roc every year. We were initially drawn to this hotel while staying nearby because of the reputation of the Michelin-starred restaurant and found the lunch menu to be a reasonably priced yet an extraordinary meal in a setting of beauty. We had been staying at another highly rated moulin on the river in Brantome where we had indifferent food and old, musty rooms. Here all is cared for and renewed with good taste. We take different rooms each visit but avoid the ones with the deep terraces as we feel they are a bit dark. However, all are decorated with charm and taste, and bathrooms are impeccable with Hermes products and whirlpool baths. The restaurant itself is beautiful, full of polished silver and quite intimate. Attentive staff, great sommelier, gifted chef.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabithaTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us, so we chose it for our final fine dining experience in the Dordogne. The restaurant and inn have a beautiful setting (somewhat awkwardly accessed from the road) and is considered haute cuisine. While the dining room was lovely, and accented with many fine antiques, the food itself was more "precious" than delicious. It reminded me of restaurants in New York where one is supposed to be awed by the food presentations, but, after it all, does not truly deliver any taste worth remembering. I enjoyed the luncheon experience but not enough to want to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were a little taken aback when we arrived at this property at 4 pm to find the small driveway into the entrance and reception totally blocked with vehicles so we had to park in the back lane by the rubbish bins and walk back to the reception ! There was a large Christening party/lunch in full swing and the Staff were extremely busy, however they were very helpfull and showed us to our room and a convenient rear entrance to bring in our luggage. The Bedroom was wwell furnished but poorly lit, it is accepted that very old buildings like this will be dark but some modern concealed lighting would not go amiss.
We looked around the beautifull well tended grounds of this old Water Mill and decided to go to the pool , a lovely pool and pool house area but on this occasion a little spoiled by a lot of used glasses and plates being left around as a result of the large party of Lunch guests who were by now leaving the tables and decamping to the gardens/pool areas.The design of the Swimming pool itself is totally flawed by the fact that there is no safe easy entry into the water; you either need to jump or dive in as there are no steps into the pool , Ok but you need to be younger and fitter than us in order to get out !
Dinner in the evening was taken on the Terrace , the service was excellent , matching the superb food fully justifying the Michelin ratings. Breakfast was also taken outside and was again well presented and well served.
This is an excellent place to stay with really friendly and helpfull Staff (yes our car was reparked for us after the Party Guests departed), it is a pity it is slightly flawed by poor design of certain facilities (often the case where the "designer" does not fully consider practicallity) . The Cuisine is superb and all in all good value. If you like pretty, historic places visit this place as i am sure it is generally a little more "serene" than when we were there 1

Room Tip: Try and get one of the few rooms with a Balcony as the standard rooms are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_worrall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champagnac de Belair
3.2 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
442 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
220 reviews
7.7 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
14.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Perigueux Centre Historique
2.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin du Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin du Roc

Property: Le Moulin du Roc
Address: Avenue Eugene Leroy, 24530 Champagnac de Belair, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Champagnac de Belair
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Champagnac de Belair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Moulin du Roc 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Moulin du Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin Du Roc Hotel Champagnac De Belair
Le Moulin Du Roc France/Champagnac De Belair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing