We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and real, excellent service”
Review of Le Moulin du Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Moulin du Roc
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quaint and real, excellent service”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent food beyond what is already found in Périgord and that is not to be taken lightly.
Old charming houses, Very good service, hosts are more than hospitable.
passion is very obvious!
I run a Palace in Paris and I can vouch for Le Moulin du Roc as a little Palace in Périgord!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie8816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    52
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
225
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Le Moulin du Roc is Ideal for anyone seeking a beautiful location, peace and quiet, excellent food, friendly service and really comfortable rooms.. Nowhere we have ever stayed including Michelin three star hotels has quite the same charm as this small very special hotel and restaurant. We recommend it wholeheartedly..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 201MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Let's start with the positive which by far outweighs the negatives as I would still happily stay there again..
The venue is superb, an authentic Moulin owned by the Chefs Family, so you are really getting a sense of how old this Mill is. Maintained beautifully, the nature around it is a delight and very romatic too.
The pool is big, but not sure how well heated it really was...(end of June) We enjoyed a game of tennis as racket/balls were provided for free. Good court, but they should invest in new tennis balls, damp and smelly.
Our room called "Eglantine" was perfect and large, with a large wooden chalet style balcony overlooking the canal. (Not one mosquito in sight, so do not worry about that). The hiccup was we had NO WORKING air-con, but got given a large standing fan which worked for us as soon as we arrived.
Breakfast is all freshly baked or squeezed but for 18 euros, I just wished they at least provided what I like best as I eat very little, which is cereal fresh bread. Instead you have a basket of traditional white baguette, croissant and brioche. There was some kind of wholemeal toast but it tasted awfully boring. Needless to day I didn't eat much. Fruit salad is very limited: apple, strawberries and kiwi. No peach, No melon, No nectarin, which is a real shame in France...
The juice is fresh but comes in a glass half the size of what most people would expect or drink at home. Felt like Oliver Twist....please can I...
To make up for the cost I indulged in 2 rounds of double expressos with hot milk.

Dinner is very expensive as you might expect, but we indulged 2 night running why the heck not? I have no complaint about the food however I feel instead of dessert trolley, I'd much rather pick a very special dessert on menu made by the Chef, as none of the trolley treats ticked my box in the full sense of the word. The St Honore cake was lovely but how much of it can you eat? not 2 nights in a row...

we would happily stay there again but next time I will ask for a 10% discount if air-con isn't working still. I will demand someone buys me fresh cereal bread at boulangerie for my breakfast, and ask 3 times for squeezed juice:) ahaha.

Room Tip: chambre Eglantine is great, large balcony on canal. end of a corridor one floor up. we didn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo_Ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moulinduroc, Responsable at Le Moulin du Roc, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your message.

We are very happy to know that you appreciate your stay with us, and that you had a very nice time.

We do all our best to satisfy our guest, we consider very seriously all the details that you mention and we will try to be just perfect the next time.

Kindest regards,

Shirley C-G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A beautiful location, very charming....and the michelin restaurant was excellent...sitting outside on the terrace by the river enjoying the degustation is about as good as it gets. And the breakfast is also fantastic.
Rooms are generally nice and to a good not great standard, but some far better than others. You need to check which one you are getting. Noisette the best by far.
Staff pretty good, but typical french service rather than worlds best. If you ask for something they dont want to do they just shrug. Restaurant staff generally better.
Grounds and pool very nice.
Bathrooms ( e.g. some do'nt have screens on the showers over bath so water goes everywhere) and some of the room facilities the letdown, air conditioning poor in many rooms)..they are ok, but for that little bit of upgrading from the owner they could take it to that next level..thats the only disappointment about this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooraktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Le Moulin du Roc is an excellent hotel with beautiful surroundings, Also the lobby is very sophisticated and the rooms are inviting. Their terrace outside is a place that you would stay at the end of the day to see the sunset, have a glass of wine, and enjoy the time together with someone you love.
The food is excellent and the wine list is very extensive with very good options. I am not talking about the cheeses they offer because I want them all for me.
The breakfast is delicious and the croissant is a must! Best scrambled eggs ever!
You can sleep listening to the river and in the morning the birds start singing and you just feel yourself at peace.
The staff is very kind and attentive and they really take care of you. We had a lot of rain when we stayed there but even so our stay was amazing. I would like to be at the pool but it was not possible this time. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

i went with some friends to have dinner and stay at the hotel. we had a drink outside by the river. beautiful setting, seeing the fish in the water, the trees. then the dinner , a memorable affair of ´foie´,the fish was delicious, the desserts also. the wine, white and red was recomended by the sommelier, very well chosen.
the rooms were very confortable, with a very cosy decor.
wonderful garden, with a very nice pool.

Room Tip: first floor for the vue of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulus70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a fine hotel with all you want for an enjoyable stay. Excellent staff to greet you, large comfortable rooms, a view of the river and the working mill wheel from your balcony, excellent food and they welcome dogs. The gardens are nice but the main building is a little sun restricted, great heated pool, tennis courts and bridges over the river. All this and yet very relaxed and not over bearing, just what I want from a hotel of quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champagnac de Belair
3.7 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.9 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
2.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin du Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin du Roc

Property: Le Moulin du Roc
Address: Avenue Eugene Leroy, 24530 Champagnac de Belair, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Champagnac de Belair
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Champagnac de Belair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Moulin du Roc 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Moulin du Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin Du Roc Hotel Champagnac De Belair
Le Moulin Du Roc France/Champagnac De Belair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing