We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to fault”
Review of Le Moulin du Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Moulin du Roc
Certificate of Excellence
tw
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Difficult to fault”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have visited on a number of occasions over the last 15 years.

The setting and ambiance are quite superb and the quality of the service amongst the best there is . The rooms are beautful generally though you should beware of the smaller rooms (cheaper of course but a little compromised perhaps?) and treat yourself to a room with a balcony overlooking the river and gardens. Excellent breakfast.

We didn't feel that the dining experience was as good as previously. Focus on very luxurious ingredients where we prefer a lighter touch now. But that could be us of course. To be fair they sensed our disappointment and dealt with it very well and we left feeling that they did all they could. Check out the menu and see what you think.

A fabulous place to spend a few days, recommended.

Room Tip: Balcony room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dale_curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    52
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
238
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked Le Moulin for our 3 year wedding anniversary having read a review in The Telegraph. On arrival our jaws dropped as we could not believe how beautiful the hotel was. As soon as we arrived, the staff were welcoming and attentive, and the excellent service continued until the minute we left.

The food is top notch, which is to be expected given the Michelin star. There are several light lunch options, including small cheese/charcuterie plates and a delicious anchovy/pepper tart as well as more substantial options such as duck breast. All delicious and superbly presented. We treated oursleves to the taster menu for our anniversary supper. Pricey, but outstanding. The somelier is also excellent and recommended some lovely local wines which did not break the bank.

Our room, Tournesol (on ground level overlooking the river), was also wonderful. Four poster bed, a small sitting area and great views. It was slightly dark, but that added to the atmosphere.

There is a lovely pool which was never too crowded, seet among picturesque gardens. There is also a tennis court.

As already mentioned, the staff were incredibly welcoming and it was great to see the owner (chef)'s charming wife so heavily involved in the running of the hotel, who was consistently friendly and chatty everytime we bumped into each other.

Le Moulin is a haven of peace, tranquility and quality. We cannot recommned any more.

Room Tip: Tournesol - this is a small double on the ground floor but is quite big enough for a couple. It is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LemurToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent food beyond what is already found in Périgord and that is not to be taken lightly.
Old charming houses, Very good service, hosts are more than hospitable.
passion is very obvious!
I run a Palace in Paris and I can vouch for Le Moulin du Roc as a little Palace in Périgord!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie8816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Le Moulin du Roc is Ideal for anyone seeking a beautiful location, peace and quiet, excellent food, friendly service and really comfortable rooms.. Nowhere we have ever stayed including Michelin three star hotels has quite the same charm as this small very special hotel and restaurant. We recommend it wholeheartedly..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 201MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Let's start with the positive which by far outweighs the negatives as I would still happily stay there again..
The venue is superb, an authentic Moulin owned by the Chefs Family, so you are really getting a sense of how old this Mill is. Maintained beautifully, the nature around it is a delight and very romatic too.
The pool is big, but not sure how well heated it really was...(end of June) We enjoyed a game of tennis as racket/balls were provided for free. Good court, but they should invest in new tennis balls, damp and smelly.
Our room called "Eglantine" was perfect and large, with a large wooden chalet style balcony overlooking the canal. (Not one mosquito in sight, so do not worry about that). The hiccup was we had NO WORKING air-con, but got given a large standing fan which worked for us as soon as we arrived.
Breakfast is all freshly baked or squeezed but for 18 euros, I just wished they at least provided what I like best as I eat very little, which is cereal fresh bread. Instead you have a basket of traditional white baguette, croissant and brioche. There was some kind of wholemeal toast but it tasted awfully boring. Needless to day I didn't eat much. Fruit salad is very limited: apple, strawberries and kiwi. No peach, No melon, No nectarin, which is a real shame in France...
The juice is fresh but comes in a glass half the size of what most people would expect or drink at home. Felt like Oliver Twist....please can I...
To make up for the cost I indulged in 2 rounds of double expressos with hot milk.

Dinner is very expensive as you might expect, but we indulged 2 night running why the heck not? I have no complaint about the food however I feel instead of dessert trolley, I'd much rather pick a very special dessert on menu made by the Chef, as none of the trolley treats ticked my box in the full sense of the word. The St Honore cake was lovely but how much of it can you eat? not 2 nights in a row...

we would happily stay there again but next time I will ask for a 10% discount if air-con isn't working still. I will demand someone buys me fresh cereal bread at boulangerie for my breakfast, and ask 3 times for squeezed juice:) ahaha.

Room Tip: chambre Eglantine is great, large balcony on canal. end of a corridor one floor up. we didn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo_Ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moulinduroc, Responsable at Le Moulin du Roc, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your message.

We are very happy to know that you appreciate your stay with us, and that you had a very nice time.

We do all our best to satisfy our guest, we consider very seriously all the details that you mention and we will try to be just perfect the next time.

Kindest regards,

Shirley C-G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A beautiful location, very charming....and the michelin restaurant was excellent...sitting outside on the terrace by the river enjoying the degustation is about as good as it gets. And the breakfast is also fantastic.
Rooms are generally nice and to a good not great standard, but some far better than others. You need to check which one you are getting. Noisette the best by far.
Staff pretty good, but typical french service rather than worlds best. If you ask for something they dont want to do they just shrug. Restaurant staff generally better.
Grounds and pool very nice.
Bathrooms ( e.g. some do'nt have screens on the showers over bath so water goes everywhere) and some of the room facilities the letdown, air conditioning poor in many rooms)..they are ok, but for that little bit of upgrading from the owner they could take it to that next level..thats the only disappointment about this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooraktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Le Moulin du Roc is an excellent hotel with beautiful surroundings, Also the lobby is very sophisticated and the rooms are inviting. Their terrace outside is a place that you would stay at the end of the day to see the sunset, have a glass of wine, and enjoy the time together with someone you love.
The food is excellent and the wine list is very extensive with very good options. I am not talking about the cheeses they offer because I want them all for me.
The breakfast is delicious and the croissant is a must! Best scrambled eggs ever!
You can sleep listening to the river and in the morning the birds start singing and you just feel yourself at peace.
The staff is very kind and attentive and they really take care of you. We had a lot of rain when we stayed there but even so our stay was amazing. I would like to be at the pool but it was not possible this time. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champagnac de Belair
3.2 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
426 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
218 reviews
2.9 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
395 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
2.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin du Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin du Roc

Property: Le Moulin du Roc
Address: Avenue Eugene Leroy, 24530 Champagnac de Belair, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Champagnac de Belair
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Champagnac de Belair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Moulin du Roc 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Moulin du Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin Du Roc Hotel Champagnac De Belair
Le Moulin Du Roc France/Champagnac De Belair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing