We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee coffee coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dancing Goat Cafe

Dancing Goat Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Anglesey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Coffee coffee coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I have had coffee all over England from mugs at Costa (!!) to cups in various well known stores, to plungers at independent cafes and quixotic 'tea shoppes' and of course in many independent coffee shops. All with varying atmospheres and various styles of serving coffee. A few, very few, memorable - many, middle of the range and plenty, down right atrocious.
What a lovely surprise to experience a mug of really excellent rich dark and satisfying coffee. The texture (can coffee have a texture?) - the texture was just right, the colour a gorgeous rich brown, and the taste - well a taste you dream about. I don't know which beans the Dancing Goat use, but they have hit it right on target as far as I am concerned. Well done.

And my husband today chose a Capuccino, which can vary from a watery gooey mess with whipped foam on top - to a thick creamy mass. This was just exquisite. Again the right texture, the right taste and on top the prettiest of fern leaves somehow stencilled out on top.

Well, the answer lies in the beans, but also the skill of the barista, and at the Dancing Goat, they have it all together.
And - I have moved nearby, so look forward to many many more happy cups. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    26
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very small, but cosy cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Although small, with a limited menu we had a very good light lunch of paninis and coffee. No toilets though!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bbc1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Laid Back Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Tasty Paninis , lovely pot of Earl Grey and coffee . Good range of cakes on display and my teenage daughter loved it as there was an Ed Sheeran disc celebrating 300,000 sales of album on the wall. We sat outside watching the market and felt like you could have been in a town in the middle of France . Service bril , very relaxing experience .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hygiene issue??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stopped here for coffee and cake last saturday afternoon. The cafe was full of dogs! The waitress serving at the counter (over which food is served) was stroking a dog, I didn't notice any hand washing afterwards or wiping of surfaces. Our table was dirty and the waitress had to be asked to wipe it, she did so without moving anything on the table. The lemon drizzle cake was dry and also the waitress used her fingers to help it onto my plate. We will not be visiting this cafe again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DeniseF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Fantastic small cafe with great coffee, cakes, service and, in winter, even an open fire. Well worth a visit. Rare to find an independent cafe these days offering such good value and fine fare.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suek94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dancing Goat Cafe also viewed

 
Framlingham, Suffolk
 
Framlingham, Suffolk
Framlingham, Suffolk
 

Been to Dancing Goat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing