We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”

The Common Room Cafe/Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Framlingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Social cafe providing high quality food at affordable prices, in a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. Everything we serve is sourced as locally as possible, and is all prepared and cooked on the premises.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We visited twice this weekend, firstly for a lovely sandwich, cup of tea and Lemon Drizzle cake, the tea was superb.
Our second visit was for brunch after our venue let us down for breakfast. A full English was the order of the day with toast and tea. Such wonderful value for money, and the flavours, well you have to try it for yourself, even the toast had an amazing flavour, must be the locally sourced bread. Most definitely well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank carolmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    17
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Full English I can remember (and the coffee was good too)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Three of us ended up here one morning when our usual breakfast option was full. The reception was warm and the full english memorable: perfectly cooked bacon, a spectacular sausage and golden egg. And the coffee was perfect: strong and rich. The total bill at just over £20 was very fair. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

After visiting the castle we felt a bit peckish, we wondered around town and stumbled upon this little cafe, it was busy but we were told to pop back in ten mins, on our return we were greeted and seated, lovely surroundings with a real vintage feel, the menu was small but a varied selection which changes daily, we decided on, chicken and spinach lasagne with a genorous side salad, bacon with eggy bread and a fish finger sandwich with home made tarter sauce, everything was excellent and a very reasonable price, we were very happy :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D0nn4chr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great cafe with excellent food and friendly owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We popped into the Common Room one Sunday afternoon for a late snack lunch and some cake. The smoked salmon pate was excellent as was our tea and cake. The owners were friendly and the general ambience was laid back but well thought out. We would be happy to visit again for a more substantial lunch or just for coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UrsaMinora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, lovely food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely eatery in Framlingham. The menu gives a good choice of meals and snacks. There was only going to be one option for me when I saw fish finger sandwiches on the menu board and I was not disappointed. Crisp fingers in light granary bread made for a superb lunch after a Saturday trip to the market in the square. The ambience was relaxed with music from the record player in front of the counter. This is a family run business with good service and a friendly air. We will definitely visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Common Room Cafe/Restaurant also viewed

Framlingham, Suffolk
Framlingham, Suffolk
 
Framlingham, Suffolk
Framlingham, Suffolk
 

Been to The Common Room Cafe/Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing