We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Hotel - Framlingham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Framlingham
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at The Crown for New Year's Eve. On arrival we were greeted by David, despite the bar and restaurant being extremely busy he found us a table for lunch, we were made to feel very welcome despite arriving at a busy time. David even asked his daughter to move her car so we could park (parking is limited) but I guess when the hotel was built they were only expecting the occasional horse and carriage and not numerous cars. Our room was lovely, very clean and spacious. The plumbing had "character" but the hotel is extremely old, the food and service were fantastic. Lots of young waiting staff but all exceptional, polite efficient and friendly.
NYE dinner was fantastic although I thought the desserts a little disappointing, the steak was superb but could have done with being hotter but the taste was amazing.
We loved the hotel and will return in the summer so we can explore the local area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Champagne1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review - I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is very much our intention to make guests feel welcome and to make sure that they have a good time when they are here so I am delighted that this was the case.It is always good to get such positive feed back on the staff and the service they provide, so thank you I will pass it on. Great that you plan to come back in the summer, we look forward to seeing you then
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    82
    28
    11
    13
See reviews for
53
123
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

just back from a short break. Very relaxing atmosphere, great food in a nice restaurant and a lively pub, all under one roof at the crown. The rooms are clean and tidy and well maintained. The new owners are clearly making an effort to make this place special. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to review us and thank you for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back - we look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed and held a birthday dinner party for 26. India and David were great, they offered suggestions for the menu, room and table layouts and drinks. The function room and bar provided an ideal venue for friends ,family and children. The Crown team were professional and served very good food faultlessly. The party was a hit. Our bedroom was perfect for a quiet night, in a restful room and comfortable bed, clean crisp bedlinen and plush towels. Breakfast options were excellent and the food quality and quantity was fine dining.

Room Tip: Tell India or David what you would like- they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I am really pleased that the party went so well and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for choosing The Crown and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had a wonderful weekend staying at The Crown in Framlingham.
We arrived on Friday evening and were shown to our rather nice room (8) at the front of the Inn. It was huge, with a lovely 4 poster bed and roll top bath. Felt very luxurious!
We ate in the restaurant that evening, and the food was excellent. The meat was slightly over cooked but all things considered, we were very happy with the standard of food, service and wine. The cheese board was massive and very good value!
The breakfast in the morning was also very tasty.
The Inn itself has been very nicely decorated, and is very considered and in keeping with the age of the building, while still managing to keep a modern edge. Lots of open fires, feels very cosy, with cute little candles and lights everywhere.
The staff were amazing, friendly and very helpful!
We were the only people staying at the inn on sat night who were not part of a separate party who had booked the rest of the rooms, and the staff were very informative giving us plenty of notice regarding their late arrival and the noise level.
I would say that the acoustics of the hotel is quite loud, as it is such an old building, there is no sound proofing or double glazing (the market on sat morning started setting up at 6am which woke me up) I would recommend if you are a light sleeper to bring some ear plugs just in case.
Otherwise, a lovely little hotel which I would strongly recommend to stay, or eat at.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaraT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
I am so pleased that you had a wonderful weekend and that the staff looked after you so well. Thank you very much indeed for recommending us and please do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiston
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have enjoyed the good food and lovely surroundings before, so took our parents yesterday. Unfortunately ome of the food was dreadful. The broccoli and sweet potato soup was a strange combination and very salty and the salad was disgusting. I picked out at least five black and rotting leaves, many others were heavily bruised the tomatoes were revolting, all suggesting it was a very old salad. The dressing was also sour and vinegery. I told the waitress about the rotting leaves, and she apologised but I discovered afterwards that no allowance was made for this in the bill and no manager came over to apologise or do a single thing to ameliorate such a mistake. I do think it rather poor.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateinsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I am very sorry that you had a bad experience. This falls well below the high standards that we set ourselves as you will know having enjoyed "good food and lovely surroundings before". It is a shame that you did not review us then for balance. I can assure you that had either my wife or I or a senior member of staff been aware of the issues then we would have addressed them as is only right, I am sorry that did not happen. We do pride ourselves on our food and our service and your experience was evidently unsatisfactory. I would very much like the opportunity to make amends and would be very pleased if you would contact me to arrange another visit to enable us to do so. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just been to stay for a night with friends after enjoying lunch at The Crown in July. We all agreed that the staff were pleasant and welcoming in a way which made us feel relaxed and cared for but without constantly being fawned over which can often be the case in some hotels.
The place was clean and the decor quirky. Will return as Framlingham is so pretty and we got lots of Christmas shopping done too.
The dinner we had was delicious and we couldn't fault it.
Thank you to everyone at The Crown for making us feel like we had had a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finlay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for such a great review, it is so good to read that the team delivered the service that we all work hard to provide. I am delighted that your stay was relaxing and you were properly looked after. Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown and I hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We live locally and wanted most of our guests to be able to walk to our wedding reception, so were pleased that the Crown Hotel were able to accommodate all our needs, recommending a local disco company and agreeing to a local hog roast company for the catering.
A big thank you to all the staff who could not have been more helpful. The Stables is gorgeous and furniture arranged as requested.
Everyone had a wonderful time and as we were so lucky with the weather we were able to open all the doors and spill out into the courtyard. Would highly recommend this hotels facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjm1971xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I am so pleased that everything went so well on the big day. It was a pleasure holding the reception here, thanks for choosing The Crown and thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Framlingham
7.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.8 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
705 reviews
24.5 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,005 reviews
14.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
11.9 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel - Framlingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel - Framlingham

Property: The Crown Hotel - Framlingham
Address: Market Hill, Framlingham IP13 9AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Framlingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Framlingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel - Framlingham 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Hotel - Framlingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel - Framlingham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing