We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seckford Hall(Woodbridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Hotel(Halesworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodhall Manor(Woodbridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
144
91
33
13
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
91
33
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket squareframlingham castlewith crisp white linenquick drinkcharming hotelroll top bathcycling holidayfour poster bedeggs benedictan evening meallots of characterlovely villagethe hotel car parkkipperslovely bathroomfull englishstaff were attentive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I just has one night at the crown but wish I could have stayed longer. Without a doubt I will go back. Rooms are beautiful decorated and comfortable, staff lovely, location fantastic and the bar and restaurant really high quality and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_Henschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks so much for a lovely review. I am delighted that you plan to come back - we look forward to welcoming you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

this is an idiosyncratic experience; first impressions are of a friendly village hostelry in the best sense of the word , then we were led down long expanses of corridor to a split level room of surprising comfort and elegance. Back to the bar, past some bizarre paintings and a curved internal window which makes little functional sense...good wines and beers, deep leather sofas, comfortable and faded elegant; shabby chic perhaps? Good breakfast..though no local kippers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review, I am very pleased that you found your room elegant and comfortable. We are lucky enough to occupy a wonderful historic building which has evolved over the centuries, retaining many features, and that unusual curved window, which does look rather odd where it is, was actually once on an external wall. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting relations. Stayed in room 7 and it was wonderful. The bed was so comfortable (my husband said it was best nights sleep other than in his own bed) and both the room and bathroom very spacious. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was yummy, we had the haddock with poached eggs. The only reason I've not put excellent was because there were painters in and scaffolding outside our room which did spoil it a little and we still paid full price.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MargoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you very much for the kind review, I am sorry that the scaffold slightly marred your enjoyment, but I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Crown in Framlingham is a charming building that oozes character and has taken on the owners' quirky tastes with aplomb. The bar, lounge areas and dining room are inviting with a relaxing ambience. The atmosphere is enhanced by the fact that it is more than just a hotel for tourists but it is the hub the community. In the mornings there is a buzz about the place and you see the people who work in Fram enjoying a drink in the evening.

The Crown has a very good choice of beers and wines. The breakfast caters for all tastes; from those on a health drive to those who want to indulge. The menu in the dining room also offers a la carte and a pub menu.

The beds are very comfortable. The hospitality tray is of a high quality with 'Tea Pigs' and fresh coffee. The homemade biscuits are delicious.

The rooms were immaculate.

The staff are courteous and professional - nothing is too much trouble. I wish to add that in general I found Suffolk folk to be very friendly and polite.

A warm welcome awaits you at the Crown. The owners have got the balance right between respecting the inn's old world charms and injecting some of their own personality.

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LucyC915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you - I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review, you have beautifully summed up exactly what we want The Crown to be and I am delighted that you appreciated it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Classically quintisential english country hotel, like stepping back in time the building oozed history, only had tea and cakes but provided a welcome break and the staff were friendly and helpfull, went to the castle all rested and fed. good day out

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank katherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review, I am very pleased that we regularly hear that the staff are friendly and helpful. Please do call in again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews