We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local for a Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bantry

Bantry
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bantry
Ranked #6 of 7 Framlingham B&B and Inns
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local for a Wedding”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at Bantry B&B for 2 nights so that we could be local for our son's wedding at the beautiful church in Saxtead. The accommodation was more than ample to our requirements, the surroundings are peaceful and the owners were more than helpful, friendly and supplied everything needed. A wonderful breakfast in the morning to set us up for the day. We couldn't have asked for more from any B & B. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poitiers, France
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I have stayed here for three months now with my work in the area.
Excellent apartments, very friendly hosts, cannot do enough for you.
Breakfast is what ever you want, served in you room.
Needless to say I will be here till the end of the year when my contract finishes.
I will also be bringing my family here for a holiday.

Room Tip: Ask if you would like a room with a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchPhil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich Norfolk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

My husband & I stayed at Bantry B&B,for two nights.We were on a relaxing mini break to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
Upon arrival we were greeted outside by our hosts Cheryl & Phil.Both were friendly & informative.
We were shown to our ground floor apartment ,which consisted of a double bedroom with compact en-suite toilet & shower room plus a sitting come dining room.
The apartment was basic but clean.Glass sliding doors overlook the expanse of lawn to trees beyond.
I feel it would have been nice to have a benchs or garden chairs just outside,where guests could sit & enjoy the view & tranquility on a fine day.
Tea & coffee making facilities were avalible in the lounge area.But no arrival cookies(as stated in a previous review).
Breakfast could be pre arranged for a time suitable & was served at the table in the lounge area.The breakfast was well cooked & enough to set you up for the day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurora736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We have been staying at Bantry for many years, summer & winter, & have always had a warm welcome. Phil & Cheryl are happy to spend time in making us feel at home & ensure we get the maximum enjoyment from our stay.
We have stayed in all three quiet self-contained flats which are separate from the owners' house. All have bedroom, bathroom with shower & lounge, the largest also has a kitchen & dining area. An excellent breakfast, delivered to the flat, is brought by Phil or Cheryl.
We have used Bantry as a convenient base for visits to Woodbridge, Southwold, Snape Maltings & Aldeburgh, & many interesting wildlife reserves. Framlingham & its castle are close by & Ipswich is within easy reach.
We keep returning to Bantry for the convenience of being able to come & go as we please, the lovely Suffolk countryside & the friendliness of the owners.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

We stayed in the Bantry B&B in early August. Accommodation is separate to the owners' house - we were actually in a purpose built 'granny flat'. This gives a great amount of privacy and a lot of personal space, not just a bedroom and ensuite bathroom. We also had a mini kitchen with fridge and a full dining/sitting area completely separate to the bedroom. A lovely breakfast (full cooked English, toast, cereals etc) is served here in the morning at a pre-arranged time.

The property is in Saxtead, a little way outside Woodbirdge but in beautiful countryside surroundings and directions on their website are very good. I'd also recommend the Victoria Inn in nearby Earl Soham, where we had a really delicious evening meal and their own brews of beer. The desserts are really worth making a detour for.

  • Liked — peace and tranquility
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surreyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

After the hustle and bustle of London, this little oasis of quietness is soothing to the soul. More than a B&B, the two property accommodations are actually little detached apartments with a lovely view onto the green lawn, hedges and flowers. Our apartment had a small bathroom but with a regular stand-up shower (yay - I could wash my long hair!). There was a lovely sitting room with comfy chairs and a breakfast table where Cheryl will bring you a genuine country breakfast. This is the heart of agriculture in England, green fields of crops surround the area. We were directed to the nearby Queen's Head Pub for a superb supper and pint of local beer. The Bantry B&B is easy to find, and is close to historic Framlingham Castle. The neighborhood is clean and quiet, and the hosts Cheryl and Phil will make you feel like one of the family. Tea/Coffee and kettle await you along with cookies when you enter. We really enjoyed our time here; it was a step into a rural life of elegant simplicity.

  • Liked — Great location, generous and friendly hosts.
  • Disliked — Could not accept my credit card on-line, but Cheryl held the room on my word that I would be there.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GoldilocksArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Framlingham
4.2 mi away
Colston Hall
Colston Hall
#1 of 1 in Badingham
28 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel - Framlingham
2.1 mi away
Avondale House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry

Property: Bantry
Address: Chapel Road | Saxtead, Nr.Framlingham, Framlingham IP13 9RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Framlingham
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Framlingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bantry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bantry Framlingham, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing