We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shearwater Cottages
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Found by accident in the middle of the night. Very nice place, clean with a lovely host that helped us out with some food for a night! Very good equipped, we even made our own bread with breadmaker! Kangaroos early morning seen in the field, koalas hanging just outside, peace and quiet, EVERYTHING perfect! Away from all but really nice, compare to hotel room price for 4, this was much better value and space .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalikaEp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

My husband and I stayed with our friends (a couple with a small child) in the 2 bedroom Panorama Cottage for a few nights in May 2012. First, let me just say that I LOVED it here! I wish we could have brought our dog on the trip, as it is a very dog friendly place. The owner, Julie, was extremely friendly and gave us information on the area and advice on where to go and what to see. We had a very late arrival and she was very accommodating. The location is very beautiful. Personally I love being in the countryside on holiday, and you really do have your own space, only shared with the koala who loves to sit in the tree just out front of the cottage! :) The cottage is quite roomy - we had plenty of room sharing with another couple. Everything is very clean, and there was a laundry room in the cottage if you needed to do the washing while you stay. The kitchen is well-equipped as well, and the day you arrive they supply the ingredients to make fresh bread in the bread maker. The only slight problem was the weekend we were there it was quite cold and windy! And it took a bit of time for the cottage to warm up (the only source of heat is the fireplace in the living room). Once the fire got started it was nice and toasty, but be patient! I would definitely recommend staying here and we hope to stay again in future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jess_2419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Been to great ocean road a few times before but never explored the cape otway national park. By accident found this lovely dog friendly place. The sunrise cottage is the best out of the 4 there with very new interior and nice big kitchen with plenty of utensils. The whole place is a serene surroundings with plenty of plants and wild lifes. Koala and Kangaroo were easily seen. It's 5 minutes drive to Cape otway lighthouse and 40 minutes drive to Tree top walk both of which we enjoyed enormously. 50 minutes to 12 Apostles. 20~30 minutes to Apolo bay where you can find some super market and many eatery places. Wish we could stay a bit longer and try the shipwreck walk along the coast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We had a lovely break at Shearwater Cottages over the Easter and ANZAC break. Our cottage was secluded and exceptionally quiet, very clean and ample utensils in the kitchen to make life easy. Wish that the cottage was closer to the sea itself, but it was still great. Our best friend had a great break too, enjoying the outdoors and lapping up the open spaces. Koalas aplenty too with Wallabies grazing the in the field below!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GnT_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bettina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Otway
1.6 mi away
Cape Otway Lightstation
Cape Otway Lightstation
#4 of 5 in Cape Otway
47 reviews
8.4 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
309 reviews
9.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#2 of 32 in Apollo Bay
266 reviews
9.4 mi away
Apollo Bay Eco YHA
Apollo Bay Eco YHA
#5 of 32 in Apollo Bay
259 reviews
8.6 mi away
Marengo Holiday Park
Marengo Holiday Park
#7 of 32 in Apollo Bay
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Cottages

Address: 760 Lighthouse Rd, Cape Otway, Great Otway National Park, Victoria 3233, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Great Otway National Park > Cape Otway
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Cape Otway
Price Range: £127 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shearwater Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium accommodation close to the Great Ocean Walk. Positioned high in the dunes and surrounded by the magnificent Great Otway National Park, our cottages have been designed to blend in total harmony with our unique coastal environment. They are nestled high in the dunes on one of most elevated vantage points on Cape Otway, close to the ocean near the Otway Lighthouse. Each of our cottages are spacious, comfortable, self-contained, private, pet friendly and all have fully equipped kitchens. They have been carefully sited about 100 metres apart and each is completely hidden from the others by rolling dunes and coastal bush-land. There is magical beach and forest walking right on the doorstep, both within and outside of the Otway National Park which surrounds us. Because of our location the property and surrounds is home to kangaroos, wallabies and particularly Koalas, as well as a wide range of bird life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shearwater Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearwater Cottages Cape Otway, Great Otway National Park, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing